You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Getting to The Root of The Problem - official contest entry

in #savedtrees7 years ago

Great pics of beautiful Greece , @oncuponatime. :) Trees are precious. Not only because their presence is constructive and a positive addition to humans and to the universe, but simply because they are ALIVE. It is a very good initiative to build structures and architecture around the trees by incorporating the trees into the architectural landscape. .. The designs become innovative, unique and beautiful and trees need not be cut ! However I have one question. Should a little space not be left around the trees in the pavements for roots to breathe ? ... In Delhi the concrete pavement cover has made the tree roots so weak that they cannot withstand strong winds anymore. The just fall and get uprooted.

Sort:  

I remember that when I lived in the Kulu Valley of Himichal Pradesh some of the trees were considered quite sacred.

As to your question about space around trees for the roots to breathe, I'm afraid that I don't know the answer. But I think trees breathe through their leaves, not roots. As long as the roots have the moisture and nutrients in the soil beneath the pavement that they require, i suppose that they will be allright.

Yes , In India many trees are considered sacred. :) ... In fact, every second or third thing in India is God Sacred !! ;) ... It is good and it is bad. India is incomprehensible :) :D
And I yes, you are correct, @onceuponatime. Yes trees do breathe through their leaves . :) ...
I hope concrete pavements and roads do not weaken the roots. Just something I read somewhere :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55789.30
ETH 2345.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31