SomethingAboutMe Challenge - Autumn memories

in #sam-saturday6 years ago

One of the nicest challenges on Steemit is Something About Me or SAM challenge hosted by @bluemoon. The details are here. Every Saturday we are invited to share something about us.

During the past weeks, I've said a lot about me: favourite color, music, hobbies, family relarionships. I have no idea what else to share so I will start writing my memoirs. 😂 Seriously, now, I want to share with you some of the best memories from my childhood, when everything was perfect.

The first story that comes to my mind is related to the beautiful Autumns we experienced when I was a kid. I will try to explain in this post why we loved Autumns so much.
Both me and my sister were waiting for the month of September when school starts in Romania. Don't get me wrong, we did not have the thirst for knowledge...the school start meant new stationery, new clothes and playing with our colleagues. September was also the month when people began to harvest the crops and prepare the land for the long Winter.
My grandparents used to grow potatoes. Not on a big scale but for internal consumption, so to speak. We all helped them, especially me and my sister who used to run like lunatics among the fields. The evenings were very pleasant as grandma used to cook the dinner from the newly harvested vegetables. Nothing fancy, just fries, our favourite dish at that time.
Another lovely activity was harvesting the apples. This time we were heavily involved as we couldn't miss the opportunity to climb trees. Plus, we loved these delicious fruits and... I still do.

All the above activities were nice and fun but nothing could match the best autumnal field preparations. After harvesting the potatoes, apes, beans etc. the fields were cleared of the withered leaves and stems. Huge piles of field debris appeared and we could not wait to start the fire. We were not fascinated by fire like every respectable arsonist but we loved the smoke. Running around and making up stories about fierce dragons or eerie mist, was our favourite autumnal activity. I cannot say the same thing about my mom....she had to clean two little Cinderellas and convince them to stay inside as night was fastly approaching.
I'm telling you, my friends...these were good times. 🙂
Unfortunately, the only photos from that era are printed on paper. I did not have time to scan then and, honestly, some of them are not to be shown. 😂
So, I will share a recent photo of some beautiful asters, my grandma's favourite flowers.

WaterMark_2018-11-11-19-32-38.jpg

These are some of the beautiful memories I have since childhood, the most beautiful era. Life was hard back then but our parents taught us to find beauty and joy in simple things. We didn't need fancy toys to be happy. A simple stick would become a powerful sword, the best weapon against the evil dragon (my grandpa's turkey, evil in the purest form).

Have a great weekend, my friends!


Check out the challenge started by me and @erikah, SeasonChallenge. We would love to learn about your impressions towards the Fall (these being the theme until 1st of December).

steemit-border

Picture1.png

QvAAKWXl.gif
Member of The Steemian Directory
QvAAKWXl.gif
Logopit_1526205802368.png

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you for your support.

Love the telling of such fun memories. I agree one of the nicest challenges here on steemit.

Love

Beautiful memories! :) I also have very similar childhood memories of helping our grandparents to harvest potatoes and apples :) You are right - we were happy with simple things, which is so different from children today ;)

Yeah... My toddlers are happy as long as they are allowed to watch cartoons and play video games. The rest of the day is a neverending complaining marathon. I think I should move somewhere in the countryside otherwise they will not know what a rake is. 😂

Your beautiful story, like a movie, reminds me a lot of my childhood, my grandmother ... Forgive me for the delay, I was on the road!

Thank you for your nice words. It is good to know that my story brought such nice memories.
Don't worry about the delay. I know you were travelling. I hope it was a good trip.

Yes, it was a very nice trip. Now I'm home and try to recover. Thanks!

Hahaha, I love that the turkey became the evil dragon! So many fun childhood memories! I love remembering those simpler times.

That turkey was a spawn of Hell. Always chasing us and making that nasty noise at impossible hours. The day we found him dead was partially sad, partially happy. Not sure though if we are talking about stairway to heaven or highway to hell for him. 😂

I've never been around turkeys. Except for the wild ones that wander through my yard and they don't hang around if they see a person. My aunt had a really nasty rooster though. I remember it came up and hit me from behind and almost knocked me down but left wounds on the back of my legs where it spurred me, right through my blue jeans!

We do not have wild turkeys. I know these are interesting creatures not like their domesticated siblings.
We have an evil rooster too. I wrote several posts about El Diablo and his wives. He can be quite dangerous although the age calmed him a little. However, the postman is still afraid to enter and most of the mail is usually spread around the yard. 😂

You had splendid time playing outfoors and using your imagination for playing games.
Happy memories, thanks for sharing them with us and yes, that part with the evil turkey made me laugh out loud.😂

Yes, those were good times.... Too bad they do not last forever.
You laughed because you did not meet the evil turkey. Such a cruel beast. 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56775.06
ETH 2345.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36