You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SAM - Could the last one out the door please kill the lights?

in #sam-saturday6 years ago

I understand your perspective and I truly appreciate you taking the time to make a detailed answer. I do want to ask you though - power for what??? I understand how SP let's you give nice upvotes, but if the upvotes are worth nothing, what's the point?

If you just want inflated numbers in your account without caring if there is a monetary value attached, you could just as easily post on Weku or Whaleshares. I was very opposed to Weku when it came out because I saw people leaving Steemit for the new "greener pastures". Many did leave and have not come back. I can't go to Weku because I'm banned for the crime of creating an account but not posting.

On the other hand, I recently joined Whaleshares which is yet another Steemit clone (with some changes) but it's very lonely over there. Since Whaleshares is a clone of the same software, things work along similar lines... for example, you need "500" to get the vote slider. Never mind 500 what - it's all worthless anyway, right?

Ok, now follow me for a second. I'm not trying to convince you or anyone else to go to Whaleshares - BUT, after making 5 posts I will have the vote slider immediately - like within a day or two of the initial payout. So I will have more "Whalestake" in my wallet in a week than I have SP after a year.

Yes, it's worth nothing, but we're not concerned with monetary value, correct? That's what you said if I'm not misunderstanding you. So if all I want are big numbers in a wallet and the ability to cast votes with bigger numbers attached, I might as well just be there. I'll have more "empty" power immediately, and cast "bigger" zero value votes, and then I'll feel like a tycoon with all that "Power".

What's the point?

Sort:  

About the prison... Ok, it wasn't really a prison but there were nine foot tall stone walls and you couldn't go in or out, so I've been told. That's all the hints for today :)

Double the intruige!!!!!! I shall just have to curb my impatience and wait for the next installment. (lol)

When I mentioned the word 'power' I am referring to that place one can attain to with effort and committment when we can actually do something with the steem power earned. My goal is to one day have something tangible in my hand such as a car or something similar. Being able to make a choice with how I spend what I have earned is power. Im not at all interested in climbing ladders to reach positions in steemit as that does not interest me. Inflated numbers are just that unless we make them work for us and we derive adequate monetary rewards.

And being able to reward myself one day for my efforts is what keeps my motivated in Steemit. As far as going to whaleshares or similar, I just don't have time and don't want to spend more time than is necessary online.

I look at the voting system in Steemit as my way of thanking others for being loyal to me and for my appreciation of blogs that mean something to me or are just beautifully written and/or presented. I try to be fair with how I distribute my votes and I get a lot of pleasure when I can contribute votes that have a bit of weight behind them. There is no other adgenda for me.

I like you how you're looking at things. The price is down some more today.

Yeah.......but the steem keeps builidng my friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57806.13
ETH 2453.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36