Sailing the Skagerak/Kattegat towards Gothenburg: Gothenburg

in #sailwithme6 years ago

This weekend we did a sailing trip, 103 nm. The first part of the journey is covered here, I did a careful study on the way to reaffirm that the earth is indeed globular (I think it is a bit important - there are plenty of people out there claiming it's flat), and we spent one night at the island Källö-Knippla, where I got surprised due to the density of cars. That's very close to Gothenburg indeed, so the third post will be only on Gothenburg and the surrounding areas. I didn't get time to take photos, but we passed an island Kalven on the way, maybe that's a good candidate for a next visit; it's an even smaller island, and there is a big car park on the other side of the ferry line, so probably the island itself is indeed without cars.

In Gothenburg, we decided to stop relatively centrally and then continue by dhingy to the Volvo Ocean Race village. It seems like we did the right choice; the dhingy was too heavily loaded to go planing with three heavy men and one small child onboard, so it's nice we took the big boat so far up the river. It was pretty much impossible to land with a big boat, even with the small boat we got chased away ... but I'll make a separate post on the Volvo Ocean Race shortly. Here are some photos from Gothenburg ...

Wow ... "battery powered" ...

We went down the river to watch the Port race, then up a bit to let the first crew member off. The best thing to do would have been to circle around in the river with the big boat and using the small boat to get in land. We did the worst thing possible. "There is a nice spot to land the boat", I said. Well, it wasn't. It was a breakwater, not connected to land. Oh well, we'll just use the dhingy to get from the breakwater to the land. It was not possible to get the big boat on the inside of the breakwater. It didn't even occur to me that it was a breakwater ... who needs a breakwater in the middle of a river? Oh right, there were some waves there - I wouldn't want to stay there for long time, but just for throwing off some passengers it was a pretty OK place, I thought.

Well, the disembarking crew were not ready to leave the boat yet, they needed some minutes for packing. Then all of a sudden it started raining heavily and there was strong wind gusts. The disembarking crew wanted to stay some few minutes, waiting for the worst rain to pass. And then, all of a sudden, came the waves.

When waves and wind goes against the current, for instance up the river mouth, the waves can grow quite big, in this case they were like 1.5 metres high. We were two persons working full time on pushing the boat to keep it away from the breakwater. Fenders didn't help much, even if I have really big fenders, they were jumping out of the water all the time. The third person that should jump off together with the child didn't know what to do - eventually we decided it was best to be three adults working to get the boat out from there and then put off the disembarking crew somewhere else. The child started crying and everything was bad. I think the boat got relatively unharmed from it, but I'm considering to give it one more layer of varnish before our summer vacation. We lost quite some time due to this. So the crew disembarking first probably did manage to catch their bus, but would we manage to catch our train? The plan was to anchor up the boat outside Gothenburg, unfortunately we had to go relatively far to find a relatively sheltered place for it.

We did waste quite some time while throwing anchor ... when we finally had anchored up and managed to leave the boat, it was obvious - no, we would not manage to catch the train. There were buses going, but for me that wasn't an option for various reasons, I stayed behind and left Monday afternoon.

Here is the boat, as we left it:

On the way up to Gothenburg we went through "Eskils kanal", it was a very charming channel, but I didn't get the chance to take photos. Then, just as we were passing Saltholmen, it started raining very heavily again (forecast promised sunshine and no more rain), so we left the dhingy there and continued our journey by tram. My crew were wearing "proper" clothes, as I'm sweating a lot I prefer not to wear anything water tight ... I was thoroughly wet both from salt water and fresh water when arriving to Gothenburg and freezing a bit. So my last crew departured by bus back to Oslo, and I headed back to the boat to sleep, clean a bit and do some other work.

I need a good camera with zoom eventually, I'm quite tired of trying to take photos of "spectacular things" and then I can't even see what was spectacular when looking through the photos ...

The tractor ...

... well, maybe it doesn't look that spectacular on the photo, but to me it seemed like if it had been trying to climb out from the ferry.

I waited a bit to let the ferry pass, but eventually I was much faster than the ferry ... so I had to g a bit, slow down and wait, go a bit ... there is this thing with this dhingy (and most planing boats), it has only two "good" speeds, one is very slow and the other one is quite fast. Anything between, and the boat is stuck climbing an uphill - the energy from the engine is providing bow waves rather than speed. I felt I was so close to the ferry, yet when looking at the photo it seems so far away ...

I met one of the racing boats in the river ... (actually two, but photographed only one)

Amazingly many waves in the river. It was good getting into the channels finally. Here is one of the nicer channel bridges ...

This is the only other boat I saw in the channels

... but some few places there are actually proper provisions for arrival by boat.

Can I leave the dhingy here for a week? At least, there are no signs anywhere telling that mooring is not allowed, at the other hand I can't see anyone else mooring up anywhere, and the only thing I could attach the boat to was a rescue ladder. Oh well, some people are parking their bikes on public land, others their cars ... and yet others have dhingies to park ...

I went up from the dhingy by the central stations. Now I'm not so good at directions, and I got a little bit lost while walking around in Göteborg ... but all the time I found the channel, found a familiar bridge or other sight, and then I knew: the central station is in that direction! :-)

All photos available in better resolution on IPFS QmNSKL9M8uDvSAvbxSaXpH16GdycCkcNji6kXab6JxwVyd. License: CC BY-SA 4.0

Sort:  

What's a kulturhus (second last pic)? Culture house? Museum? I love that there's a kid next to it!

A "cultural house" usually functions as a theatre, sometimes it has other cultural functions, and there are performances held in this house as well - but this house is very different from the typical thing we'd call a "kulturhus" in Norway.

Alfons Åberg - Albert Åberg in the Norwegian translation, or Alfie Atkins in English, is a series of short illustrated children books, first books came out during the 70s, so my generation got quite a lot of it in our childhood. There also exists animated versions of the books.

Alfons Åberg

This "cultural house" is an experience center for children, themed around Alfons Åberg. It even has an entry in the Swedish wikipedia

Alfons Åbergs kulturhus

We were visiting it some years ago, but I was a bit disappointed, it was quite so expensive and I had too high expectations (we were enjoying the Junibacken in Stockholm immensely with our eldest son when he was much younger than today). Besides we hadn't been reading too much Alfons Åberng with our younger son. Now we've been reading a bit more of it, he doesn't remember anything from his previous visit there, and when he saw the building he instantly wanted to go there.

Wow! Thanks for your explanation! I'm an 80s kid, but have never heard of Alfons Åberg... guess he's more popular around the Scandinavia / Europe area. He looks so cute though, and he's on youtube! Gonna go watch now!

I've been also to Gothenburg last summer, but I haven't had too much time to explore it. It is a pretty nice city though and I even went fishing on a morning.
From this post I can say that almost all of the pictures are loading fully and I found my favorites: the battery powered StenaLine( I like the eco friendly idea in everything that moves) and the one with your boat anchored. That one if you had a professional camera would have been a great wallpaper. For now unfortunately smartphone cameras are not yet something to rely on in any situation.

Sounds like quite the adventure again. This sounds like one of your longer trips. While it sounds like you were going to get home sooner, I get the impression that you probably didn't mind the extra time on the boat alone. :)

It sounds like there's all kinds of things to watch out for, from ferries to breakwater. And it all sounds like finding a place to moor your boat can be a major task, too.

This all sounds like you're planning to continue with another trip somewhere else, since you're leaving the boat and dinghy in places you haven't before? I'd be worried about both myself, but this must be a fairly safe and common thing to do?

I'm going to continue to København in Denmark in the upcoming weekend, so we can kickstart the vacation from there.

No, it's not at all common to do things this way, particularly here in Norway most people are very stuck to their "home harbour", any day trip, weekend trip or longer trips should start and end at "home".

Amazing photo report.
With pleasure I looked at each photo. Charming photo.
The pictures are gorgeous.
I love the sea, and sailboats, ships and water element.
And your channels are impressive.
And beautiful bridges with beautiful openwork bars and figures - just a song. What a beautiful work.

I looked on the Internet at this miracle-I liked it very much.

Horses are wonderful to see. Just lovely.
Thanks for the mood.
I had a great pleasure, @tobixen

I think it will have been a great experience..it looks you enjoyed alot.all pics are taken in a very nice way..thnks for sharing.it is as enjoying as I was there.

The journey is far away, and it takes no time to find a place called the Final Port which is said to be the most beautiful place. However, in order to travel can be done inevitably must leave the current port.

Although the port at this time in singgahi may save a lot of happy memories when Captain and Navigator have not decided to sail. But if both are bored with the state of the port where they are, sailing to be their choice.

At first glance, it is easy to look for sailing. It just seems to be sailing straight to the Port of End map. But the reality will be many obstacles to be faced in the middle of the vast ocean. Or maybe it will find an "Island" which is expected to be considered the Final Port. But in fact there are inhabit it first. And things like that may be repeated several times because of Navigator error in reading directions. As a result, then the ship will return sailing for the Final Port.

Great work buddy ....

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 25 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 11 SBD worth and should receive 91 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

that racing boat is bad ass..

What a cool road..no..water trip! And what an amazing boat! Beautiful

So, please describe your dhingy. Sometime last year I thought I remember a wooden, row boat that you hitched to a bridge in winter. But now it looks like a motorized inflatable.

Also I'm curious about the electric bike you were using recently. Was there a free trial around using it where you earn crypto currency? Here's a link: https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@pbgreenpoint/users-to-get-cryptocurrency-by-riding-electric-bicycle#@pbgreenpoint/re-lyfo-re-pbgreenpoint-users-to-get-cryptocurrency-by-riding-electric-bicycle-20180619t232116151z

I've been asked about the electric bike several times, so I will eventually write up a separate post about that one ... when I get the time for it.

My wife bought it, and it was unrelated to crypto.

Though I've had quite some dhingies up through the times, I've never had a wooden rowing boat.

My primary dhingy now is the motorized small RIB, and it has been for more than a year.

Ah, I was thinking of Aker Brygge in late winter, and it's very obviously an inflatable. (duh)
You know what, the very word dhingy made me think/remember a tiny wooden, snub-nosed well, dhingy like those of past times. But that's OK we all live in an illusory world (Maya) and under delusion (Moha).

English is not my native language, but to me, "dhingy" basically means "small boat", possibly but not necessary one used together with a bigger boat. Seems like Wikipedia agrees with that, and the word itself comes from Hindi/Bengali/Urdu.

Oh, good research there. Not surprising that it started out as a foreign word. The British likely introduced it into the language from their colonial headquarters in Calcutta, Bengal.

It's also a fact that the human mind confuses name and form and usually misses the forest for the trees.

I have a rather strong thought-form for that word, of tiny wooden row boats used for shuttling people and goods from ship to shore and vice-versa. Partly I think they were so tiny because wooden boats are damn heavy! And they had to hoist it aboard all the time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58664.80
ETH 2569.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42