Källö-Knippla ... and I believe free car ferries are a bad idea.

in #sailwithme6 years ago (edited)

Today we sailed quite efficiently, in my previous post we came from Larvik and crossed Skagerak/Kattegat in the direction of Gothenburg, today we entered "E6" at Marstrand, and then we stopped for the night at a small island with the name Källö-Knippla. I always found those places charming and inviting ... quite much because I believed they were car-free societies. After all, getting cars to and from such islands are expensive and time-consuming, and there are not much need of cars on such a small island. Well, I was wrong ... very wrong. I've rarely seen so many cars as on Källö-Knippla. There were cars and parking places everywhere.

It appears that those islands have free car ferries. Those ferries won't take you anywhere else than to the road at the neighbour island ... and a short drive from there is the next ferry terminal where one can take ferry to the mainland. Probably just to ... the road, and nothing else. So, the cheapest and easiest way to get to and from the island is efficiently driving. It's a big subsidy encouraging people to fill up the island with cars.

I'm slightly subscribing to the idea that public transport should be for free - at least outside the peak hours - because the marginal cost of carrying one extra passenger is typically very close to zero, because the cost and disadvantages of collecting fares are quite high, and because it would tilt people from car driving to public transport. Oh well, the last point is admittedly quite subjective ... I just don't like cars.

Consider if they had a passenger ferry service for free, carrying passengers not just to some road connection but to some bus terminal, train station or metro station. Would people have bothered filling up the island with cars in such a case? I bet not.

Anyway, it was a nice place. Here is a photo of the harbour, my boat in the background

The harbour was big ...

Here are some random houses on the island

I'm too sleepy to write more comments. Here are some more photos.

More cars

All photos available in better resolution on IPFS QmPPstM7BJpGRMZCfpiqT17eQNVKAF4d4PzqJV6d83wyh6. License: CC BY-SA 4.0

Sort:  

I am partial to cars myself, just because of the autonomy and because there aren't as much alternatives where we live, but even so, it seems to me that bicycles or even motorcycles of the like would serve similar purposes. Are there no enterprising souls where the ferry drops its passengers on the island renting bicycles or some smaller version of motorized transportation?

At any rate, it sounds like it's being encouraged, which makes it tough to alter the mindset and behavior if all is being subsidized.

I do remember visiting a port previous summer on a Swedish island with no cars, only some scooters ... and bike rental. Or was it in Easter? It could have been Koster, that's also two islands where it's more or less forbidden with motorized vehicles ... but according to my memory we've only been there during Christmas. My memories are getting blurred and mixed ... good I'm recording my travels on the blockchain nowadays!

Yes, it is!

I haven't been to Europe yet, but the few times I've ridden on a ferry, they weren't large enough to accommodate any cars. The one island we ended up on from the mainland did have some cars, but they were owned by the people who lived there. The tourists or visitors were getting around on foot, bike or a moped type of motorized vehicle. Some streets you couldn't really drive down anyway.

I don't know. It seems to me that in many cases the idea of island living is to get away from it all, not bring it with you. The size of the island is going to dictate if vehicles are a part of that living or not, but the few I've been to have some form of transportation, if not buses or some other kinds of public transit.

The idea of free public transport can probably work in Norway and Sweden (and a few other countries). There would definitely be a little more incentive to not use the cars. I had never really thought of it before but you might be on to soothing here.............

BTW in your last post I followed the links to the specs. of both the ships. I am not much of a sea/ocean kind of guy and wasn't able to find the deck height.

I don't know if it's esteem fault but only two photos are loading in the entire post. For the rest of them I can only see thumbnails. Will check again in the morning as I was asking for some more photos in a previous comment. Just curious...😁.

That's IPFS, it has become quite unusable during the last months, unfortunately :-( Patience is the key.

Patience is the key. Almost all of them loaded now. The last two with the "new captain" rock 😁.

your post is very extraordinary,
I really enjoyed it

Loved your sailing blog and Good Night dear.

Photo quality was awesom and pictures are really beautiful love your post keep continue your work I will wait for you next post love it

I think you really enjoy the scenery of your trip, maybe I am wrong or right. I do not know it.

Congratulations @tobixen! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tobixen
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=kaelloe-knippla-and-i-believe-free-car-ferries-are-a-bad-idea


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I've never owned a car, and while I concede they are useful at times, I wish public transport could be utilized better.

I'm old enough to remember the Zeebrugge ferry disaster, cars and ferries have never appealed to me since.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59989.12
ETH 2380.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49