You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Källö-Knippla ... and I believe free car ferries are a bad idea.

in #sailwithme6 years ago

I am partial to cars myself, just because of the autonomy and because there aren't as much alternatives where we live, but even so, it seems to me that bicycles or even motorcycles of the like would serve similar purposes. Are there no enterprising souls where the ferry drops its passengers on the island renting bicycles or some smaller version of motorized transportation?

At any rate, it sounds like it's being encouraged, which makes it tough to alter the mindset and behavior if all is being subsidized.

Sort:  

I do remember visiting a port previous summer on a Swedish island with no cars, only some scooters ... and bike rental. Or was it in Easter? It could have been Koster, that's also two islands where it's more or less forbidden with motorized vehicles ... but according to my memory we've only been there during Christmas. My memories are getting blurred and mixed ... good I'm recording my travels on the blockchain nowadays!

Yes, it is!

I haven't been to Europe yet, but the few times I've ridden on a ferry, they weren't large enough to accommodate any cars. The one island we ended up on from the mainland did have some cars, but they were owned by the people who lived there. The tourists or visitors were getting around on foot, bike or a moped type of motorized vehicle. Some streets you couldn't really drive down anyway.

I don't know. It seems to me that in many cases the idea of island living is to get away from it all, not bring it with you. The size of the island is going to dictate if vehicles are a part of that living or not, but the few I've been to have some form of transportation, if not buses or some other kinds of public transit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59653.51
ETH 2353.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47