Today I come to you all with a sad heart....

in #sadness7 years ago

20170518_090037~01.jpg

This was my Beautiful baby girl Pebbles. She was 17 years old. Today I had to put her down. I am so heartbroken...it was a horrible decision to make...I never had to make this decision before. I had no choice she stopped eating and drinking and after four days at the vet still didn't improve..she stopped walking and was basically living a horrible quality of life.

20170925_184659~01.jpg

This is her hiding in the kitchen cabinet at our new house...just 7 days ago. She declined so fast. I got her 14 years ago when she was 3. I remember her being so afraid that she hid under my then mother in laws bed for 2 weeks ...I would just slide food and water under the bed everyday and one day she came out and chose me. She was my cat. She loved me and was by my side always. .even when it irritated me sometimes. I love her so much...I can't stop crying. I guess I'm a blubbering idiot ..but it hurts...she was family .

20170924_123059~01.jpg

She was always petite and so sweet and feminine. She knew when I was upset always...she would come lay on me and give me kisses to try and cheer me up...I wish she were here now. I dont mean to be a "Debbie Downer" and this post isnt for money or likes...I have a severe anxiety disorder accompanied with agoraphobia..I don't go out much...so I dont talk to many people and I had nobody to talk to ...and I just feel so heartbroken.

In a week I get an urn with her ashes and a lock of hair.. her handprint ..and a spot for her picture. My eyes and head hurt from crying so much. My heart hurts. If you are reading this..I am sorry for blubbering on..but please understand my pain...goodnight.

Sort:  

That is so sad! A lot of people don't understand that if a pet dies, it's like losing a family member. You just need time to mourn. But also remember the good times, and the fact that you took care of her and gave her a great life! This was her time to go, but she will be in your heart forever.
Whisker kiss from Mau

I am deeply sorry for your loss. May I ask you some questions? If it hurts you too much now please forget them. Or if you prefer come when the time will have passed.

Please it's just to better understand what happened. you wrote: "I had no choice she stopped eating and drinking and after four days at the vet still didn't improve..she stopped walking and was basically living a horrible quality of life." Can we break this down? Could you please provide more details?

  1. for four days she didn't drink and eat at home.
  2. after the 4th day you went to the "vet".
  3. while being at the vet she stopped walking and looked to have a horrible quality of life.
  4. decision to end her life.

Is that right? Or I am missing something?

After not eating or drinking for a couple of days...I took her to the vet and she continued to not eat or drink and declined in health fast. .with being so weak and unable to stand or walk ..she had slowly been losing weight last 6 months ...she was always petite..I figured it was old age slowly creeping up..the vet said no need for thousands of dollars worth of testing her condition was poor life quality. .they said more than likely old age..being as they are familiar with her health history..and asked me what I wanted to do...which was of course her recommendation. .I didn't want her to suffer....I believe I made the kind choice for her..but all I keep thinking is a few hours ago I was holding her in my arms with a heartbeat and now shes gone

okay thanks, at least there is no misunderstanding. Did you post recently about a living in a new home? the cat did move too?

Yes...7 days ago we moved in...and yes she moved too

How long did she lived in your previous location?

If you answered me and followed my reasoning you have an idea of where it leads. I am sorry if it causes you more pains or questioning. You are free to read.

My premise is that most working in any health paid professions are suspicious. I am just writing that bills and debts have to be paid and those health professionals use their health knowledge to do it. This is something fundamental, can be debated, but is a simple fact.

So you have (as cats are always there, somewhere, where only cats know) an advanced aged 17 years cat female. Who 7 days ago arrived in a new home, causing a lot of stresses. Who then lowered her food and drink intake after moving in which resulted in her being weak to the point of not walking. Whose body had already a very low body mass index.

I find it strange that the "vet" had only 2 alternatives : death or thousand dollars exams.

Did the vet asked about the life experience of this cat? Did you know this vet?

We lived in our prior house 7 years...and yes as I previously stated she was our vet and familiar with her ...when I say thousands of dollars of exams ..I just mean a bunch of overpriced tests that will lead to the same conclusion. ..look I am very upset and just trying to grieve the loss of my baby girl...

okay girl, but what ever your sadness, you have decided to do it publicly in the open on steem. there is no reason for me not to ask myself if your cat wasn't assassinated way too early because it was only stressed and depressed from changing home and all the gigs that come with moving. Then knowing that most women have a tendency to regard the medical profession in such high esteem that it borders irrational worshiping and may cause a blind trust in the thinking.

As long as YOU know that it was the best choice, there is nothing a few pixels on a screen should be able to do to your mental state.

I am sincerely sadden by your loss, and honestly would love to share your pain and grief. sadly there is absolutely nothing that I can do but see if there isn't any lessons that could be learned by other loving cat owners about the old age of their family members.

And asking the ultimate question, is there really more pain and suffering in natural death? Have we asked our pets before killing them?

I was a CNA for 10+ years and I worked with seniors...more times than not once they lost weight ..it could or would not be regained...I had said in last 6 mos to a year she was slowly losing weight anyway and so this really made it worse...she only weighed 5.13 lbs skin and bones...I have 3 cats and 1 german shepard...I am well aware of the trauma animals feel from a move. ..which is why I hesitated taking her in the beginning and blame myself for not taking her in sooner ...when I brought her in I already had the "what if" fear...I didnt just go in blind and stupid and listen to what the Dr. Said ...not that I don't respect vets or Drs. But I make my own decision. ..and I was carrying her because she couldn't walk ...they obviously put her on iv to rehydrate her but she was not improving...I think it was just happening at the same time as the move....and yes I assessed the situation and could not watch her suffer...and that is what she was doing...and I chose to share this publicly because I'm hurting I did not expect to be called an "assassin" that is awful...but with putting my business out there I guess you get the good with bad...but I can't continue these conversations with you because I am very depressed and this just isnt helping me any having to justify my decision. ..that I already feel awful for...I'm not God ..I don't determine who lives or dies...but I couldn't literally watch her die slowly and suffer...she wouldn't have made it through the weekend ...

So sorry to hear that. I am also cat lover :'(

I am sorry to hear that @kayleigh-alesta.
Can't find words to comfort you with. I hope your pain will ease a bit with time.

Thank you...I took a xanax bar earlier to sleep ..but I woke up and started crying again ...my eyes and face hurts...I know time will heal all wounds ...but right now I'm just so heartbroken :(

My heart is with you my dear @kayleigh-alesta. Big Hug

I am very sorry to hear that. Pebbles was a great cat and I am sure you did all you could for her.

Thank you :)

Really sorry to hear about Pebbles. May her soul rest in peace. I recently lost my canine baby Bella. I understand. It is hard to come to terms with their loss. They take a part of us with them. Grow a plant in her name. It heals. Lots of love to your little Pebbles. her energies are always with you :)

Thank You ...and I am sorry for your loss of baby Bella...

❤ take care of yourself .

It is very sad indeed

I have a little social anxiety too. But you've got to let your heart out. And all of us are with you...

I understand what you are going through. I had my baby Farah pass away as well a few years back. We had been together for almost 5 yrs and what you feel is so understandable. They are not just pets but our family. Just think she will not suffer anymore. Godbless and stay strong. They will forever remain with us and will never be forgotten. 😿💜

Thank you....and I'm sorry for your loss of baby Farah as well....

Thanks. Take care.

I feel so sad to read this.. Similar thing happened to me with my Pipi :(

:( :( I'm sorry about your pipi :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57912.63
ETH 2348.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37