Marathon Post #7 #runforsteem

in #running6 years ago

A change of plans

IMG_1915.JPG
a Collage of the pictures that I took during my run last Sunday

After my run on Sunday, I felt that it might be better for my body to take an extra day to recover, over the past month or so I’ve been following this schedule:

Bildschirmfoto 2018-03-21 um 19.01.18.png

I did this to get me used to running 2 days in a row, but because of that decision I don’t have more than a day rest in between my runs. On Sunday I felt a bit drained during and after my run and off course this is partially the effect of the regular runs, but I also felt that I could benefit more from a proper 2 day rest per week. As this was the second time in a row during my Sunday’runs that I felt this way. Therefor I’ve made the decision to start with the marathon routine a bit earlier as planned.

This means I’ll be resting on Mondays and Tuesdays, run on Wednesdays, Thursdays & Fridays, rest again on Saturdays and do a long run on Sundays. This is what the original plan looks like, but I have more than 18 weeks to prepare myself, so I’ll take it slow and steady, but I will start in week #3 already, as I already do 26 km a week on average.

Bildschirmfoto 2018-03-21 um 18.59.42.png

Having that said, I’ll only report on Friday’s and Sunday’s runs today and will report in my next post how I felt about my first week in this new routine.

Friday 16.3.

  • Weather: 9 degrees and raining, quite pleasant
  • Distance: 5,02 km
  • Time: 24:50 mins
  • Pace: 4:57 min/km
  • Training Effect: 3,5
  • Goal: Getting used to running on tired legs

Recap

As my colleague wasn't feeling well, I had to run alone again. I almost managed to break my own record on the 5km distance, I was 6 seconds away from it. During the run I felt ok and I felt I might be able to do it, but in the end I lacked a bit of energy and came short by 6 seconds. I am pleased with the result, especially since there were quite a few people under way that I had to keep dodging.

Bildschirmfoto 2018-03-21 um 19.11.20.png

Bildschirmfoto 2018-03-21 um 19.15.05.png
As you can see, this was my fastest run on this track from my last 4 runs

Sunday 18.3.

IMG_1844.JPG

  • Weather: It had been snowing and it was extremely cold
  • Distance: 11,05 km
  • Time: 59 minutes
  • Pace: 5:21 min/km
  • Training Effect: 3,8
  • Goal: Getting used to distances

Recap

This was a tough day, it was one of those days where it was difficult to motivate yourself. As we had plans to do something with the kids today I had to go earlier than normal and as neither of my neighboors was coming along I left right after waking up at 7AM. In the beginning I felt really good, but I felt that the regularity of my exercises and the 'shorter' distances impacted my run again, it was also extremely cold and that might have played along as well. Under way I stopped several times to make pictures for you guys to show you the circumstances I had to face. When I saw that I'd finished 11 kilometers under an hour I was really happy with myself. I think that the fact that I stopped regularly helped me maintain a good pace.

Bildschirmfoto 2018-03-21 um 19.11.56.png

Bildschirmfoto 2018-03-21 um 19.14.16.png
Out of my last 4 runs on this track, this was by far the fastest, but the weather and the fact that I was alone have helped me as well

Welcome

Welcome @nwtdarren to our running group. I hope you’re having as much fun with these people as I have. The group really helps and motivates me to perform better every time.

Are you a runner?

If you're a runner or want to start running after my posts and want to connect with other runners to share experiences, ask for tips and/or advice, join us on our discord chat by following this link.

For those of you that still haven't heard of the @runningproject or its bot @isotonic, if you're a runner and want to be rewarded, join our community. It's easy and quick and the 1 SBD or Steem is earned back in no time as you get an upvote on EACH post, not just the ones about running.

Another way to get rewarded is by joining the #runforsteem challenge from @jumowa.

I look forward to hearing your advice, responses, encouragements, feedback and comments.

Keep running and stay fit!

Doron

!steemitworldmap 47.203252 lat 8.780222 long Pfäffikon D3SCR
!steemitworldmap 47.334180 lat 8.386726 long Oberwil-Lieli, Aargau D3SCR

Sort:  

If I were you I would not change the balance between resting and running workouts.
You are breaking the balance between resting days and running days and so, your body will not get adapted as expected...
I mean, nothing happens if one day you feel bad, tired or sick, skip that training and forget about it. But, if you systematically change the plan, that, for sure, is going to affect your performance at the target day...believe me...
The resting days are placed on those days in order to ensure that your body get the desired adaption. If you rest so much, your body will "relax" and so, the next training day will be as starting again almost from zero...
By the contrary, if you don't rest (3 days on row running and one of them longer) , your body will be so fatigued and so also, your body will not react positively and, often, it will lead to getting injure...
No matter the pace or the target time...
I have experience preparing runners for marathon and, believe me that following the training plan is a must
You have to get sticked to the plan.

Thanks for your comment and I get what you're saying, but this was always the plan for the buildup to the marathon. I put the other (previous) routine in myself to get my body used to training multiple days in a row, which I never did. However this is the program that I was going to do anyway and will stick to until December. Does that make any sense?

Ok, catch it... Yes, makes sense

Well done on your run! Even though you find it tough, you still keep going! I love it!

Thanks, good to hear from you again. I thought you'd given up :-D

No I havent given up, but Im considering that Steemit isnt for me. A friend told me about steemit, so I joined and I just dont have the time for it. How are you? Im building up my running skills.

Good for you on the running! Keep that up, RL is more important that blogging. Try to keep posting, once Steem hits mainstream you'll see that every STEEM you own now will return to you.

Ok thanks for the advice. I will try to keep posting. My knees have been hurting lots. I do have a history of dislocating knees. I get sharp pains in my knees, do you have any techniques I can use. I try using the knee supports but they start to curl and move as I run. I hope your well.

Your dedication and commitment is inspiring. Though I'm not running yer, this does encourage me to keep a schedule for both my exercise and writing. It always works better to be organized in all efforts. Thanks for continuing to share your experience.

Do you have any running experience? It took me a long time to get into it. I did some posts about it months ago, I think it was in November when I was really starting to run to achieve the #fiftyrunstillmay challenge.

No, I was prone to shin splints so I could never persue. I have recently had some recommendations for some really good running shoes. Once I obtain them, I'm going to give it another try.

Did you try them? With running shoes it's important that they give you support in the right places and that they ensure that you don't take too much pressure on your knees. I went to a store here and was consulted for over an hour and we tried about 7/8 different pairs of shoes. I tried different brands, models and sizes to ensure I found the right one for me. Now I buy those shoes over the internet for half the price, but that first consultation was well worth it!

If you're serious about wanting to run, join us on discord in the running group. There are a few coaches there and they'll be more than happy to help out. We even have a 60 year old who just started running for the first time in her life. Unfortunately I'm not a moderator there, so we don't have a cool mee6 bot there 😉

Sounds like a great run. I learned on my last hard half-marathon attempt, that resting a few seconds doesn't hurt my overall time at all. The photos make it well worth it!

Thanks for reading through it. I'm still far off even a half marathon, but I do notice my own progressions and it's fantastic to feel that!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=wolfje
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=marathon-post-7-runforsteem


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Get out there, tie your shoelaces and run!
()
Resteemed by @runningproject

Kind reminder:

Choose your Running Author of the Week 8!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57960.12
ETH 2482.73
SOL 155.31
SBD 2.43