Marathon Post #6 #runforsteem

in #running6 years ago

Last week has flown by. I’ve had a really busy week when it comes to work. Since the beginning of February I started a new job 1 day a week. This gives me a nice variation on my daily routine and also something completely different to keep my mind occupied.

Bildschirmfoto 2018-03-14 um 21.02.58.png

Last Friday my new boss went on holiday and left me to handle the business on the floor and guess what??? MURPHY’s law … deliveries did not show up on time, scheduled shipments are postponed due to bad weather in the US … it’s been stressful. Yesterday I had to run from my main job, to this second job and then pick the kids up from daycare, feed them and put them to bed and then do some more things for my ‘secondary’ job.

It’s a good thing I can fall back on switching my mind off for minimum one hour, 4 times a week and just run, focus on my body and engage with nature.

Let me kick this running post off with some fantastic news. On Sunday my colleague, the one who said he was going to run the marathon with me, booked his entry ticket for the Valencia Marathon. So that makes it now official that we're going to do this together.

Here are my runs since my last running post last Wednesday:

Friday 9.3.

  • Weather: Grey and warm
  • Distance: 5,02 km
  • Time: 27:05 mins
  • Pace: 5:24 min/km
  • Training Effect: 3,3
  • Goal: Getting used to running on tired legs

Recap

Average run with my colleague, a good pace, nothing special.

Bildschirmfoto 2018-03-14 um 19.25.22.png

Sunday 11.3.

  • Weather: Pleasant for the time of day, but cold in the shades
  • Distance: 10,77 km
  • Time: 1 hour 29 seconds
  • Pace: 5:37 min/km
  • Training Effect: 4,9
  • Goal: Getting used to distances

Recap

I had difficulty with the distance today, maybe I'm not doing enough distance during the week or maybe I'm just tired from the repetitive exercises. Either way it was a difficult run. I went with both my neighboors again, but halfway through one of them cut it short, so we ended the run the 2 of us. 1 hour is a good pace for this distance and something that we will improve on over the coming period, now that the weather is getting better again. This means I can dress lighter and breathe easier. My technique has already improved, so soon we'll be able to set new records on this course.

Bildschirmfoto 2018-03-14 um 19.39.21.png

Tuesday 13.3.

  • Weather: Raining, fewer people under way
  • Distance: 5,03 km
  • Time: 26:14 mins
  • Pace: 5:13 min/km
  • Training Effect: 3,3
  • Goal: Getting used to running on tired legs by running short distances several days after one another

Recap

A nice and easy run whilst it was raining. We had to slow down a few times as my colleagues shoe lace kept going loose, so under the circumstances a very good result.

Bildschirmfoto 2018-03-14 um 19.57.02.png

Wednesday 14.3.

  • Weather: Fantastic, the sun was out again and a nice warm temperature. Unfortunately this also meant a lot of people on our path
  • Distance: 5,01 km
  • Time: 25:21 mins
  • Pace: 5:04 min/km
  • Training Effect: 3,5
  • Goal: Second day in a row running on tired legs, preparing for 3 days in a row

Recap

Today was fantastic. This was another lunchtime run with my colleague and probably the fastest we've done together. There were a lot of people under way we kept having to 'dodge', but somehow we managed to make a very good pace despite the second run in 2 days.

Bildschirmfoto 2018-03-14 um 19.57.31.png

Here are all 4 runs in comparison with one another:

Bildschirmfoto 2018-03-14 um 20.31.21.png

Welcome

Welcome @shanibeer to our running group. I hope you’re having as much fun with these people as I have. The group really helps and motivates me to perform better every time.

I want to give a big thank you to @cstrimel, @runningdanw & @toofasteddie for your advice last week. I’m taking it all to heart and I hope I won’t disappoint you in 8 months time in Valencia. Off course it would be cool if some or all of you/us are there for a #runningproject meet … just a spontaneous idea.

Are you a runner?

If you're a runner or want to start running after my posts and want to connect with other runners to share experiences, ask for tips and/or advice, join us on our discord chat by following this link.

For those of you that still haven't heard of the @runningproject or its bot @isotonic, if you're a runner and want to be rewarded, join our community. It's easy and quick and the 1 SBD or Steem is earned back in no time as you get an upvote on EACH post, not just the ones about running.

Another way to get rewarded is by joining the #runforsteem challenge from @jumowa.

I look forward to hearing your advice, responses, encouragements, feedback and comments.

Keep running and stay fit!

Doron

!steemitworldmap 47.203252 lat 8.780222 long Pfäffikon D3SCR
!steemitworldmap 47.334180 lat 8.386726 long Oberwil-Lieli, Aargau D3SCR

Sort:  

Your post had been curated by the @buildawhale & @upmyvote team and mentioned here:

https://steemit.com/curation/@buildawhale/buildawhale-curation-digest-03-20-18

You must be one very healthy person. I wish to be able to do what you do.

Thanks for letting me know, I had no idea about that. It's an honor to be featured, I'm a big fan/user of @buildawhale. I'm surprised that you picked this post though, of all the post I've used @buildawhale on, this one is more repetitive and not as informative as my beginners guide for instance that I did on Sunday.

I was never healthy until 3 years ago when my daughter was born. It's easy and addictive to get started.

While this post might have not been your best or most informative, it allowed me to introduce you to more people. Though, I do wish I had come across your other post, it doesnt always work out that way :)

Maybe again in the next post 😉

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=wolfje
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=marathon-post-6-runforsteem


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Can I ask you what app do you use to track your activity?

I have a Garmin watch that I synchronize with my computer. The data gets uploaded to Garmin connect and those screenshots come from there.

Thank you. I’m using Fitbit and I track my exercises so I was wondering if my watch can do this but I don’t think I have built in GPS.

Yeah, that depends on the type and model. The built in GPS was one of the reasons why I went for the Garmin. It also allows me to swim without taking it off and measure my exercise when I go cross-country skiing. All-in-all I believe I got the best value for money with this watch and now 2,5 years later I'm still enjoying it and no regrets.

You got a 52.95% upvote as a Recovery Shot from @isotonic, currently working as a funding tool, courtesy of @wolfje!

  • Image from pngtree.com

@isotonic is the Bid Bot of the @runningproject community.
Earnings obtained by this bot, after paying to the delegators, are fully used to increase the SP of the @runningproject from which all affiliated members are benefited.
Check @runningproject posts in order to know further about.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57893.29
ETH 3130.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44