Marathon Post #1

in #running7 years ago

This is where it starts

IMG_1291.JPG

Now that I have been cleared to do this medically, I actually wanted to wait until May to start the actual training. The reasoning behind it is that I am facing very irregular times. On Thursday we are going to Holland for a birthday in the family, we have Jewish festivities coming up next month and in the end of April we are going on a longer holiday with the whole family. All these are moments where I will loose momentum and for this reason I wanted to start training once this period is over.

On the other hand, it's also an opportunity to start training early and take what I can. I figured if I started today and tomorrow, at least I get used to running on sore legs and if I run whenever there is a moment to spare, I should get myself even better prepared. So I decided that I would do a 5km run today and I'll attempt to do another one tomorrow.

Conditions were ok for running today. Cold and humid, but I felt fresh and fit and that is visible in my stats below. Due to the 'shorter' run the training effect was lower than normal on this course. However I managed to focus more on my technique and this greatly improved my speed. In total I did 5km in 25 minutes or 5 min per kilometer.

Bildschirmfoto 2018-02-20 um 19.13.35.png

Bildschirmfoto 2018-02-20 um 19.22.45.png

I keep finding out that many people have not heard of the @runningproject or its bot @isotonic, so if you're a runner and want to be rewarded, just join our community. It's easy and quick and the 1 SBD or Steem is earned back in no time as you get an upvote on EACH post, not just the ones about running.

Keep running and stay fit!

Doron

!steemitworldmap 47.203252 lat 8.780222 long Pfäffikon D3SCR

Sort:  

Good pace!!!! Keep improving!
(And promoting @runningproject)

On it bud 😉

Nice beginning, good luck with the preparing for marathon.
Did you choose the location? I remember one of your posts where you said that you coldn't decide which city would you pick for your first marathon. Decided in the meanwhile?
Btw, have a good time in Holland :)

Thanks for noticing, yes I have decided, but my wife will have to agree with me first before I'm going to announce it as she wants to do something else completely at the same time and these 2 things will collide with one another. Are you training for anything currently?

I had a horrible time in Holland, have a look at my post from yesterday. It's partially why I am so behind in answering.

I am also late with answers..No problem. Yes, the weather is horrible. I hope everything went well besides weather??

My long term plan is marathon in Amsterdam in October, but before that I will have a looot to do.

In June: half marathon, and before that, May- 15km, 10km, April 10km, March 5km,
On Saturday I'll compete in small race on 2,5km. That would be the first race in this year.
I started with running in 2016, but in 2017 I had injury that made me stop with running more then 4 months. And after that I had some small operation on my back (skin), but still, it distracted me and caused stress, a lot. So, basically this is kind of a new beginning but everything seems familiar and more predictable.

I'm watching your training especially to see the beautiful photos you share.

LOL, I'm holding them back a bit, sorry. More will come though.

Wow, if that's your just getting back into it pace I can't wait to see when you really start training! Happy trails!

I wish, normally I'm around 5:30mins/km it would be great if I can do that pace for a full 42km (I wish)

It is all relative to what you're used to, isn't it? I have to remember sometimes what looks really fast to me might be someone else's warmup! Do you have a particular race in mind you are working towards?

True, to me 5km/h is really fast and not something I can currently maintain over a longer distance, but I guess that's a matter of training. I want to do the marathon of Tel -Aviv next year in February.

I’ve always found that my training is either a priority or it is not. When it is, I train even when it isn’t super convenient, like on trips. When it isn’t a priority I find excuses even when I’m home and have nothing else to do! So get out there! :)

My problem is, if I classify it as not a priority, I'll loose focus and stop doing it regularly. For me it is important as I'm getting older, I need to do this to stay fit. I am one of those people once I break the routine, it's very hard to get back into it.

Same for me. I’m always very curious about the nature of motivation. When I’m in the routine, and feeling in shape, I can’t imagine ever not being in the routine. But then for various reasons things change. Right now I’m working on a more low-level approach to daily movement. Even if I’m not actually doing a run, I try to have some activity built into the day. This seems to be working, but I’m definitely back to the shape I want to be in yet.

What kind of activities do you do if you're not running?

I do a fair amount of walking, and as a family we do a lot of outdoor activities like hiking, riding bikes, canoeing. I brew beer. Oh wait, that doesn’t count :). Having kids definitely helps because they always want to play, but at the same time, they are my motivation to keep running too.

I know the feeling, that's how I got into running in the first place, I felt so out of shape after my daughter was born.

I vote for: "do all the training you can also during this busy period"! This 5 km is a nice one already! Fingers crossed!

Thanks, that's my plan exactly. You never know when the next run is going to be.

Good luck with your training!

Thanks bud!

That sounds like a sound plan. A 25 minute 5K two months before you plan on starting your training is, well, enviable.

I'm looking forward to reading about your progress to your new goal!

Thanks, I hope this is just me setting the pace, but I'll have to look at it day-by-day at the moment.

Don't underestimate the value of rest: training breaks us; it is the rest and recovery that makes us stronger.

Good point, but how do you combine that with training for a marathon?

Marathon training is so gruelling I find it essential. Getting a consistent block of training with no injury is much better than stop/start between injuries.

I always look for my athletes to have at least 1 day a week of complete rest and most (with marathon target times of 3.5 hours to 4.5 hours) are only training 4 to 5 times a week.

I schedule my athletes' plans based on building intensity and duration over 3 to 4 weeks followed by a "cut back" week where they do less which gives their body a chance to incorporate some of the training adaptions, before ramping up again and repeating the cycle.

In a few weeks I hope to have time to write a marathon training series via @runningproject so keep your eyes peeled for more details.

that is really cool, I've never made a marathon.

Me neither 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59527.28
ETH 2462.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49