You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Marathon Post #1

in #running7 years ago (edited)

I’ve always found that my training is either a priority or it is not. When it is, I train even when it isn’t super convenient, like on trips. When it isn’t a priority I find excuses even when I’m home and have nothing else to do! So get out there! :)

Sort:  

My problem is, if I classify it as not a priority, I'll loose focus and stop doing it regularly. For me it is important as I'm getting older, I need to do this to stay fit. I am one of those people once I break the routine, it's very hard to get back into it.

Same for me. I’m always very curious about the nature of motivation. When I’m in the routine, and feeling in shape, I can’t imagine ever not being in the routine. But then for various reasons things change. Right now I’m working on a more low-level approach to daily movement. Even if I’m not actually doing a run, I try to have some activity built into the day. This seems to be working, but I’m definitely back to the shape I want to be in yet.

What kind of activities do you do if you're not running?

I do a fair amount of walking, and as a family we do a lot of outdoor activities like hiking, riding bikes, canoeing. I brew beer. Oh wait, that doesn’t count :). Having kids definitely helps because they always want to play, but at the same time, they are my motivation to keep running too.

I know the feeling, that's how I got into running in the first place, I felt so out of shape after my daughter was born.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61248.96
ETH 2375.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55