Fifty runs till May #50!!!

in #running7 years ago (edited)

Run #50/50 - 100%

✔✔✔✔✔✔✔✔✔✔
✔✔✔✔✔✔✔✔✔✔
✔✔✔✔✔✔✔✔✔✔
✔✔✔✔✔✔✔✔✔✔
✔✔✔✔✔✔✔✔✔✔

IMG_1287.JPG
Happy Birthday again to my colleague and running buddy. This is us before we set off today for run #50

When I first learnt about this challenge set by @theaustrianguy in this post, I had my doubts. Yes, I had been more active and consistent this year, but I also knew that the weather could change everything and the famous words ‘Winter is Coming’ were freshly etched in my head 😒

Bildschirmfoto 2018-01-18 um 19.01.27.png

Last winter had been difficult to keep my activity levels up, I did 47 runs (including 2 times cross-country skiing) between 2nd October and 30th April. So it was possible, but I would have to increase my activity levels and hope that the winter would not be so bad.

I could not have been more wrong. We are having a hard and difficult winter so far. Those of you who have followed my 50 runs know the conditions I’ve had to endure. I’ve had everything from strong rains, snowstorms, 30 cm snow, icy conditions, hurricances, different environments due to holiday and work trips, adjusting my running routes due to storm damages and so on, but …

I’ve done it!!!

I can’t believe I did it with another 3,5 months left to go, but I did it!!! Along the way the way I also convinced 3 people to join the challenge:

@toofasteddie on the 14th October
@romaincrx on the 25th November
@shazza on the 9th December

My posts helped convince @runningturtle to join the challenge.

Overall I did 462 kilometers, that's the same distance as from my home (as the bird flies) to well into the Czech Republic or Dortmund or Paris or Florence or close to Ljubljana where our friend and running mate @ervin-lemark lives ... it's a ridiculous distance. In total I spent well over 47 hours running or skiing.

IMG_1292.JPG
Very grey today with the occasional rain bothering us during our run

Here are my stats for todays' run:

  • Weather: 5 degrees, grey and windy with a storm coming
  • Distance: 10 kilometers
  • Time: 55 minutes
  • Pace: 5:31 min/km
  • Training Effect: 4,6 = Overreaching

To mark the occasion of the 50th run, we decided to add another 1,5 kilometers to our run today. So we did 10 kilometers in 55 minutes, which is a very decent run with a nice pace of 5:31 min/km.

IMG_1298.JPG
We stopped for a selfie under way!

It was actually a very good run, we managed to set a nice pace and we both felt like we could've upped our pace even more. The weather wasn't ideal, but on the other hand, that might've also helped us enjoying our run more. So we did not feel any worse for the additional 10 kilometers. We also made a slight change from our normal course today, which added to more incline in our run today ... all to our benefit. It would have been nice if more runs would've been like the one we did today.

IMG_1300.JPG
That's me done - 50/50 runs, this is when we returned after our run from today!

Bildschirmfoto 2018-01-18 um 18.54.06.png
My last running stats for 50 runs till May, if you want to see more indepth statistics or want to follow me in Garmin Connect, just follow this link

Bildschirmfoto 2018-01-18 um 20.00.14.png
This is how I got to 50

For those of you who hear about this challenge for the first time and you run on average more than 3 times a wek, you can still join the challenge:

Bildschirmfoto 2018-01-18 um 20.02.19.png
As you can see if you started now and ran 3 times a week, you wouldn't make it, but if you did a bit more than that, there's still time. To join the challenge follow the instructions in this post.

I know many of you will be asking ... what are you going to do now? Well, I have something in mind of which I will post very soon and I will also do my best to help and promote the @runningproject among runners over here on steem. Growing together makes it more fun and will only benefit the community.

I will also focus a lot more now on promoting @qurator & their bot qustodian. It's very easy to join, they're very helpful, they even have a tutorial chatroom for those who are illiterate with formatting like me and you get an upvote every day for only 2 SBD. So for those of you who don't want to use bots for upvotes, this is a more secure and certain way of gaining revenue, votes and a following on your posts. I am in Tier 5 myself as I have delegated 300 of my SP to them. Once our running bot is up and 'running' 😉 I will also start delegating SP there, to support that project.

That's it from me. Good luck to all of you who are still doing their 50 runs! I will keep posting occasional running blogs, but not as much as I did for my 50 runs and feel free to ask me anything if I can be of help.

Like I mentioned above, if you want to stay up-to-date with my runs, you can go to this link and see all my activities since I started using my Garmin Fenix 3.

On a final note I want to thank @theaustrianguy for setting this challenge. Without that I probably would've done about 50 runs max between October and December. Anytime being away or having bad weather would've been a good reason to stay inside or don't run. But thanks to the challenge and the support of all of you I kept going and the love, attention and challenge has kept me going to #50! So a big thank you to @theaustrianguy, but also to each and every one of you who supported me.

Doron

!steemitworldmap 47.203252 lat 8.780222 long Pfäffikon D3SCR

Sort:  

Hey dude!!!!
Congrats!!! you did it!!! and not in the best weather conditions!!!!
Well done man!
Keep posting high quality running posts and thanks for the mention and introduction in the #fiftyrunstillmay challenge!

You're welcome and like I said, once you have the bot up, let me know how I can delegate some SP. I did it for the first time today and I want to help make it more succesful

:-) Well, I am doubting if running a steemvoter account or any other service in fact, currently I'm doing manually.
Do you know any other voter service to automatise the bot?

There is a service when you can get people to build a trail, but I forgot the name @felander do you remember the name? Otherwise we need to find a different way, but you should get a bot to do this.

streemian.com can be a possibility as well , currently under study

That's the one, but you'll still have to do the first vote yourself and people need to set up the trail themselves.

I see...I think would be better something like steemvoter then,
the problem is that I cannot make a differentiation just per #running tag

I think you can only differentiate with your own bot. You could set steemvoter to do specific people and then get people to join you in streemian. That would be an alternative, but then they'll follow every vote

Congratulations!

Thank you!

Good job man , btw its an amazing place that i saw in picture :)

Thanks, it's stunning there in the summer.

Oh my! I never thought there would be a @runningproject here!
Well done, Congrats to both of you!
I am somewhat jealous, as I know nothing about running (like how to count kilometers etc) but it is a great sport perhaps to undertake in the future!
I am happy to have found out your posts :)

Yeah, I was never a runner until 2,5 years ago. I did a post about that. Have a look if it interests you. Running has changed my life.

I know what you mean! We have a lovely road that I can walk to (on the beachside) and I might try to steal some time in the future and 'just do it'!

Yeah, go for it! It's changed my life

Congratulations..

Thank you!

Good grief! I think the last time I ran was in school... 😬 A long long looonnggg time ago! Lol... Great effort - Congratulations!
Hmmm, you should connect with my friend @swedishdragon who runs everyday! I'll tell her too...

LMAO, I never run in school, have a look at my post from a few months ago 'how I got into running'. I was the laziest kid, so this is a huge achievement for me.

Congratulation, you did it. Well done!

NOT LITTLEFINGER!!!!!

Thanks bud!

Lol, if that's what you wish milord

oh oh I like :D can I still join? i run 6 days a week today just 6km per day but used to do 10km, il guess? i can qualify???

In that case you shouldn't have any problems completing the challenge before May. The desicions is not mine though as it's not my challenge, I have just been someone shouting about it. @theaustrianguy has to make the final decision if and how you can enter, but I don't think he'll mind.

tnx :D <3 il look into IF i can find details/rules tomorrow :)

I put a link to his first post in the beginning of my post, but I'm not sure if he still checks his responses on that one. Best to read the post and then reply on one of his last posts that are more topic related.

Thank you @wolfje 💕 :D i found it & responded, no responce yet, im doing the tag a few days now & see if he comes around :) tnx for all your help :D

No problem. I'm not sure if he's going to respond to his initial/old post. maybe look out for a later one that you can reply to and re-steem.

Thank you very much. It's the support of the community that kept me at it as well!

Congrats! A lot of hard work!

The hardest part is going out there, regardless the weather or circumstances. It hasn't been easy, but thanks to the support of the community it kept me going as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62952.44
ETH 2542.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65