20k training W8: great running week (RunForSteem)

in #running6 years ago

Today was my last run of week 8. Time to tell my running week!

First run: no time to recover

I started my week on Tuesday with a fartlek training. I found it strange to do a training like that just two days after my test race on 10K. It was not really a race but it's almost the same effort (or even more because I ran alone). I respected the plan and did my session. I felt in my legs that I did a hard run recently but despite that everything was alright.

I don't know if I will do the test race on 15K next week. It seems to close from my last test race and also too close to my real race at the end of May. Some recommandations fellow runners? @toofasteddie maybe? Or some authors of the @runningproject?
This fartlek consisted of 30' of warm-up, 2 series of 8x(40"/40") with 4' of rest between the series and 10' of cool down.
Capture d’écran 2018-04-29 à 15.34.23.png
Capture d’écran 2018-04-29 à 15.34.32.png

Second run: endurance run

My second run of the week (on Friday) was my endurance run. I had zero motivation and my legs was hurting me again. So I decided to do only 45' instead of 60'.
Capture d’écran 2018-04-29 à 15.34.51.png
Capture d’écran 2018-04-29 à 15.35.00.png

Third run: hard interval training

Today was my last run with a hard interval training. I was afraid to not be able to do it correctly after a big party last night. But despite only 4.5 hours of sleep and a lot of beers, I was full of energy. I can't explain it but it felt easy to maintain the pace at each repetition.

Here is my session: 30' of warm-up (I only did 25'), 5x6' at 4'/km pace with 2'30" of rest, 10' of cool down. It was obviously a long session and I did more than 15 km in total.
Capture d’écran 2018-04-29 à 15.35.20.png
Capture d’écran 2018-04-29 à 15.35.31.png

Even tough I cut my endurance run a little, it was a big week with 36 km in 2h53 in total.
Capture d’écran 2018-04-29 à 15.35.54.png

Check the Steem Running Project and the RunForSteem Challenge if you are interested in running.

Sort:  

Thanks for the mention @romaincrx .
Follow the plan my friend. If you have a 15K test that day you have to do it!
Running Plans are done to set you in the best fit condition for the target race (I mean, if they are well done...of course).
If you feel fine and without injures, you should do the test. I understand that the race is by the end of May, isn't it? You have time to recover, don't worry.
BTW, 3 days a week is not such a hard plan, it is very convenient to add one session more of soft run (recovery run)the day after a hard session so you can release the tensions of your harmed muscles (think about)

Thank you for all this information. I will do it if my leg is ok then :) Yes the race is on the 27th of May. And I know, 3 sessions a week is not a lot but I decided to do that and not 4 or 5 so I can change the days easily (because of other activities). I will maybe try it :) And what do you think of a slow and small run the day before the race?

it is very convenient. It is what I call "precompetitive run"
25' of slow run(pures aerobical) + 5 to 6 100m progressive sprints, keeping the good running gesture, try to do it at the same hour on which your race will start the day after.

You're welcome , let me know if you need anything else

I'm with @toofasteddie on this one. The 15k will help you leap-frog up the fitness ladder.

I did a hard 40km trail run the weekend after a 60km ultra race. I was knackered afterwards, but it really made a big difference in my fitness gains. I don't recommend doing that too often though ;-)

Three weeks should be enough recovery time, if you don't absolutely kill yourself on the training run. keep a good eye on your injuries though. If they look like they are getting worse, then stop.

Completing the 15k is not worth blowing the whole race.

Good luck ;-)

Thank you for your comment :) I wanted to do the 15km pre-race but I think it's wiser not to do it. My leg is hurting me and I think I need some rest. I hope the pain will go away quickly :)

Training diligently - good for you!

Yes I try :)

You train really hard.
I'm curious how you're gonna do in the contest.
In any case, you didn't make it easy for yourself in training.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

We all have dreams.
But in order to make dreams come into reality,
it takes an awful lot of determination, dedication,
self-discipline, and effort.
Jesse Owens

Source for gif
Vote for your running author of the week 14!
Resteemed by @runningproject

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67275.57
ETH 3480.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67