20k training W4 : Fiftyrunstillmay 45 & 46 (RunForSteem)

in #running6 years ago

As you can see in the title of the article, I only did two runs this week. I'll explain that in more details below.

First run: fartlek training

I started my week on Monday with a good fartlek training. Here is the detail of the session:

  • 30' of warm-up at my endurance run
  • 2 times 10x(20"/20") with 4' of rest between the two repetitions
  • 10' of cool down

I find the 20"/20" quite hard because it's really fast and we don't have much time to recover between the fast 20". But it's also a fun training. Times flies during this kind of training because we never really stop. At the end, it was a good run under a beautiful blue sky!
Capture d’écran 2018-03-30 à 14.35.52.png
Capture d’écran 2018-03-30 à 14.36.01.png

Second run: endurance run

My second run, on Wednesday, was the endurance run. I had to do 60' at a 4'38"/km pace. As you can see on my Strava session, I didn't manage to do it. The first reason is because of the climbs. Considering that, I did it at a pace of 4'41"/km. But the second and most important reason is because my leg was hurting during the entire run. This is why I only did 49'. I will talk more about my leg below.
Capture d’écran 2018-03-30 à 14.40.04.png
Capture d’écran 2018-03-30 à 14.40.11.png

Third run: no run...

As I said at the beginning, I only ran two times this week. This is of course because of my leg. I wanted to run when I woke up this morning. But my leg was still hurting just while walking. I decided not to run because of that.
I know what is this pain. I have a periostitis since a few years and it comes back when I run too much. That's why some rest can only be good for my leg (because a periostitis is caused by the repetitive shocks). I can't run this weekend so I will see on Tuesday if I'm good or not.

In total, I just did 21.1 km in 1 hour 43 minutes this week.
Capture d’écran 2018-03-30 à 14.46.19.png

Check the Steem Running Project and the RunForSteem Challenge if you are interested in running.

Sort:  

Thank you for your post. :) I have voted for you: 🎁! To call me just write @contentvoter in a comment.

I hope the pain goes away. Since all of these running injuries or most of them are sorts of inflammations, what helps to the limited extent (but it does help a bit at inflammations) is eating a lot of pineapples and add ginger wherever you can.

Thank you for the tip! I didn't know that :)

I've read about pineapples in Scott Jurek's book Eat & Run. Ginger... I don't remember where I learned about this one. Well both are recommended for "injury" times :)

I hope the pain goes away quickly. I've had injuries myself and it makes me so restless and I get envious whenever I see someone else running.

Yes I Hope too! It's really not fun to stop a training ...

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by RomainCrx from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hope your leg comes back soon! I sometimes add recovery pace runs as a step between resting and coming back.

Thanks for the support :) It's already better now but I still can feel the pain. I put ice 3 times a day on my leg and try ti reduce a bit my trainings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65359.95
ETH 3492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51