10K : I beat my personal record ! (fiftyrunstillmay 23/50 & RunForSteem)

in #running6 years ago

I did it! After 12 weeks of training, it was time to see if the hard work pays or not.
IMG_2620.jpg

Yesterday I did my 10K after exactly 34 trainings (3 trainings a week except this week and I missed one because of an ankle pain). This was the first time that I trained like this. I did races before but just for fun, without a particular training. This time, it was the opposite: I trained but I didn't do a real race (I just ran by myself because I didn't find any race at that date).

In my training program, I put 39 minutes as an objective but in reality, I just wanted to cross the 40 minutes barrier. So my goal yesterday was to do it the fastest possible of course but I really wanted to do it in less than 40 minutes (I would have considered that as a failure if I had not beaten that time).

I think the conditions were good but not optimal. It was cold (-4°C) and with wind (18km/h). But the ground was completely dry which was the most important for me.

Even if it was not a real race, I did it as it was one. The first thing was to eat a good plate of pasta 3 hours before the race. Around 11:30, I started with a warm-up of 3km with some active stretchings. Then it was time to start the 10K.
IMG_2617.jpg

As you can see it in my intervals, I managed to be below 4'/km pace during the first 6 km. After that I didn't manage to go back below that pace. But the most important is that in the end, I did it in less than 40'! Really close but I did it!

My exact time is 39'48".
Capture d’écran 2018-01-13 à 13.25.10.png
Capture d’écran 2018-01-13 à 13.25.23.png

At the end, I can say that the training was useful. In 12 weeks, I improved my time by 3'22" which is almost a 10% increase. If you want to follow a similar training, I used the Zatopek training excel sheet. You just have to enter you best time on 2000m and your objective on 10K and it calculates everything for you. Moreover, you can choose between 3, 4 or 5 trainings a week.

Now that it's over, I don't know what I'm going to do. I want to do a race in Brussels at the end of May. It's the 20km of Brussels, a really famous race in Belgium. If I do it, I will train for it during 12 weeks so I have time before that. I don't want to just run because I find those trainings quite boring. If someone has an idea, feel free to share it in the comments!

Last word: a Steem Running Project was born a few days ago. If you have some interest in running (and I guess you have if you read this post until the end), you can check it out here.

Sort:  

GREAT MAN!!!!!!! I told you! And this is only the beginning of a great Runningf Career!!!
Congratulations!!!

Thank you mate! Appreciate it :)

You are QUALIFIED!!
Please, now you can proceed with the enrollment.
Thanks for promoting @runningproject!

Nice! I will finalise my enrolment later today :)

I knew you would do it!

Well done. you can pat yourself on the back for a job well done. You did the hard work, set your sights on the goal and went for it.

I'm proud of you.

So now you're stepping up to 20km huh? Don't forget the core work (my weakness). Now that you have cracked the 40 minute barrier, anything is possible. ;-)

Thank you! It's really nice to have support like this :) Yeah I think my next target is 20km. I already did this race 6 years ago but without any training so my goal would be to improve my time significantly.

And I'm confident you will do it ;-)

We have 50 year old women qualifying for the US Olympic marathon team, so age is not a barrier.

If you can motivate yourself and put in the training, there is nothing you can't do.

I will do everything I can :)

3.59 mins/km, that is awesome! Congratulations :) Keep running mate :)

Thank you!

Congrats Romain and lots of fun on future ventures

Thank you!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @romaincrx to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17