Weekly Running Update - WB 11 March 2019

in #running6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Weekly Running Update - WB 11 March 2019


I've moved to Hive, along with most other people, following Justin Sun's takeover of Steem in the Spring of 2020. I believe hive is a lot more decentralised than Steem!

Sort:  

Yeh, intervals seem to suit you and those waves are pretty. That bit about seeing your (4) abs when tensing in a flattering light reminded me of a Micky Flanagan programme this week about Underdogs. It had lovely stories, including Eddie the Eagle (slept in his car eating rubbish so he could spend another month in Italy or Switzerland and do another 6,000 jumps). As part of his experience of being the underdog, as an overweight middle-aged man who hadn't done any training, Micky entered a competition for bodybuilders ... another world! The whole programme was funny in a way that also makes you squirm. Good for you losing weight!

I might have to check that documentary out, although according to my result that's just through i'm apparently top dog in my age category this week...

Screen Shot 2019-03-16 at 14.28.27.png

I'm usually fourth category, but I guess probability wise it was only a matter of time until the three who usually beat me all decided not to turn up on the same day!

Well done!
It's funny if you like Micky Flanagan (I do, a lot of what he talks about resonates with my own heritage/culture) but I wouldn't get a new telly for it 😊

i don't recognise the name, but I'm sure he's one of those people I've seen.

I definitely jeed to get some cardio in my life. It is beautiful how symmetric your interval runs were. I hate arriving to the gym and realizing you forgot something. I hate showing up to the gym without any headphones. Pretty much ruins my entire gym time working out without being able to listen to my music or podcasts.

Posted using Partiko Android

It was only a matter of time until I had to face the session without a tracker. It did hurt a little, I wanted my heart rate spikes on the hills!

However, I'm also aware that it would just be ridiculous to take a 20 minute round trip back home to go pick it up!

I love intervals as well but feel that I cannot do them outside as my mind just goes all over the place when running outdoors. However, it is definitely my go to session when on the tradmill! I have preferred sprint intervals to hills but I may add them to the mix again! Great progress as it gets me thinking that I need to extend the length of my workout for more endurance but my time constraints make it more difficult.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I did a few speed interval treadmill sessions - my standard is warmup and then 5* decent speed 400M intervals with 400M rest in between.

However, once I get the TM over 15KPH i find it a little bit terrifying, I'm much better off outdoors, and I have a proper athletics track not too far away which helps.

Why does your mind go all over the place, I've never heard that before in relation to outdoor running!?

Hi, @revisesociology!

You just got a 1.66% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @revisesociology!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.575 which ranks you at #1863 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 5 places in the last three days (old rank 1868).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 217 contributions, your post is ranked at #57.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations @revisesociology! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 4750 replies. Your next target is to reach 5000 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 65292.16
ETH 2651.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85