Finally met my running goals! What a great feeling.

in #running6 years ago

Last night I finally reached my running goal I had set over the last 6 months for myself.

IMG_5928.PNG

I've been getting back into running again finally after getting a bit plump and lazy. I was noticing I was out of breath climbing the stairs at work or playing with the kids in the house.

I upped the ante about 3-4 month ago when I started the steemit fitness challenge with a few others and committed to a goal pace of less than 5:30min/km for 5km.

I hit a huge plateaus around 6mins, then finally broke that and was stuck at 5:50 for another couple weeks. I mused about this extensively in my last fitness update here but finally list night conditions were perfect!

I was feeling pretty positive desite having another rough shift at work, so I channeled both the positivity and annoyance from the rough shift into motivation. I also knew the contest was closing and was feeling the pressure from that. I was on a solid 3 days rest, I felt my diner was just right. The ground was finally firm and it was a beautiful -10C after being around 0 for a few days. Everything was right!

After the first 2km, I had made a great start running both well under 5:30, once I also completed the 3rd Km under 5:30 I was really feeling confident. The speed was tough but not impossible and I knew I had a tiny bit of wiggle room now. The last two kms were just over 5:30/min but close enough to keep the whole run just under 5:30.

Here's all the details and metrics!

IMG_5931.PNG

IMG_5929.PNG

IMG_5930.PNG

I calculated and intensity of 98% that was pretty impressive. In the past it's usually around 90% and I rarely even hit a HR>180 let alone sustain that for most of the run.

I was just a great and powerful feeling to be able to achieve that! Likely why I'm still awake instead of sound asleep right now after being up all night.... lol. I just had to announce it to everyone right away!

I think it'll take an couple extra days to record then I need to refocus my training to start stretching out the runs and hitting longer distances as my next goal is the local Marathon May!

Hopefully I can walk tonight! Definitely going to be a stretching night!


Footer by @bearone

Sort:  

That is great! Congratulations! Any distance running is no joke! For increased breath and oxygen use check out Tabata. Adding 4 minutes of Tabata sets will increase to a supra aerobic state. Should be able to take you a little further. Good luck. Be well!

I do remember hearing or reading about this in the past, but It's probably time to take another look, thx.

Yeah, man. Tabata is no joke. You either get fit or die trying haha.

The feeling of pride is one of the best that we can have. Remember that you deserved it, by your own effort. Now, to the Marathon...Congrats.

Yeah, the marathon is going to a be a much bigger challenge.

Great job Phil! way to go, running has always been hard for me, with my type of arthritis, thus making it not enjoyable, but I envy people who can enjoy it!

Jeez yeah, that would make it pretty tough. I hope it doesn't affect my joints too much long term, but I do really enjoy it.

What a great satisfaction you must feel, what pride, it shows that with much sacrifice and perseverance you succeeded haha thanks for sharing it in such a detailed way! Congratulations

Yeah, it's really any awesome feeling, got to roll this into crushing some other goals.

That's fantastic man! It inspires me to see people achieve what they want in life. Also good on you for wanting to achieve it, and doing it. Lots of people want to achieve their goals, but they have a million excuses as to why they can't do it. Awesome keep pushing the boundaries man! Upvoted!

Yeah man, it's been huge to crush this goal, stlll on a high from it.

Congrats buddy, you must be at cloud 9 now haha!
Interesting charts and stats. Having an app to track everything sure is beneficial and motivating to look at isn't it.

Oh yea, I love keeping track of everything. It helps when your competing against yourself.

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on Steem. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

Awesome! Keep up the good work! :D

Nice buddy, well done. Keep the momentum going and build on this

How incredible, to see how people fulfill their dreams, congratulations on your achievements, excellent route quite demanding.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57452.21
ETH 3016.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36