I ran a 10k, drunk, after midnight on New Year's

in #running2 years ago

I do something every now and then where I put on my boots and go on a "guilt run" after a day of heavy eating or drinking. Generally speaking I am relatively dedicated to a life of diet and exercise but just like any normie, I go crazy on the food and drink every now and then. Just like it is for most people, New Year's Eve is one of those days that it almost seems required that we go out and get smashed with no regard to what it is that we are consuming.

When I got home, I was pretty drunk but not too drunk to run. In fact, I kind of enjoy drunk running because I am more stubborn during those times and refuse to give up.


image.png
src

The above image is not an accurate representation of what happened because I didn't bring a beer with me, I am not that hardcore. I did, on the other hand though, have at least a dozen of them before I went outside for my run. It was cold as can be but I have gear for this and I was also kind of immune to cold because of all the alcohol in my system. I don't recommend that other people do this because going and doing exercise when you are inebriated and probably dehydrated as well is likely not medically advisable. I've done this many times though and I know I can hack it.

The pace was garbage as you would expect from anyone who had been drinking beer for 3 hours before they go running and I also took a lot of breaks. I didn't stop, I just switched over to a walk. It is winter here so you better not stand still for too long or you might die! Just kidding but it isn't nice.

So with my tunes in my ears and the rather empty roads in front me me I set out to do a 5k... and ended up doing a 10k just to ring in the new year. I managed to maintain an 8min / km pace or thereabouts, which isn't at all impressive because my normal pace is around 6 minutes. I wasn't doing this to win any trophies though. I was just out there to do it because people would probably tell me that I couldn't.

By the time I got home I wasn't even tired either. I really think I could have done another 10k but at this point I had been moving for an hour and it was now 230 in the morning. It was time to go home.

So while I do not advise that other people do this I managed to burn nearly 1000 calories according to my Strava readout and that probably knocks out about half of the beverages that I had consumed that evening.

I am toying with the idea of doing a 100km January challenge and I think that should be relatively easy to accomplish seeing as how we are only 1 day into it and I am 1/10 of the way there!

Happy New Year everyone!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59165.12
ETH 2617.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43