#40 Hilversum City Run, 10km (15th April, Hilversum)

in #running6 years ago (edited)

People who know me here, probably remember my excitement about every new run I plan, and how I am thrilled to estimate my finishing time. It just give me sense that I'm moving in the right direction, no matter how slow.

On Sunday, April 15th, in Hilversum was organized Hilvesum City Run where I was running 10km. My first 10km race

Before I describe that day in short, I have to tell that I was really nervous for days before the event.
Once, I had kind of small injury (10 days before the race). Slight pain from heel over knee to the hip (right leg). It was very hard to define what exactly hurts, because the same movements didn't always cause the same amount of pain. Very strange... I tried one day with walking (10km) and next day I waked up with terrible pain in my right calf. It was really hard to walk or to stand on that leg. That was 7 days before the race, and I became kind of frustrated and really afraid of what could happen if I force during the race day.
In those days I thought : what if my legs "forget" to run, but I had no other option then rest and stretch.
I did some stretching through the day everyday, and skipped next 3 trainings and that actually helped. In 7 days before the race, I ran only once...

Before the injury that I mentioned, my plan and wish was to finish the race within 58' . But, even if my leg recovered, I changed my plans, because it was warm and the air was somehow heavy. And, also, there were a lot of people, I just set realistic goal, to finish the race in one hour.

I went to Hilversum by bike (6km). And, again, I almost came late there. It is my big, big minus...I make pressure where there is no reason. I didn't find so nice starting position, so I already knew there would be a big difference between bruto and netto time.

20180415_115446.jpg

The race started at 12 o'clock.
In first 4 km my pace was between 5' 44" and 5' 55" per km, which made me more confident that I will finish the race on time. I was so focused on pace, that I didn't even pay attention to supporters, musicians and also I didn't even look behind or aside to see other people who were racing, too. .I was only thinking about the pace, pace, pace... It is not that I didn't enjoy the surroundings. I was only afraid that if I do any other interaction, that may distract me and make me slower. What a nerd I am sometimes. I really regret being so dorky.

Here is how the route looked like. It was actually 2 rounds of 5km.
IMG_20180416_112547_126.jpg

5th kilometer was kind of difficult. It was warm, my heart rate raised a bit, and again I had problem to keep my breathing balanced. It was just a bit annoying, but I didn't want to risk, because it was only half job done, so I slowed down a bit.
Second part of the race was challenging. I was thirsty. There were people offering water, and once I took it, but it was impossible to run and drink, so I just tried to forget about being thirsty. Pace in that time 5' 57".
Last km was even worse... I couldn't wait to reach the finish line. Last 500m seemed so long. In one moment it crossed my mind to stop. Oh, no, noo....I had to get together to myself... I started to think and ask myself : If I stop now, how would I ever run half marathon in June if the weather becomes even warmer?

Finally! I crossed the line with bruto time 58'43 " (58' 13" netto time).

Take a look what a beautiful two sided medal I've earned :)

IMG_20180415_151209_744.jpg

IMG_20180415_151209_743.jpg

Thanks to inaccurate GPS and according to Strava, it looks like I ran only 9.7km. Also, it looked like I made cuts and ran over houses. I wish i could..

And, there's me..Happy after all :)

IMG_20180415_153031_396.jpg

Next running events:

May: Naarden, Wallenloop 14.5km
June: Amersfoort, half marathon

Let's see what will happen!

Regards,
@nelzie

Happy to be a part of Runningprotect community

Sort:  

I love the simplicity and freedom of running. A pair of shoes and you are all set to explore new trails.
Rachel Boston

Source for gif
Vote for your running author of the week 13!
Resteemed by @runningproject

Congratulations @nelzie! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations! The medal is so cool!

Thank you!

Congratulations @nelzie! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @nelzie! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68147.96
ETH 3273.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66