#37 Summer is back!

in #running6 years ago (edited)

I'll be short. I did it! 14' 41"

20180304_143810.jpg

Screenshot_2018-03-04-14-16-32.png

20180304_114736.jpg

But what a day, you have to read this.
First, I wanted to go to event by foot, because it was near our place we live. About 4-5km.
My husband went alone, because I was not ready yet. Anyway, I didn't mind, because I don't like to talk while I run. I went alone, through the shortest possible route.
Somewhere after 2km I realised that I missed the path I wanted to run through. I happen to find myself twice in wrong direction, since I was deep in my thoughts.

I almost missed the race I'd been talking about for days. I picked up my number at 11:12 ( race was planned at 11:15).
My husband was already at the start line. He is much faster, so he went away while I did my tempo.
In the beginning I felt great. Almost all the time speed was above 10.5km/h. After 1st km, I already felt that I had to slow down, otherwise I wouldn't be able to breathe normally.

And, the last 500m were challenging, I have to say. I felt my heart was beating enormously. I've got afraid and tried to focus on breathing and keeping tempo not going down. Although before the race I planned to speed up. It wasn't possible.

Last 50m:
At these last moments, all that I remember was that I heard people around me, but I didn't see anyone and anything except the board with red digits:D... 14:34...14:35...14:36... I felt like I was in a tunnel, focusing to escape as soon as possible.
What a crazy feeling! I can't describe it but I am sure that all of you know and remember your first races and beginner's joy.

My husband already finished race, and waited for me. He finished in 10:33. Very good result. This is the first time he competed in so short race. He prefers long distance trails, but came to this race because he would anyway run, as he usually does on Sunday.

We went to ask about the results, because we thought that he might be on first place..But organizers said we had to check on internet later.
So, I went home, he went to run one easy training.

On the my way back home I had time to make some pictures of the place where the Trappenbergloop held today.
20180304_115926.jpg

20180304_120801.jpg

20180304_120908.jpg

And now, the results:
My husband finished as first! :)

About me...Read the highlight of the day:

15th place in men's category. Nice! I really hope they are going to correct soon.

IMG_20180304_175501_269.jpg

When they correct it, I guess I could be at 5th place in women's category.
I'll update you!

Update: I've finished on 7th place (35 competitors in women category, 2.5km).
Cannot be happier at this moment!

Thanks for reading and thanks for the support. This was an extraordinary day!
@nelzie

Happy to be a part of the Runningproject community

Sort:  

Great result and well done! Seems like an awesome experience.

yes, I am happy as a child :)

"Running in the snow has its own special qualities - softness, quiet, the white landscape - and it can make you feel like a kid again."
-Claire Kowalchik, The Complete Book of Running for Women

Resteemed by @runningproject

Kind reminder:

Check new nominated Running Authors of the week and vote for yours!

Fabulous, well done!

Thank you!

Congratulations!!!! Good time! I see that was not the best path to do a better time since it was a trail.
7th out of 35 is a very good result!

Thanks! :)
I've seen this morning, they corrected it, I took 6th place. Cannot be more happier :)
Yes, it was small trail. The last picture where you see broken branches belongs to 10km route, which was more difficult, and more hilly, let's say.

Most distracting parts for me yesterday were changing directions, I don't know why. I should do something about that in next period.
My next run will be on paved road, route like circle. It will be easier.

Congratulations! That is a wonderful feeling! Looks like a fantastic day for both of you. 😁

Yes, it was a great day for both!

Yey!!! Congrats!!!

Good job! I'm happy for you :)

Thank you!

Congrats on your race! Well done 😊

Thank you!

Thanks for your good posts, I followed you! +vote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59077.53
ETH 2518.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48