Sort:  

Thanks. Yes, there are some climbs :)

I am thinking of doing this marathon again next year at a quicker pace. A time around seven hours should be reachable...

Seven hour is quite the improvement -- but I'm sure you can do it!

Also -- you mentioned in your main post:

I've no idea why Strava shows fewer kilometers than my watch. I choose to believe the watch :)

I wonder if it's specifically because of the climb that is causing the discrepancy, because EXHAUST shows the same information -- which is explicitly based off of 2D displacement (latitude & longitude only, disregarding elevation).

When I get a chance, I might try to put together some scripting which would considering the 3D distance travelled...

Seven hours is doable. This Saturday I was a sweeper and so travelled at the slowest possible pace for most of the distance. Next year it might be different :)

About discrepancy between watch-based distance and calculated distance as Strava and Exhaust do it. This difference exists even on flater runs. It is not as big yet it is there. My guess is that the watch writes fewer points in the xml as it actually measures...

I might do the following test on my next run:

  • publish two Exhaust reports
  • one with gpx data straight from the watch
  • the other with gpx data exported from Strava

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58861.70
ETH 2499.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48