Podbrdo Trail Marathon

in #running5 years ago

I just finished a 38.463km run that lasted about 9hh:11mm:10ss !

image

Saturday, June 15th 2019, Podbrdo, Slovenia, 6 am.
I am on the start of the 100K run at the Podbrdo Trail Running Festival, the most coveted trail running event in Slovenia. The event that twice already hosted the World Championships in marathon trail running.

My goal is simple:

  • to be the broom for the first third of the 100K distance, up to the top of Mount Porezen at 35 kilometers,
  • to cheer the runners there,
  • to gently roll down to the finish and complete the marathon event.

And so it was.

Since this is a technical report I'll limit it to the numbers and graphics.

Time: total time of 9:11:13
Pace: 13:09/km
Shoes: Inov-8 X-Talon 212
Total climb: 2819 meters
Strava log
I've no idea why Strava shows fewer kilometers than my watch. I choose to believe the watch :)

More info from the personal perspective with some beautiful photos will follow. For the taste of it check the @actifit report from yesterday.


Better and better


image


image


Check out some detailed info at my EXHAUST page
Join me in testing out EXHAUST!

Sort:  

Wow, impressive @ervin-lemark! 9 hours of running, you must be very tired today...

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks :)

It was mostly slowly walking uphill as you can see from the graphs and numbers.

I am quite OK and my next #exhaust report will prove it :)

Good to hear you are ok. Even though it was slow walking most of the time, it is still a huge achievement.

Posted using Partiko Android

I forgot to chime in and say congrats on the marathon, dude! Monumental effort! Especially with those climbs!!

Thanks. Yes, there are some climbs :)

I am thinking of doing this marathon again next year at a quicker pace. A time around seven hours should be reachable...

Seven hour is quite the improvement -- but I'm sure you can do it!

Also -- you mentioned in your main post:

I've no idea why Strava shows fewer kilometers than my watch. I choose to believe the watch :)

I wonder if it's specifically because of the climb that is causing the discrepancy, because EXHAUST shows the same information -- which is explicitly based off of 2D displacement (latitude & longitude only, disregarding elevation).

When I get a chance, I might try to put together some scripting which would considering the 3D distance travelled...

Seven hours is doable. This Saturday I was a sweeper and so travelled at the slowest possible pace for most of the distance. Next year it might be different :)

About discrepancy between watch-based distance and calculated distance as Strava and Exhaust do it. This difference exists even on flater runs. It is not as big yet it is there. My guess is that the watch writes fewer points in the xml as it actually measures...

I might do the following test on my next run:

  • publish two Exhaust reports
  • one with gpx data straight from the watch
  • the other with gpx data exported from Strava

Very nice, congratulations on completing this!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you very much! It was a beautiful day :)

Bloddy well done. How different would you say it is from running on comparatively flat terrain? I have never been running in mountains but have considered to try a 10-15 K event at some point.

Thanks!

It's a completely different sport.

Last seven kilometers were all down as you can see on the altitude graph. This was actually the most demanding part of the trip. The first down part is also long as Monday, over 13 kilometers. It goes on and on for eternity :)

The main issue here, when you ask me, besides the distance, steep climbs and heat, is that you don't use your muscles in a constant way. Try running down fast after you've snail-paced up for last three hours :)

Real trail ultramarathoners train the down sections the most.

Thanks for your response. That's interesting - I was expecting a difference but maybe I was underestimating it. For sure, I would have to train additionally if I ever get the courage :)

You can do it when you set your mind up.

That recalled me of an event called Tirol Speed Marathon. Full marathon distance from Brenner pass all the way down to Innsbruck. Around 800 meters of drop. Constantly running downhill.

It was dubbed as "come here to set your marathon PB" race.

The reality was that people are not used to run downhill all the time. Specific muscles were overburdened and the runners were dropping out like flies.

Not to mention afternoon summer thunderstorms and running in the pouring rain almost all the time.

This was the only marathon I've seriously contemplated of DNFing. In the end I survived in the time around 3:40 and was super satisfied. My PB at the time was roughly 3:22.

Posted using Partiko Android

You have uploaded 84 running activities, and 1 of them have been of similar distances (within 10 percent)!
Here are your 5-fastest running activities of a similar distance:

Over these 1 similar activities, you have travelled approximately 38.46 kms at an average pace of roughly 14:19 min/km!
Your latest run was at a pace of approximately 14:19min/km!
Looks like you went a bit slower this time! Remember that it's important to take some rest days, and do some rehab / prehab / strength and conditioning training too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67958.74
ETH 3273.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65