Reverse the polarity!

in #running5 years ago

Screen Shot 2019-02-23 at 13.12.21.png

I'm managing a run every three or four days at the moment. But I'm limited on where to run because the routes I got used to when I started last summer are currently either under water or at best fairly muddy. It's enough that I get out of the door and run 6k at 9 o'clock in the morning without having to scrape off mud from the knees down.

So I've got used to this little route that takes me up and round the University - it's between 6km and 6.5km depending on which way the GPS is blowing. It's good because it has some steady hills to build strength. But it gets a bit boring doing the same thing over and over. I'd heard of this boredom, but I hadn't quite experienced it before, because for quite a while I was still all "wow! I ran for more than ten minutes!".

So today I switched it around and did one of the loops back to front. I think this means more hills. It certainly meant I was a bit slower and the first hills felt nearer and harder than the other way. I'll go back to the previous set up next time to see what I think.

There's a harder way still but that involves running up some steps and I'm not keen on that from a knee point of view. Still, there are always options. And I need to try out the super hill at the back of us. I think I could make it now, which makes August last year me swoon.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Reverse polarity if a cool ulti
...if you know what i mean :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60592.45
ETH 2714.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45