C25K Graduation Day

in #running6 years ago

graduate.jpg

I did it.

On 1 July I went shopping for some shorts and a shirt and a comfy pair of trainers and then a couple of days later went for my first "run" which involved intervals of 1 minute running and 90 seconds walking repeated 10 times. Over the next 25 runs (every other day with a few two-day rest breaks) I first inched up the amount of running vs walking and then stretched the total running time until today I'm running 30 minutes comfortably (ok, the dripping with sweat and desperately wanting to stop kind of comfortably). Today I gave myself an extra push by running with a metronome for the first time - 150 bpm meant I stuck pretty close to 12 minutes per mile, and I didn't die, which gives me hope for a sub-30 minute 5k somewhere in my future.

I'm amazed. I imagined I'd get stuck somewhere in the middle and not be able to move on and then give up disillusioned and ready to spend the winter back on the couch. Instead, I'm loving looking over my stats while my coffee brews and ready to have a go at my first timed 5k on Saturday.

I've become one of those people.

Sort:  

Congratulations on becoming one of those people. Most impressive! 😊

I'm still aspiring to becoming one.

Well done 😎

Nice one Lloyd! Yeah, you're one of those now ;)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Great, so glad you made it. Dying is overrated when it comes to running. No so many die, but also not so many manage to break the routine and actually run. So you will be running at steemfest3 as well ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62121.36
ETH 3004.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71