[MARATHON BLOG 26] Last Long Run Before the Race! Feat. BROTHERS FROM ANOTHER MOTHER.

in #running7 years ago (edited)

Last long run before race.jpg
My pals Kevin and Yoshi, who met me at the half way point of this run, and joined me for a visit to the local super public bath.


Well, the hardest part of training is over. Now it's time to taper down, carbo-load (directly before the race) and make sure all the small details such as clothing tweaks, paperwork, course notes, etc, are all nice and in place before I hit that starting line on October 9th. CAN'T FUCKIN' BELIEVE IT! I'M REALLY DOING THIS!

I will be running in the name of Steem and Freedom. In the name of Steem because this platform has revolutionized my life and the way I approach living in general, and in the name of freedom because freedom is what ultimately means everything to me.

I am not the "type of guy that runs marathons," but now I am. Thanks in large part to all your support, dear readers and commenters, I am feeling highly encouraged and ready to kick ass on race day. For me, this is not about participating in a "sporting event," running a fast time, or even "getting in shape." Sure, all those things are fine and great. But I am doing this because I have to. I am running this race for me. To prove it to myself. And for the spirit of freedom which is ferocious as all hell, and which makes me feel free and determined when I am flying down the road and my feet are pounding the pavement.

FUCK ANYONE WHO WOULD OPPRESS US. WE ARE FREE. LET'S RUN LIKE THE WIND!

See you on race day!


(Thanks for stopping by. If you missed the last installment of MARATHON BLOG, number 25, you can find it HERE. If you want to know why I am keeping this blog, and the inspiration for starting such a record on the blockchain, you can find the first MARATHON BLOG post HERE.)

~KafkA

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

Good wishes to you for your run is dedicated to steem and freedom...you are not running this race for you only..we are also there at the back of you.. thumbs up...you will achieve it..

keep doing your running hardwork always pays off... Good luck !!

To achieve our any goal in life we need some reagent as motivator... It differs from person to person.. "steem"and "freedom"will take away to your destination... Hope for a enjoyable and successful marathon... Thanks for sharing so many precious things necessary to win-up..have a great day dear friend!

YEAH!!! BEAT THE SHIT OUT OF THAT ROAD WITH YOUR FEET!!! NO ONE CAN STOP YOU!!! NO ONE CAN STOP YOU BEING FREE!!! FOR FREEDOM, LOVE AND BLISTERS!!!

BROTHERS FROM ANOTHER MOTHER and fathers too :P lol :P or they will think fishy :P #sorry :D

"Brothers from another father" doesn't rhyme as well ;)

its funny.. LOL

but it can change mind set lol :D i am saying to add them both mother and father coz it would be like father have 3 wifes :D lol

Good luck on your marathon! It’s a lot of hard work. The taper is always the hardest for me...it feels weird after all that training. I know it’s necessary though! Keep running!

Yeah, it is weirding me out a bit. How much do you recommend tapering? Seems like most folks pull back quite a lot!

The last “long run” in the taper the weekend before your marathon is usually around 8miles..the one prior about 12miles Your last REAL long run should be about 3 weeks out.

So to try to be clearer....three weeks before marathon in between 20-26.2 (if you want to cover the distance before you race it) then next week 12-15 then next week 8-10 then the next weekend would be your race. All my distance I’m giving you here is in miles.

This all depends on what your goal is.

wow well done friend, i am following your marathon blog almost from the start and i really love the way you doing your running and spending hours in training, i believe in hard work always pays off and you no doubt works really hard to do well in the marathon, well you also select nice name for this run steem and freedom that's great, i wish for your success my friend, thanks for sharing.

Thank you my friend.

Nice one man! I wish I had the discipline to be consistent at working out like you. Win this race for us, for Steemit! :)

Haha. It's a new thing for me. Will do!

Great job friend, really you are doing a very great job, you have a great spirit, to prove your self. Yes friend hard work have no substitute, wish you good luck.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60675.01
ETH 2605.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64