[MARATHON BLOG 25] I Love Public Bath! (final long run before the big day)

in #music7 years ago (edited)

IMG_4403.JPG


Well, it's just a little over two weeks before the marathon. That means one final long run, and then taper down and mental preparation up to the big day.

Tomorrow's long run plan:


  • Pack backpack with change of clothes for Yuttarien (the "super public bath" my friend and I will be partaking of).

  • Run down the seaside for about 5 or 6 miles and meet my friend Kevin.

  • Run the remaining miles down to a place called Yuttarien, which is a super public bath. ("Super" as in "Super War-Mart," etc. It is a big ass bath house and relaxation space.)

  • Soak up the minerals. Soak up some friendship. Soak up a beer.

  • That's it!


Yuttarien rules. Check out some photos here. One of the best parts for me is sprawling out on the tatami after soaking in the bath, and watching TV with an ice cream or beer.

Speaking of which, you should check out this weird and wonderful song by Japanese pop-punk band Shonen Knife from 1986, titled, appropriately, "Public Bath."



Lyrics:

I go public bath some nights
It is near my house
Mineral, bubble, electric
Baths are
Very good for my body
I like public bath, I like public bath
I like public bath, I like public bath
I like public bath, I like public bath
I like public bath, I like public bath

I'm looking forward to eat
Ice cream
After my bath time

Outside cold wind
Inside hot steam
Singing in bath tub
Water works hot and cool
I'm washing my body

I like public bath, I like public bath
I like public bath, I like public bath
I like public bath, I like public bath
I like public bath, I like public bath

I'm looking forward to eat
Ice cream
After my bath time

~*~

Let's go!

(Thanks for stopping by. If you missed the last installment of MARATHON BLOG, number 24, you can find it HERE. If you want to know why I am keeping this blog, and the inspiration for starting such a record on the blockchain, you can find the first MARATHON BLOG post HERE.)

~KafkA

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

Such a funky tune for a public bath xD Gave the post some real flair, haha.

Upvoted & RESTEEMED :]

May be I have meet a person for first time, who knows well how to enjoy a" bath"..you want to perform each and every task with great mental satisfaction... This may be the key of your success in all life related d activities... What a nice combination..."outside cold wind,... Inside hot steam... "really interesting... Okay good luck to all your future plan.... Good evening friend!

Thanks, for visiting my comment... Have a good day friend!

Good luck on your marathon. Seems like a good way to end your last big run with a little "carbs"

Indeed! Looking forward to "carbo-loading."

its so relaxing to take a bath after some work out.

is there any public bath for both man and woman to be together? just thinking if i will go with my wife not to be separate , or some private hot springs what are for both genders.

There are some, yes, but they are more rare nowadays. There are also private options at some hotels and resorts, I believe.

Cheers..as you are approaching the climax of your marathon and then enjoy the public bath..and a beer ..the song also seems to compliment you..

Wow great job! I think it is wonderful after finishing long run. You are awesome, keep it up, Good luck friend.

Bath with enjoyment....yes its our mind which can make anything interesting....and people like you are inspire us to see anything with wonder and artistic way....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60249.61
ETH 2321.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51