[MARATHON BLOG 13] New kicks, and new thoughts.

in #running7 years ago (edited)

IMG_3690.JPG
I now actually own running shoes. The walking shoes I had been training in are now re-relegated to "walking shoe" status.

I bought these new shoes yesterday. Like the Steem-esque color scheme?


Yesterday I went to Xebio, a popular sporting goods shop here in Japan. On the advice of
a good friend, I went to have my feet analyzed by their machine--called "foot navi"--before committing to a purchase. This was the best thing I could have done. Thank you, @musingsltd!

IMG_3689.JPG
After standing on the sensor and letting one of the staff run the analysis, I was presented with the above printout, showing detailed data about my feet and their size, weight distribution, etc. As I had expected, my feet register as "super wide." I also found out that my left foot is about half a centimeter longer than my right. Interesting.

Anyway, they proceeded to set me up with some great shoes (pictured above). The first pair I tried on were Asics, and they felt great, but were out of my price range. The next pair were these great, "Steem-colored" New Balances. I laced them up and went out for my first run in real running shoes when I got home.

Yesterday's Run:

IMG_3688.JPG


DISTANCE: 4.02 miles
THEME SONG: "U Can't Touch This" - MC Hammer
IMG_3691.JPG


Playlist so far:


"Under the Pressure" - The War on Drugs
"Somewhere" - Soundgarden
"Owner of a Lonely Heart" - Yes
"Rose Garden" - Lynn Anderson
"Napalm Love" - Air
"Lips Like Sugar" - Echo and the Bunnymen
"Truth Hits Everybody" - The Police
"U Can't Touch This" - MC Hammer


IMG_3693.JPG
Haruki Murakami - WHAT I TALK ABOUT WHEN I TALK ABOUT RUNNING.


One foot in front of the other. That's the thought for today, and about all I can manage sometimes!


(If you missed the last MARATHON BLOG post, 12, you can find it HERE. If you want to know why I am keeping this blog please check out this post: "Signing Up for Niigata City Marathon! Running in Name of Steem, Freedom!")

~KafkA

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

steem vibes! you're going to win that thing!

you're also inspiring me to want to get out there too now and break a sweat 💪 lol

Haha! Thanks! Winning would be epic! My goal is just to finish before they tear down the finish line lol.

wonderfull for ur new shoes and i think really in running the shoes are very importance the cool stuff and minimum weight is increase the progress and no one make a good running without an good pair of jogers and also ur in steem esque color scheme are good @kafkanarchy sir

Good luck with all the running. Love the shoes and the enthusiasm. :)

Nice shoes i ran a marathon with a new balace and the performace was good. I think that the New Balance and the Adidas are the best shoes to run.

Nice new shoes. I never know so much about running but why did you test about weight distribution? How does it help you?

You've got a gift for this.

Wow! Very systematic everything, this is the sigh of most developed country's citizens. The shoes looks very pretty, Good luck for the race. You know friend, from yesterday I also taking some exercise, thanks for sharing such an inspirational post. I want to invite you to my blog and show you how much you greatyfied me, please have a look .By the way I like your choice of songs, specialy 'owner of the lonely heart'. Have a great day friend.

Cool shoes. I missed you were training for an actual marathon. Is it your first? I've done three. The exhilerating feeling after you finish is like nothing else!

Dude 4 miles is pretty great! Keep pushing man, mind over body!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63114.90
ETH 2626.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72