Appalachian Trail Running

in #running6 years ago

20180218_222713.jpg
Yesterday, I had the urge to do some trail running. I noticed all the snow had melted and it was feeling nice outside. So up to the Appalachian trail we went. I live pretty close (15 minutes or so) from an entrance to the trail so it wasn't like I had far to drive. It was 46 degrees and under the canopy of the trees some snow still remained.
20180218_222327.jpg
20180218_222410.jpg
This trail is always challenging and very technical, most of it anyway. The trail was pretty muddy and slippery. I actually hadn't been out to this trail since last fall because I was concerned about ice. No ice yesterday, just slush. I usually run 4 miles when I go and that's what I did yesterday is 4 miles. Unfortunately, my GPS was acting weird so I can't show you that info but did want to share some pictures with you. The trail is littered with ankle twisting rocks and logs.
20180218_222439.jpg
20180218_222540.jpg
Much of it is all uphill (I mean up- mountain) as well. Last year I was able to do this in the 10 min/ mile range yesterday was 11-12min/ mile. I can tell I haven't been on that terrain in a while. Oh well, I'll get it back. I was more interested in enjoying myself yesterday anyway. As you start out on this trail you get to cross this bridge that goes right over the busy interstate.
20180218_222229.jpg
Also of note, yesterday was a low risk of fire!
20180218_222754.jpg
Good to know Smoky the bear still has my back. Today I'm a little stiff. These pics don't do the hills on this trail justice but believe me, it's hilly!
That will about wrap this up. Thanks for visiting my post & hope your Monday has went well.
chelsea88_red.png

Sort:  

NICE VIEW ... EXCELLENT SUMMARY OF YOUR TRAINING...

Looks like a cool place to run. It's hard to run trails with all the exposed roots and craggy rocks. One little lapse in concentration and, whoops .... Stay upright!!!

Absolutely! You have to be super careful and take your time

what a great trail fort a run

It really is :)

I dont run anymore but I do love walking on trails like that

Super great for walking or hiking

I enjoy a couple of walks here but that is even better

Now she runs up mountains! I see so many difficulties on those trails. Nothing worse than stepping down on a wet tree root or loose rock and almost falling or twisting an ankle. Glad you were able to enjoy nature and have a challenge at the same time.

Yeah you really have to be careful on those trails. It's a whole new Set of challenges that's for sure :)

Run often. Run long. But never outrun your joy of running.
-Julie Isphording

Resteemed by @runningproject

Kind reminder:

Remember to vote your Running Author of the week!

Absolutely beautiful. I hope to explore parts of the AT someday.

Thanx. I've been on a few sections of it. It goes from Georgia to Maine and I used to live in Georgia so I've been on those sections and a couple sections up here in Maryland. You know there are some brave souls out there who've ran the entire length of the trail. I think the record was/ is just under 3 months

thats really cool you must have had a lot of fun

It was fun and challenging:)

Beautiful photos! The trails look so calming and peaceful. We have a similar place here called Fish Creek and lots of trails to take. I love it but right now the snow is being stubborn and refusing to melt!! haha, I am super jealous but thank you for sharing.

Ha, I didn't think anyone would be jealous. ;)
Hope you can get out and about (on the trails) soon!

I love the second pic with the sun peeking through the trees!

Thanks I'm fond of that one myself :)

Terrific post@chelsea88!! Love the shots you got and quite a bit of greenery too...beautiful!!

Yeah I was thinking the greenery was quite pleasant as well

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31