Running Adventures Ep 24 - Week Recap and testing the new shoes on winter trails!

in #running7 years ago (edited)

My first run of the week was on Thursday and it continued the "meh" theme from last week. Fortunately I managed to find a better groove after the weather was kind enough to bestow upon us some nice fluffy snow.

run backgroundmnnn.jpg

Before Thursday's run I ate something lite and even stretched for a bit, something which I usually don't do because I'm lazy I guess :P. I'll have to do some research on stretching before running at some point in the future, because there seems to be people that are against it.

11111111.png
2222222.png

Anyway, even though I properly prepared, I still felt pretty crappy and didn't get comfortable until maybe the end of the run. I felt that my joints were soar ( no idea why) and that I lacked my usual energy.

Maybe running in circles in the park like a hamster is simply not my cup of tea :P


The second run of the week was much more of a success even if the speed was kind of lacking, the scenery made up for it and really got me in a good mood.

I woke up Sunday morning and saw quite a bit of snow outside and said to myself that the forest trails must be nice and fluffy without any of that nasty mud. This made it perfect to try out my new trail running shoes which you can check out here if you're curious. I will do a review about them after I'll get a better sense about how they perform, but the first impressions are very nice.

Because I was pumped about running in the snow again I was determined to go big or go home.

3333333.png
44444444.png

I think this is one of the longest training runs that I've recorded on strava so far and it was a heck of lot more fun than "hamstering" in the park :).

IMG_20180218_125158.jpg

IMG_20180218_130035.jpg

The forest was wearing her best white dress and she looked awesome. I almost lost hope of enjoying such a nice winter scenery this season.

IMG_20180218_130318.jpg

IMG_20180218_130323.jpg

My new shoes definitely performed well and kept moisture out thanks to the gore-tex membrane.

IMG_20180218_125209.jpg

The grippy outsole with those giant lugs made me feel something like this:

77.jpg
source

I had to stop a lot and take pictures because I found the whole scenery amazing and wanted to share it.

IMG_20180218_130820.jpg
Bilașcu spring, a nice source of clean water for thirsty trail runners and hikers

IMG_20180218_131532.jpg

IMG_20180218_131617.jpg

IMG_20180218_131753.jpg

IMG_20180218_131823.jpg

That's about it for this week's running adventures, I hope you liked how the forest trails around Cluj look when winter does its job properly and it snows :)

Take care and stay active.

imageedit_1_4312027681 - Copy.png

My name is Adrian a.k.a "The nearsighted traveler". I'm a running enthusiast who loves to spend time enjoying nature. I write mostly about running, the places I explore and the interesting stuff I learn here on steemit.
If you are new to this platform you might want to check out these posts:

5 Easy Rules for Navigating The Steem Ecosystem
The 6th Easy Rule for Navigating the Steem Ecosystem

And if you want a good laugh you can visit my other account @cmmemes where I fail at being funny but persevere anyway :)

Sort:  

Awesome running in that snow! It looks so beautiful.

When it comes to stretching, people do have different opinions but UK Athletics recommends leaving the traditional "static" stretches (where you hold a stretch for 10-30 seconds) until after your run.

You can do "dynamic" stretches (things like walking lunges, high knees) to increase mobility as part of a warm up depending on your planned session. I only do this when I'm going to do a hard interval session or a race.

Hope that helps?

That helps a lot, thank you :) Dynamic stretches while running in town I think are not an option because it would look pretty ridiculous, and by the time I'm on the trails I'm already warmed up :)

You're welcome. I must admit I prefer to find a quiet spot to do drills when not at a track as it does look a little strange!

Ma bucur ca faci sport si te mentii in forma. Te admir pt perseverenta ta.

Poate iti fac pofta sa mergi la alergat :))

Da, vreau sa alerg, dar sa se mai incalzeasca vremea ;)

dupa aceea trebuie sa astepti sa nu mai ploua, dupa aceea sa treaca canicula :P ( sunt un pic evil dar asta-i stilul meu nu e cu rea intentie :) )

Oh, da, sa stii ca ai dreptate :))

Looks like a fine run! For joints try to eat more pineapple. It really helps.

Thank you for the tip, I really appreciate it :) Too bad that the tinned version has a lot of sugar and fresh pineapple is not always easy to come by.

Try to find tinned without sugar - not all of thinned have sugar in it. Good luck!

Felicitari!!! este perseverent, nu gluma! :))

Pai am zis "go big or go home" :D. Mersi de incurajari :) alergatul pe zapada e prea fain ca sa ratez poate ultima alergare de genu din sezonul asta.

Is very difficult running through snow, You get tired , it need an extra effort to run in such condition. Beautyful Views in the woods with the snow

Nu-i asa de greu de alergat prin zapada daca ai papuci impermeabili si paranoroaie pe glezne ca sa nu intre zapada, si haine adecvate bineinteles. Daca zapada devine foarte adanca atunci e altceva dar nu a fost cazul :)

Ești rezistent oricum ești foarte ambițios

De fapt sunt lenes si delasator dar ma bucur ca din exterior nu se prea vede :))))

Run often. Run long. But never outrun your joy of running.
-Julie Isphording

Resteemed by @runningproject

Kind reminder:

Remember to vote your Running Author of the week!

Wow, the snow during the winter gives the forest a new look which makes it more beautiful and pleasant to the eyes

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=calatorulmiop
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=running-adventures-ep-23-week-recap-and-testing-the-new-shoes-on-winter-trails


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63615.94
ETH 2475.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54