A little pyramid #RunForSteem

in #runforsteem6 years ago (edited)

I'm preparing for my first track meet of the year and my first ever 800m and 1500m races so I've been doing more speedwork.

I squeezed a session in before work on Tuesday and built a pyramid!

Screenshot_20180321-191827.jpg

Screenshot_20180321-191818.png

A 1km warmup was followed by efforts of 200m, 400m, 600m and 800m all separated with 200m active recovery followed by 400m of active recovery and then 600m, 400m and 200m efforts, again with 200m active recovery in between.

As well as working on form I'm trying to be conscious of a desire to ease off and instead try to push for another gear.

Tough but really rewarding. Looking forward to setting my benchmark over two new distances in one day on Sunday.

Check out my run on Strava: https://www.strava.com/activities/1461989442/

Check out the #RunForSteem challenge and get rewarded for running:
https://steemit.com/runforsteem/@jumowa/weekly-run-for-steem-challenge-mar-20th-mar-27th-and-payout-for-last-week

And follow the @runningproject too!

Sort:  

haven't done a pyramid workout in a while. They are tough, but a nice change of scheme sometimes if you don't normally add them in!

Always good to mix it up.

Get out there, tie your shoelaces and run!
()
Resteemed by @runningproject

Kind reminder:

Choose your Running Author of the Week 8!

That's the kind of workouts I enjoy most!

I'm enjoying pushing hard!

Wait to see my next running post!

The 800 is mean! Even when I was fit and ripped, it was always a run I wasnt fit enough for

Please add Run For Steem in the title

And there's me thinking I'd remembered everything!

Thanks for the nudge; corrected now!

I might find that out on Sunday!! I've loved the Mile so thought I should at least give the 800 a go. We'll see!

As well as working on form I'm trying to be conscious of a desire to ease off and instead try to push for another gear.

... and isn't it surprising when you find that there is another gear and you can engage it?

Surprised the hell out of me in my last run, I can tell you ;-)

Good luck with the races. I hope all the training works well and you put in a performance you are happy with.

Thanks. It's a great feeling when you can override the brain's attempt to hold you back. Training the mind is just as important as training the body.

Nice!
I might try pyramide once, I am curious. But in my case it would go 100, 200,300, and maybe, just maybe 400m. Even 300m seems difficult to me if the recovery between is shorter then parts with high effort

Absolutely! The beauty is you can build the pyramid however you want/need, depending on what you're training for.

I've been preparing for my first 800m race so was pushing it!

I'll try pyramide on Wednesday. :)
When is your race?

Yesterday - first ever 800m and first ever 1500m races in the same day! Keep an eye out for a blog post about it. ;-)

Nice work been a minute since i did a workout like that

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57419.72
ETH 2441.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41