🏃 Andover Parkrun [11th, 21:47 New PB] | 176 days until my first Marathon! | #runforsteem

in #runforsteem6 years ago (edited)

Earn STEEM and SBD for running at #runforsteem


Here's my weekly entry with a 21:46 5km-effort at Andover Parkrun that I ran this morning. I went on a Uni Sports Tour to Croatia last week, and if any of you are accustomed to those it did involve a large amount of drinking and I've definitely taken a hit from it. It will probably be another week or two of normal running until I regain the fitness level that I had before I went, which is a little bit disappointing but nothing that I didn't sign up for. I ran the fastest 5km time that I have logged so far at an average pace of 4:18/km (although I definitely have run faster, they've been with pauses around a City/Village route riddled with disruptions). Official time from Parkrun was 21:47, but I definitely finished with a time of around 21:44/45 but a few seconds doesn't annoy me too much.



I started off quite fast as I really wanted to set a new PB and a time of around 21:45, and I wanted to make sure that none of the slower runners/walkers blocked me at the start (which happened at my last Parkrun and probably lost me 10 seconds or so). The first split I ran in 3:56/km and the second in 4:06/km, and about the halfway stage I think I was in around 5th or 6th (which I knew I couldn't keep up, so I didn't try to stick to the heels of anyone who passed me and ran my own race). The second half of the Parkrun was absolute torture for me, I just had nothing left to give and even keeping to a pace of 4:30/km was a massive effort; my Heart Rate even nudged into the 200s in the last km, so I know I really put my body through its paces today.

Definitely didn't help that it was still really quite muddy and running whilst absolutely knackered on slippy mud isn't fun at all. In perfect conditions, I can expect a time (probably) of about a minute quicker with the same level of effort, I probably need to upgrade my shoes as well to something a bit lighter. I can see myself being able to run sub-20:00 5kms in the Summer if I keep running at the same rate I am, and the conditions get better.


Check out my Strava here;
https://www.strava.com/activities/1507218152


Follow me for Running Updates & More!

Sort:  

Enrolled as an ‘’Approved’’ Runner.
@runningproject quote

Dear @harryp3 with this post you have been qualified to be an “Approved” Runner of @runningproject.
Now is your turn, transfer 1SBD or 1 STEEM as “Enrollment” Fee to @runningproject in order to enter in our “curation” list.

Resteemed by @runningproject

This post has received a 50.83% upvote from thanks to: @harryp3.
For more information, click here!!!!

Try the new Minnowhelper Bots for more information here

Do you know, you can also earn passive income after every bidding round simply by delegating your Steem Power to @minnowhelper?
you can delegate by clicking following links: 10 SP, 100 SP, 500 SP, 1000 SP or Another amount

Help support @minnowhelper and the bot tracker by voting for @yabapmatt for Steem witness! To vote, click the button below or go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and find @yabapmatt in the list and click the upvote icon. Thank you.

Voting for @yabapmatt

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Keep on running, marathoner!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63001.43
ETH 3365.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45