1st Entry on "Rock Paper Scissors - LOGO CONTEST!" ChallengesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #rps-logo7 years ago

Hello Steemians


This is my 1st Entry on the "Rock Paper Scissors - LOGO CONTEST!" Challenge by @peerplays.

The link to the contest is shown below:


https://steemit.com/peerplays/@peerplays/rock-paper-scissors-logo-contest


I have recently tried creating a logo for @surfermarly's contest, and thought that I should also attempt another logo design contest. Designing a logo requires me to learn about using other types of drawing software and I believe it gives me the opportunity to improve as an artist.

If you are interested in my entry for @surfermarly's logo design contest, the link is below:


https://steemit.com/art/@apprentice001/first-experiment-on-design-a-logo-for-surfermarly-s-blog-challenge


And this here is my attempt for the "Rock Paper Scissors - LOGO CONTEST!" Challenge by @peerplays. Hope it came out okay.


RPS LOGO



And here are some variations of the logo






Here is an animated gif of the drawing process



Animated Gif



DESCRIPTION

The main rule of the contest is "Be Original!".

My logo design first uses the letters "R", "P" and "S" to represent "Rock", "Paper" and "Scissors".

Then I tried to make the character's hand into an element which is similar to what they represent.
For example,
"Paper"'s hand looks like paper, and "Rock"'s hand is in the shape of a fist and looks like a rock and "Scissors" simply has a pair of scissors.

In addition, I tried to give the characters some emotions when faced with their strengths and weakness.

Each character sort of have their own territory, and only their weakness can infiltrate their territory as shown by the color.

The Question Mark in the middle just represents that no matter what the opponent has chosen to use in the previous rounds, there is always that element of uncertainty as to the next round.


Below are some drawings used in the initial thought process






I began with some initial rough sketches of what the logo would look like and trying out different ideas


Once I had these rough ideas in place, I began the sketch of the logo design in pencil...

See below the progress of the drawing:






The initial pencil sketch is almost complete and this is where I start editing the drawing using "GIMP"




The first step is to outline the shape of the logo so that it is easier to incorporate the colors



Then the color in process occurs which was a bit challenging for me as I was unfamiliar as to how to use "GIMP", but starting to learn how to use it.


The following is quite a detailed process of how I colored in the logo, as it took me quite a long time to get use to using the software.




In order to color in properly, I had to make sure that the entire area that I want to color in is of the same color so that it would be easier to select that particular area. Hence, I had to first make the areas white, and then color it in, as I wanted to show the contrasting of color moving from one area to another.












And this it:


Hope it came out okay.
I have started to learn how to use the "GIMP" software.
The designing process is fun and exciting and I look forward to the next opportunity.



If you like this post, please upvote, resteem, follow and comment.

Thanks for your time and have a great day!



Sort:  

Nice ..Keep it up.👍

Thanks @saan! Have a great day!

Welcome👍

hi friend!!! i already vote and reesteem your post.

Thanks @helalsir for your support! Appreciate it! Have a great day!

Nice. And I really liked that you showed the whole process! Thanks.
It looks like you didn't use layers at all ? Am I right?

Thanks @eternalsunshine for your kind words! Glad that you like the process. I am not too familiar with layers yet as I only started using GIMP recently, so yes, I didn't use layers. Will it bring out a better effect? I will research more about how to use layers going forward. Thanks and have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54290.46
ETH 2276.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31