First Experiment on "Design a Logo for @surfermarly's Blog" ChallengesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

Hello Steemians


This is my first experiment on the "Create A Logo For @surfermarly's Blog" Challenge by @surfermarly.

The link to the contest is shown below:


https://steemit.com/creativity/@surfermarly/calling-for-graphic-designers-on-steemit-who-wants-to-create-a-logo-for-surfermarly-s-blog-design-contest-rewarded-with-250-sbd


Thank you @surfermarly for creating this challenge. I was really interested in the challenge as I have not created a logo before on Steemit.
I would not call myself a graphic designer as all I know is drawing with a pencil and color pencil and perhaps some elementary editing of images.
Hence, I thought this Logo Design challenge will give me the opportunity to learn about some more advanced drawing software and also allow myself to improve as an artist.

Below is my attempt. Hope it came out okay.


SURFERMARLY LOGO



And here are some variations of the logo




Here is an animated gif of the drawing process



DESCRIPTION

@surfermarly has provided some guidelines for the logo design, and in my design I have tried to incorporate the ocean, the beach, sun and surfboards in the logo.

I have tried to incorporate as many surfboards in the logo as I can,
and you will see that I have attempted to use the shape of surfboards to make up the letters.

In addition, I incorporated whales to the logo, just thought it may fit with the theme of ocean and also of Steemit.

There are 2 more surfboards on the outer circle and they contain symbols which looks like the "Upvote" icon on Steemit.

The outer layer may require some more polishing, but I left it as it is as it sort of resembles the flow of water.

In the middle is @surfermarly riding a wave, whilst the sun sets in the background.

@surfermarly has in her guideline #3:

Bear in mind that the logo will be the basis for a further logo animation I need for my videos. So think about having a version with a transparent background that might be used in my vlogs.

The logo can be thought as 3 layers, the center, the 2nd layer where there whales are swimming and the third layer where the words are.

Then, in order to meet guideline 3, the center can be made transparent or the 2nd layer can be made transparent.


Below are some Close-Ups of the drawing:



The top of the logo


The center of the logo


The bottom of the logo


Below are some drawings used in the initial thought process




I began with some initial rough sketches of what the logo would look like based on the guidelines





Some more sketches just to try out different ideas


Once I had these rough ideas in place, I began the sketch of the logo design in pencil...

See below the progress of the drawing:



As the Guidelines state that the logo should reflect the "World of surfing", I try to incorporate the ocean, and when I think of ocean and Steemit, I think of whales.



The logo needed to include the word "surfermarly", hence I tried to incorporate it in the outer layer



The initial pencil sketch is almost complete and this is where I start editing the drawing using "GIMP"



The first step is to incorporate the sketch of @surfermarly surfing into the logo



Then the color in process occurs which was a bit challenging for me as I was unfamiliar as to how to use "GIMP"


The following is quite a detailed process of how I colored in the logo, as it took me quite a long time to get use to using the software.




















And this it:


Hope it came out okay.
I have started to learn how to use the "GIMP" software.
The designing process is fun and exciting and I look forward to the next opportunity.



If you like this post, please upvote, resteem, follow and comment.

Thanks for your time and have a great day!



Sort:  

I'm speechless - and that doesn't happen very often. Haha!

WOW. You're an amazing artist. This is really outstanding!
Thank you!!! Resteemed and promoted on Facebook :-)

Thank you very much @surfermarly for your kind words! Really glad that you like it. I also appreciate your resteem of this post. I enjoyed the design process of this logo, and learnt a lot and look forward to your future posts. Have an awesome day!

You, too!!! Hoping that the post will get much more attention which would be really deserved :-)

surfermarly is a great :)

Thanks @hassanabid for your support!

Indeed brillant artists Proof, upvoted and resteeming

Thanks @musicgeek for you kind words and support! Have a great day!

Wow... that's a beautiful design-- from concept to layout to finished design. It's got Steemit elements and Marly's elements... and it has the "bright and bold" thing going that makes it ideal for everything from window stickers to T-shirts.

Awesome job!

Thank you very much @denmarkguy for your support! I am glad that you like the design. Have a great day!

That is a great design. Wish you the best on this competition. I really like everything you incorporated and it's also cool to see your creative process. Thanks so much for sharing this, and in such great detail!

Let me also say, if I didn't already get my logo done, I would totally try to get you to make mine for me as this is amazing. Glad to see the challenger liked it.

Thanks @topkpop for your kind words and support! I am happy that you found the design process interesting. Was wondering that I perhaps included too much information. I am also glad that @ @surfermarly likes it. It means a lot to me. Have a great day!

This really is an amazing design @apprentice001 and what an excellent post mate. I wish you all the best of luck in the contest my friend! Though I haven't seen too many of the other entries I would say they would have to go a very long way to beat this one! :)

Well done mate! You are a brilliant artist! Not sure if you've done one yet but you should maybe put together a post of your best work so far on steemit. That would be an excellent post too! Or what @steempowerpics does with his week in review type post with all of his works from that week. Your work definitely deserves to be seen by a bigger audience! :)

Thanks you very much @tonyr for your kind words and support! There were several amazing entries in the contest. Even though I did not win in the end, I was glad that I participated in the logo design as I learnt a lot.

Great suggestion! I haven't created a post yet showing my favorite art works, but will definitely create such a post. If I do create artworks on a more frequent basis I will consider creating a post showing my art works for the week. Have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54260.52
ETH 2284.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30