Wooden churches of Romania - Doing some homework for more upcoming projects

in #romania6 years ago (edited)

After some recent bike trips in the countryside near where I live, I discovered that it is dotted with quite a few old wooden churches, and because I love history in general, I kind of took to heart the idea of learning as much as I can about these churches and all their discreet symbolism.

Wooden churches in Romania are most of what is left of a wonderfully complex woodworking craft which was very common in the rural areas until the 20th century and also had a lot of local variation and cultural significance.

Because most of the wooden houses have disappeared or are in museums, the wooden churches are almost the last evidence of that woodworking culture that are still in use.

So, in order to better understand what all the murals and wood carving means, I started to search for books and other sources that can get me up to speed.

1280px-RO_MM_Budesti_Josani_21.jpg
Biserica_de_lemn_din_Budesti_Josani_(8).JPG
source
Examples of mural art and carvings found in wooden churches

So far I've found these two books, the larger one is written both in romanian and english.

IMG_20180407_203004.jpg

After I will get my history geek on and study as much as I can, the plan is to do several day long bike trips and visit them by region, for example, visit most of the wooden churches in Salaj county. And although it sounds easy enough, most of these churches are not open during the weekdays, so it will definitely require some logistical magic :)

In an upcoming post I will discuss the basic architecture and design of these wooden churches.

But in the meantime, here are some documentaries you can watch if you want to learn more:

The first video is free to watch and the second is a trailer for the full documentary, both have english subtitles. You can watch the full version of the second documentary here https://vimeo.com/ondemand/romanianwoodenchurches/192606235?autoplay=1 for a few dollars. I have bought the DVD version myself and I was very impressed how well it is filmed and how well the music gets you in the mood.

I hope I have sparked your interest for this topic. Until next time :)

imageedit_1_4312027681 - Copy.png

My name is Adrian a.k.a "The nearsighted traveler". I'm a running enthusiast who loves to spend time enjoying nature. I write mostly about running, the places I explore and the interesting stuff I learn here on steemit.
If you are new to this platform you might want to check out these posts:

5 Easy Rules for Navigating The Steem Ecosystem
The 6th Easy Rule for Navigating the Steem Ecosystem

And if you want a good laugh you can visit my other account @cmmemes where I fail at being funny but persevere anyway :)

Sort:  

wow, that's rad. I would love to see some of that in person. It's amazing how long the wood lasts. They don't tell the secret in the trailer

They have to convince you to buy their documentary somehow :P

Upvote and reply to this comment if you want me to upvote and resteem your last blog post to my 32,500+ followers. Then whenever you want me to upvote and resteem another blog post go to my Comments and upvote and reply to my last comment. @a-0-0

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00