A freewrite on the road to SteemFest3

in #roadtosteemfest6 years ago

Ready? Go.

 
Okay, so I am not yet 100% sure (90% at this point) whether I am going to make it to Steemfest 3 but, I am going to join in the freewrite challenge organised by @anomadsoul until I know for certain in the hope that even if I am not able to go, others may get inspired and join in the festivities. @roelandp is organising again and if from what I heard from SF2 is an indicator, it is well worth the trip for those that can afford to head on over to Krakow in Poland.

For me personally, the major challenge besides the financial side (ticket price is still uncertain) is my baby daughter. Due to her particular food allergies, it means she is not able to travel at the moment and that means, leaving them home. This is a big step for us if I do decide to go ahead and attend. I would love to go though which means, @momone will have to love me enough to let me go. As they say though,

"If you love somebody, send them to SteemFest3"

so, I am in with a good chance.

My main reason for attending is to see the who will bomb in the standup but other than that, I have made quite a few friends on Steem who are likely attendees and it would be great to put faces to their ridiculous account names. Of course, I am also interested in finding out more about the coming changes and have a feeling that SMTs/Communities are going to play a very heavy role in what is on offer. Yes, that is the same as last year but we are getting very close to release and perhaps the timing would be perfect.

There is another reason too which is more personal for me and that is that since January 2017, I have put a massive amount of time and energy into my Steem Journey and have done very little else other than work, family duties and many hospital visits. I think that getting out there and actually meeting more of the Steem community face to face will be a healthy step forward for me personally and help me become more connected with the community, which has been my goal for the last year at least.

It is going to depend on a lot of things at this point but I am relatively confident that I can pull it together if I do the work and no more major surprises arrive on our doorstep. Poland isn't that far away from Finland and no one knows where SF4 will be. Australia would work well perhaps @roelandp ;)

In a few weeks ticket prices will be released and we will know more again about the possibility but for now, count me in.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Here is the link again to @anomadsoul's post, please read the rules.

Sort:  

A good opener for the tag and your #roadtosteemfest

I may need to open my effort in much the same way, 90% sounds about right :)

My main reason for attending is to see the who will bomb in the stand-up

Your hat going in the ring for this? :P

I may need to open my effort in much the same way, 90% sounds about right :)

Would be great to get to meet people and gather some familiars for a quiet drink

Your hat going in the ring for this? :P

I said bomb. That is not my style :P

Beer sounds good :)

It wasn't the style of the last guy either!

Would be great to get to meet people and gather some familiars for a quiet drink

Quiet and Drink seldom go together. Because Drink always becomes plural (that sneaky little bugger), and the more that Drink pairs with Drink and Drink and Drink.. well, Quiet pulls an Irish Goodbye [or maybe a French Exit?] and you're left with his friend Loud Chatter :)

With that said, it still sounds like a good idea haha

I am not much of a drinker these days so would have to be careful. A glass and a half, and I am anybody's.

I suggest that you stick to coffee / tea :)

I’ll look after bubs for you mate. I’d be pleased to do so and it would do her good to have some strong Aussie influences around again.

“It’s all good mate!”

I believe I could watch her so you might both attend... but none of us have the required cash... if only!

I would love to be able to take @smallsteps so she could win the hearts and minds ;)

holy shit, time flies... I swear, last time I blinked, Steemfest 2.0 hadn't even happened yet, and I wasn't even aware of the third!

see you there then ;)

Ow it would be so awesome to meet you finally, Taraz! :D I was in luck and tickets to Warsaw (close enough) were super-cheap when they announced Steemfest :D So I knew not to hesitate!
Anyway, hope to see you there, my friend ;)

Looking forward to it. Are you old enough to join us for a beer? :P

I have just Googled Poland's drinking age and as it turns out yes, I am :P
I am sure I can drink you under the table, or at least drink myself under the table.
Still, I can drink someone under the table, and that is no small feat. :D

My days of going anywhere near the table are long gone but, I can be your moral support as I am sure there will be a lot of competition :)

Well, thank you, I appreciate it :D But are you old enough to lead someone else into immoral behavior? :P

into immoral? yes. Out of.... ?? :D

who said anything about getting out? :D I want to get a good feel of the place before I bid it goodbye ;)

God this will be a pity that I will not be able to attend is very far from where I live but I would love at some point if it repeats again maybe they should also do it in Latin America

and it would be great to put faces to their ridiculous account names.

Should I bring my axe so you can recognise me? Without it I may be hard to miss.. just saying..

BiggerManiac.JPG

You didn't come to mind because your name matches your face :P

It's a 90% for me too! It's not that far for me either (The Netherlands), the chance of connecting real faces to the digital identities is just such an amazing opportunity, and it's a good enough excuse for me to see a bit of Poland where I for some reason never went to before.

I've done my freewrite yesterday and was surprized how well that worked for me, so I'm happy to do a few more until November - I've already met a few people on Steemit I wouldn't have met before.

Good luck on your preparations and we'll probably meet in November!

Man I just did my freewrite and forgot to add the link to the original post by @anomadsoul............ not sure if edit is allowed for not.

In 2016 I traveled from Warsaw to Helsinki and back. Took more than an hour on the flight and a couple of hours for to-and-from airports. I think I reached home in exactly four hours from when I left the apartment at Helsinki.

Then there is the fact that Poland is a super cheap place to stay. I think, if you take the risk, then it might not be as much trouble as it sounds

No edits!! :D

I think the trip there is not too big of a problem, it is more the family circumstances that will dictate.

Hi Taraz. Not this year. Hopefully I will be in a better position next year.

Hopefully getting to meet more people face to face could get you support from some of the larger accounts. You're one of the most prolific writers on Steemit. You put a lot of time and effort into your frequent posts. Hopefully you could get a little more exposure there.

... also, seeing the standup could be really funny as well.

It would be great just to get to meet people face to face and get to know a few of them in a real setting. It tells a lot about people when you see the differences between online and real world positions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57339.41
ETH 2522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31