Road to Steemfest: Breaking the Ice (+ramblings from Krakow)

in #roadtosteemfest5 years ago (edited)

Oh boy, here we are: the final week before Steemfest, and now we're really getting to the meat and bones by breaking through the shallow ice of our surfaces. I like it. When we strip down pre-emptively, there's nothing to be afraid anymore.

Oh, I forgot to mention yesterday due to being so tired.

I'm already in Krakow!

in a hostel in a 10 people bedroom with a couple shamelessly kissing each other

_20181104_101629.JPG
Blame @anomadsoul for giving you my grumpy face as a thumbnail.

Though I'm not getting crazy here or anything, in fact, I'm planning to do the opposite and gather as much strength as possible.

So, my plan for today is to play, what I would call, "a game of Finn". You might already know what kind of game that would be, but let me clear the rules just in case: you avoid social situations, and eye contact, because eye contact is the number one reason to accidentally get into a conversation so it should be avoided. Luckily I have natural talent for this, being a Finn myself (hence the name of the game).

But don't worry, I have a clear rational for my actions. (I'm pretty sure I have said that exact thing not long ago. Right, the skateboard and the dried fruit. Rational indeed.) I'm depriving myself from social situations, simply because time spent alone also increases my appetite for interaction.

So don't worry, I will not act asocial when I meet you, at least I will do my best, I promise!

Talking about appetite, the other part of the "recharging batteries" plan is to eat well today. That might disturb the first part of the plan, because I do have to get some groceries. Luckily the cashiers here don't always even say "hi" (or "cześć").

Talking of food and language, in the case that we will go eat to a restaurant, I've been learning some essentials, like jestem głodny, "I'm hungry" and jem dużo, "I eat a lot", so that I will get an appropriate dish.

Anyway, I've been rambling way too long by now, let's get into the topic.

1.- Tell us your most embarrasing moment in life.

This must be the time when I got a panic attack at school on eighth grade. It was one of those situations in school where you have to keep a presentation of topic x in front of the class. Well, at some point I just froze forgetting everything I was supposed to say. My anxiety went through the roof whilst I'm thinking how stupid and awkward and gringe-worthy I'm looking. Somehow, though, I still managed to make it through, but after the presentation I was in extreme stress mode, barely holding it together. But when I was sitting in the diner (luckily it wasn't lunch time) one obnoxious girl came asking what went into me during the presentation. I was still in panic and shaking, and that moment was the last bullet: I started crying uncontrollably. The last supporting pillar keeping up the facade was kicked down following with a complete breakdown in the middle of the school.
One teacher eventually saw this and took me away from the diner to get to the curator. When she asked what happened, I couldn't even answer because I was still crying hysterically.

This whole thing was witnessed by my friend who's a bro and realized what happened to me and played it cool. Even a good friend of mine from primary school came comforting me, even though we had been distanced from each other since, kudos to him. The girl, though, fleed right away, luckily. Probably realized that it was a question that would've been best left unasked.

2.- If you were stranded in a deserted island with 3 Steem Fest attendees, who would they be and why?

I'll have to go with @tarazkp, because in the case we would be about to die due to starvation, at least the last moments would be spent well, because he can always come up with something interesting to say.

I must say that @honeydue, would be my second choice, simply because we get along pretty well. I've even managed to get her attracted to the poetic nature of Finnish profanity. Maybe that's my real motive for bringing @tarazkp, to get him Finnished for good with the help of @honeydue after I've converted her ;)

Olisi se jo korkea aika hallita suomi 15:n vuoden jälkeen, Taraz!

For the third guy I must say @anomadsoul. This is for the reason that, depending on the size of the island, I'm anticipating of eventually getting anxious to get the hell out of there, and I can't imagine a better person who'd start feeling the same way than Eric who'd probably be down with the plan of building a raft with me :D

3.- As thumbnail of your post, make a funny face.

Gave you the picture already, now you can meme me.

4.- If you had one superpower (any superpower), what would it be, why, and how would you use it during Steem Fest?

It would probably be the ability of being completely unaffected by the lack of sleep. In other words, my brain would have the ability to repair itself while awake, because that's the function of sleeping (at least one of them).

This way I could maximize the time spent with the people during the Steemfest without the cost of quality that inadequate sleep might cause.

5.- If you had to pick one Steemian for a summer fling story, who would it be?

Oh, so a love story, eh? I'm a hopeless romantic idealist whose imagination starts running wild way too easy, so I have to tame those thoughts to not create expectations to get disappointed from the reality. And that reality is, that throughout my whole life I've managed to avoid relationships and romances. Yeah, I know, I'm still young and so forth...

I might be taking myself too seriously here, but I can't give any name here, sorry.

Edit.

FUCK IT! I'm just gonna go ahead and say @honeydue. Yes, she was already featured in the island, but hey, what can you do; We're both young, we're both beautiful, and more importantly, we're both Steemians who hate people and have weirdly surprisingly similar views on certain things. Is there a better premise than that for a summer fling?

Ok, now I definitely need that shot of tequila.

And your fat vote @anomadsoul!

I know I "cheated" a little by adding it as an edit, but I'm sure in the next RTSF compilation you can name all the people who nominated their Steemcrush so that we will all know each other's crushes and tease about them.


That is it! Now I'm just anxiously waiting for you guys to arrive here!


Meet me at SteemFest 2018 in Kraków

Sort:  

Wish I was there in Steemfest. Love the pic. And the hair is cool as hell :) Thanks for the post :)

That's actually a rather bad angle cause it doesn't show the Mohawk in all its glory, but had to compromise to put my grumpy face for the show 😄

Don't worry, I make the same face when a couple is shamelessly kissing in my vicinity :)))
That's one damn good superpower, how did I not think of that? I do love my sleep and I have a feeling I may be a Grinch by the end of SF :))
An embarrassing moment indeed. Must've felt pretty awful at the time. See, that's why I dislike school, puts so much pressure on kids.

And thank you for including me on your island! :D I look forward to tormenting @tarazkp with you :)))

See you in a few!

PS: I'm not a very social person either, so we can be asocial together :))))

An embarrassing moment indeed. Must've felt pretty awful at the time.

It felt pretty bad, yes. Luckily I've gotten better since then though, performing and anxiety-wise. Though it's hard to completely overcome my tendency for neuroticism, but little by little I've been able to dismantle stressful situations when I've just acted regardless and gotten positive feedback, or at least finding myself being fine afterwards.

And thank you for including me on your island! :D I look forward to tormenting @tarazkp with you :)))

Taraz, prepare yourself :)

PS: I'm not a very social person either, so we can be asocial together :))))

It's good to know there's an option to be asocial with a company :)

You are cool @celestal ! Dormitory for 10 people - it's extreme! I'm waiting for a meeting to get to know you :)
45434346_1912532705501976_7060909192193769472_n.jpg

Dormitory for 10 people - it's extreme!

As long as you have earplugs you'll be fine :D

See you at Steemfest :)

Ha ha, hostels are the worst ;)

Haha, well memed! Nah, hostels are fine, especially if you can find some good company there, like happened in Riga.

Luckily the cashiers here don't always even say "hi" (or "cześć").
Yes, it's true, we are gloomy :) but remember Polish is so formal language, so if someone is not your friend or family you should say "Dzień dobry" or "Dobry wieczór" in the evening, instead of Cześć.

Yes, it's true, we are gloomy :)

Even though we Finns are gloomy too, we still have the habit of greeting in shops. Though I'm fine with either way, haha.

so if someone is not your friend or family you should say "Dzień dobry" or "Dobry wieczór" in the evening, instead of Cześć.

Ah, thanks, that's good to know!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @celestal!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.755 which ranks you at #4782 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 16 places in the last three days (old rank 4766).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 253 contributions, your post is ranked at #80.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85