Rio Olympics 2016 - Summer Olympic Games

in #rio8 years ago (edited)

The 2016 Olympic games begin today, August 5, 2016 in Brazil, Rio De Janeiro to be more exact at the Maracana Stadium.

I can remember growing up and being excited about the Olympics, I have very fond memories of watching the opening ceremonies with my family. I remember looking forward to seeing the United States competing and watching the popular sports like swimming, gymnastics, and track and field.

Knowing that the Olympics are going to take place in Brazil conjures up other memories for me as well. In 2013, I had the amazing opportunity to travel to Brazil on an International Residency program as part of my capstone class for my Masters of Business Administration. From visiting, Sao Paulo to Rio De Janiero and interacting with all forms of Brazilian commerce from manufacturing to governmental, this was a trip, I will never forget!

One of the highlights of my trip was the opportunity to see with my own eyes on of the seven wonders of the world, Christ the Redeemer; I was humbled by the sight and the experience.

With my combined memories of growing up watching the Olympics and my trip there for school, my memories for the 2016 Olympic games are clouded by scary thoughts.

The scary thoughts are based on the uncertainty all of the unknowns surrounding the Zika virus. While Brazil is a fascinating country growing by leaps and bounds, who thought this was a good idea to still have the Olympics there in light of this controversial virus that could potentially put thousands, hundreds of thousands at risk for years to come?

At this point, as it sit and watch tonight with my own family, carrying on the tradition, remembering when, the only thing I'll be able to do is pray...because that's the only thing I know that works.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have a couple of questions that I'd like to hear your responses below:

1. If you'll be watching the Olympics, which sports are you excited to see?

2. If you were an athlete, news reporter, or spectator and had a chance to go to Brazil for these Olympics, would you still go in light of Zika?

3. Do you have any fond memories of growing up watching the Olympics?

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm still a #newbie to #steemit but I am an up and coming writer on here as I learn more about this powerful platform. I am @shakirabelieves and I believe I am contributing to the value of Steemit with every post. If you agree and would like to know more about me, please follow me.

I look forward to all of your upvotes, comments, feedback, and suggestions.

~@shakirabelieves



Sort:  

Simply Great Information and Presentation

Congratulations @shakirabelieves! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @shakirabelieves! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58470.49
ETH 2617.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39