Rickysphotochallenge Week 11 Entry - Architecture - Hotel Roanoke

Late is better than never right? So this is my first entry in the photo challenge. It just so happened that I was in Roanoke Virginia this week, and that place sure fits the Architecture Photo Challenge, so here we go. Join me for a little wander around the place.

We'll start with a couple of exterior views. The hotel opened back in 1882. Yeah, it's been around for awhile. I couldn't find any specific stories, but several places suggest it is a haunted hotel. The building of course has changed over the course of time, but has some very distinct features.

Here we are in the front drive.

20170920_110522.jpg

And we'll take a longer view of the building from across the road headed into Downtown Roanoke.

20170920_110757.jpg

Next we get the view from my room. It was a small room on the 6th floor in the front corner of the building. Aside from the Honeymoon Suite up top, the 6th is the top floor of the building. I'm pretty sure at one point my room was part of the attic. The angles of the ceiling and things make it seem like it was not originally intended as a guest room.

20170918_075451.jpg

Got a couple of interior shots around the building to share as well. Here's the main lobby. Very much hearkens back to the older era with the chandeliers, wall sconces and wood flooring.

20170920_105826.jpg

This is a nifty little fixture. The Mail slot on my floor. I didn't try putting any mail in this, though in afterthought maybe I should have mailed something to myself just to see if it actually came or not.

20170920_105713.jpg

I saved my favorite for last. The interior of the elevator. Between the chandelier and the funky lined metal paneling. Something about this thing just sent me right to The Shining. Here's Johnny!

20170920_105743.jpg

So there we go. A little wander around the Hotel Roanoke. It's a Hilton Property. So if you have some points, go check it out and have a nice stay. Hopefully your stay will be as blissfully unhaunted as mine. Unless you are into that kind of thing. In which case, I'll set the mood for you with a little theme music from American Horror Story. This kept playing through my head every time I remembered I was in Roanoke...


Video Credit:American Horror Story, FX Original Series

Thanks for stopping by. Please consider offering up a vote for my entry over at Ricky's photo Challenge post: https://steemit.com/rickysphotochallenge/@rickyjrx/usd25-prize-pool-rickysphotochallenge-week-11-architecture

Thanks!!

Sort:  

Roanoke has many beautiful sights. Next time you're there, drive up to Mill Mountain Park. There are some beautiful views of the city and the mountains.

@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @mikepm74 to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

Thank you so much for sharing all this information! that's great! All the best! Waiting for more posts! :)

Nice coverage of a historic building. Upvoted full

What an impressive building such cool details

Good luck

Amazing pictures and really incredible building. Beautiful. Good luck

Nice photos of this amazing building!!! I will nominate you in this challenge at Rick's post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59169.46
ETH 2597.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42