A Little Bit About the Drum and The Moribayassa Rhythm

in #rhythm5 years ago

snap (21).jpg

I thought I'd finish yesterdays conversation about parts of an African Rhythm including some notations for you from the app by Monette Marino. It's only offered on apple and called MoRhythm.
GOPR0796.JPG

Here is a set of dununs or djundjuns or junjuns. I sold mine thinking after not playing them for 10 years I should let them go and did. They are not the easiest things to lug around and I always took 4 of them...workout!


The rhythm Moribayassa is a very old rhythm and plays an unusual role in the life of women when the have a very big problem. A woman is only allowed to dance it once in her lifetime. The rhythm is played exclusively for this joyful dance.
GOPR0803.JPG

One way the rhythm is notated.
GOPR0802.JPG

Western Style
GOPR0801.JPG

Sort:  

Fascinating post! Excited to learn more about your drums!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you. I know my subject is a little different than most. I'm glad you liked it.

How very interesting! I love learning about the different cultures and what a great job you do explaining. I am impressed with your skills still intact!

I am sure that your hands must be toughened up a little by now with the fooling around you have been doing! :)

Nice post! Thanks for sharing!

Thank you but I'm questioning this...in front of the camera shyness I have. I'm pushing myself to do this and know I could do a better job if I wasn't looking at a camera lens but it is quicker to get the information. I'm hoping I get better but I have reservations.

Wow! You are a real drum addict! Very extraordinary for a drum-lady!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

There are several of us drum ladies that like this type of music and have been playing it for over 20 years.

This is great! I play the "djembe" on my electronic kit. I didn't realize that certain rhythms are for certain ailments or goals akin to a prayer with all of those rituals. Great to hear you starting to tap around.

Congratulations @willowwisp! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 800 replies. Your next target is to reach 900 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemitBoard to support the german speaking community meetups
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Nice musical instrument and your lesson to rhythm.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64572.94
ETH 2630.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82