My STEEMIT experience so far! I tried to rush into success without building my self a bridge!

in #rewards8 years ago (edited)

When I first heard about Steemit , I ignored it for at least two weeks.
Once I got in, the addiction kicked in. Actually the addiction kicked in as soon as I made my first penny lol!

What I think about Steemit so far?

I think Steemit is a great platform there is no doubt about that. What really makes it great is that it makes us want to push our self harder. The more I use Steemit the more I carefully plan what I write, I make sure to correct as much mistakes that I can (English is not my main language by the way!) I think Steemit is not only a great way of making money but It also helps me to realize that I need to work hard to get what I want.

When I first got into Steemit, I saw the posts on the main page and the money they were making. The idea of making the 1/10 of theses posts made me dream and I directly jumped into making all sort of content thinking I would end up hitting the jackpot with one of them at some point! But the truth is I haven't had any success with this strategy so far, and still haven't had any success yet BUT I feel like I'm getting closer to what Steemit is about every single post/upvote or comment I make.

I tried to rush into success without building my self a bridge! I recently started reading posts on Steemit from a few bloggers, something that I ignored from the very start and at my big surprise I actually enjoyed it. From this joy, I wanted to make the blogger know how I felt and just when I had not expected to make money out of a comment this is when it happened, I ended up earning 10 Steemit dollar! This is not much indeed, but the feeling you get from getting rewarded to be yourself was ridiculous and overwhelming, It just felt good!

My advice to new Bloggers ( I am still a new blogger but hope this can get you started)

-Do not rush and try to make hundreds of empty posts. When I mean empty I mean emotionless. If you make a post, you need to want to make it for it to end up attracting people. Even if you attract only a few, your building yourself a small circle which is going to be slowly growing. Of course when you look at the big fish out there its discouraging but remember your one of the very early bird into this media revolution!

-Go out there, find posts that might interest you and take the time to really read them. Do not hesitate to interact with the poster and let him know how you feel about it, how you really feel about it!

  • And finally just have fun, Your not spending a single penny to use this platform take it easy and enjoy yourself. Take off the idea that it might be unfair to see some people do thousands while your sitting on a few pennies only, you will not grow attention toward you by fixing your screen complaining on why your not the one up there. The thing is you can be the one up there in the first page, all it takes is dedication and I'm sure with some dedication on my part I will manage to make it at some point!

Have a good day Steemians!

Sort:  

Great write up. And you English is fantastic! I also got excited when I first got on here. I made a nice bit of change with my #introduceyourself post so I kept trying to get those same earnings and it wouldn't happen. At this point I'm focusing more on general curation and commenting. Like you said, it's about having fun, so take it easy and have fun!

Exactly, thats what we lack ( newbies) curation and legit comments just like yours to win ourselves a bit more steem power everyday. At some point we will be able to grow up and support each other and the next wave of steemers will have to follow the same steps. And thank you!

It's genius how working your way up to more steem power not only causes you to create better posts, but you can derive value from telling other users of your success and failures. And when someone wins everyone benefits. It's unlike any other social media experience I've been a part of. We are all in it together.

You are describing exactly how I feel since I discovered Steemit. The first two days I got so excited just to write stories and I did write them. But very soon after this greed type feeling took over. I think it happened after the famous makeup tutorial.

I started making posts about what I thought people might like instead of writing about things I enjoy. It makes me feel frustrated now. I'm gonna stop doing it.

I will to take your advice and slow down. I’m going to read the stories of others and enjoy my time here more. Thank you for this post it was very helpfull for me.

Mark

Thats exactly it, that tutorial makeup buzz was selling us such a false dream we felt like we had to take advantage of it asap.

That's the spirit :)! It is indeed very addictive as I should be working right now and I'm not even trying to make money (here) ;)

Nailed it! Great advice for the many users furiously posting content.

I once was a furious user! haha

Haha probably made you frustrated until you realized maybe a different strategy should be approached. Posting more content is less valuable than quality content. Even though there is no feed yet for those you follow, I know for a fact there are certain people's feed who I check because they post great content. A reputation as someone who creates valuable information is hard to do if you are over posting. Gotta build up from the bottom and take little nuggets and gems from people who are giving great advice.

We need good content like this on steemit. Keep up the good work and i hope you get as many up votes as possible :)

I hope too, but I wont be mad If I don't :)

I was thinking about this too, I also have a few visitors and not making money, but I take it for long term.

Great read! It keeps us all motivated

Great post and I wholeheartedly agree that we all need to start interacting a bit more with each other. After all, it's meant to be a social experience.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67435.35
ETH 3528.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68