Starting a Revolution in Your Bedroom!

in #revolution8 years ago (edited)

revolutiond5c2f.png

The bedroom is a special place in the 21st century - private, comfortable, and wifi-enabled. It's a place where dreams brew with the quiet intensity of personal development: learning, experimenting, and socializing. All while you're half-naked, with telecommunication waves flowing in and out with reckless abandon.

The bedroom is slowly becoming your personal hub. It is becoming you.

The rise of pro-consumer products over the past decade has been enabling people all over the world to become masters of their own destiny. Now we have bedroom DJs, bedroom producers, bedroom writers, bedroom visual artists, bedroom miners - all thanks to the miniaturization of hardware, and of course, the Internet. Knowledge of the world at your fingertips. A revolution of the self.

But what about igniting a global revolution in your bedroom?

Everyone is a broadcaster these days - all you need is to find a niche and connect the dots. Take for example, the Facebook page - Bernie Sanders Dank Meme Stash. It started out as a simple hub for sharing funny memes, right at the time when America is setting up itself to decriminalizing marijuana, and also right at the time when public dissent is growing. The page blew up to more than 420,000 members in less than a few months after it started. And it started right in someone's bedroom.

For better or worse, that page has gathered support for ideas that are worth discussing between old powers and the new generation.

And now with cryptocurrencies necessarily representing mankind's causes and value systems - what kind of revolution do you want start in your bedroom?

Personally, I see Steemit as a coming-together of sovereign, problem-solving minds. We are a free society. Can we figure out how to solve humanity's greatest challenges? It will be a long process, but I'm in with @dan and @ned's calm aspirations for securing life, liberty, and property for all through non-violence. The necessary technology is already here, but it's our mental firmware that needs to be updated.

Stay tuned, my next passionate long-posts will be about that and I hope you can join us in the discussion.

No pants required.


Update note: If I'm being pedantic, I'd probably wouldn't use the word "property". Maybe I'll talk about it one of these days!


Follow me @kevinwong


Sort:  

I think offering services and goods through a Decentralized Marketplace For Steemit would be along the lines of something you could do with no pants and not a lot of effort :)

Ah yes i think that's included in one of ned/dan's diabolical plans for world domination! Great idea!

Absolutely! To have steemit be around four months and already be shaking up social media and maybe even Amazon, apple and eBay in the future could pay dividends for everyone invested now. Thanks for the support! Respected people weighing in is always appreciated

Great thoughts and I'm sure you speak for a lot of people. It is indeed our "mental firmware" that needs an upgrade!

Thanks for dropping a good word @steemship! I guess i'm trying to say that politics/policies needs to catch-up with the possibilities enabled by the many great advances in technology :)

Thanks for sharing your thoughts on the ease of starting a revolution in the times that we live in.

We are a free society, and I agree with you that the technology is here to facilitate a revolution if we choose to do so. However, like you said, we need to update our mental firmware.

Thanks @kevinwong!

I feel what you said so much. I really excited about you next post and everything Steemit related!

The necessary technology is already here, but it's our mental firmware that needs to be updated.

Stay tuned, my next passionate long-posts will be about that and I hope you can join us in the discussion.

Thanks for dropping a good word @albertfall! Happy to be here with many free-spirited people :) And yes, anyone can start something these days.. it's not much of a competition thing now, but rather, collaboration.. :)

Thanka for the reply, and it's my pleasure @kevinwong! It is well deserved, and I'm happy that you're sharing such great content with us.

It really is all about collaboration, and this ties into one of my favorite quotes "Many hands, make light work."

If we all adopted collaboration, instead of the alternative, we'd not only be able to succeed at any endeavour we take on, but we'd also succeed as a whole. No man or woman will be left behind.

After all, no one ever makes it on their own. There is always someone supporting them in the back.

Thanks for touching on the importance of collaboration.

Everyone should be given the choice to be left alone, to be sovereign without submitting to the needs of the collective. But I think once a person chooses to accept life, liberty, and property for what it is - I think it's somewhat of a moral obligation to step up and collaborate with the rest. And yes you're right, no man's an island :)

Oh man I'll probably disappoint! Lol, just plenty of rehashing of old tales and advice, but probably reframed and updated somewhat.. :) Thanks man

Dude, the quality of your posts is improving.

Quality insigh/perspective point. And great how short & simple you sum it up into. 👌

Thanks man @rok-sivante! All thanks to your input, tryna work on it every single day :)

My bedroom is my central hub in this universe. I have everything in here. Computer, books, recording equipment, gaming consoles and television, even a fridge. I'd probably never leave it if sitting on my butt was healthy.

Hahah man you got it all in one spot.. thanks for the pic man!

haha thanks. I started following you :)

(raises hand) Bedroom DJ right here. Or...was. Not so much these days.
Now, however, I work for Apple from my bedroom. Which, incidentally, was started in a garage.

I started out my DJing watching youtubes from my bed, with a cheapo dj controller.. lol

So.. are you working on Garageband? xD

I had Pioneer CDJ-800's and a Behringer mixer. These days I don't have any equipment like that. I make mixes just to listen to using Sony Sound Forge.

Although I work for Apple, my personal computer is a PC. ;-)

Man I was an Applehead at one point, now i'm back to androids and pcs lol :p
So you're not makin music anymore? We can probably just jam out something, someday :)

I periodically like to throw together a mix and post it to soundcloud, maybe listen to it in my car. It's kind of few & far between these days, though.
Here's the last one I made, which was put together a year ago:
https://soundcloud.com/dj-spiral/thinking-driving-extended

Really though, I clicked on this post thinking you had some sort of steps on how to start said revolution lol thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Haha sorry if it's kinda misleading.. actually it's not a bad idea, I'll probably add some pointers (even though i'm not an expert in one) a few hours later today :) Thanks man!

Definitely do! Even if it's for a separate post. With the advent of the reputation system, us minnows would be very interested how you achieved such a high reputation. I've seen the stats and there are only a number of 8-ranked users, so even if you haven't yet qualified as a whale (in the traditional sense), you definitely have a whale-like reputation. Neo-whale? Could that be a thing?

Hmm.. i really have no idea how the rep system works. Honestly I just joined in about 6 weeks ago, wrote something about ethereum and the dao, got paid.. fell in love and just got absorbed into getting to know the people in the community.. I wish i'm a whale xD gonna work hard at it :) If you think about it, every constructive (even if mildly) thing that you do increases your value on the platform..

Just 6 weeks ago?? Wow! That's some progress! Good for you, man. According to dantheman's post here, there are currently only 86 8-ranked users. That's not a lot, so I consider that an exclusive group, with only stellabelle ranking higher.

Looking out for your next long post. I like this issue. The Internet became the number one tool for revolutions. Governments tries to shut it down sometimes but luckily there are ways to overcome such restrictions. The words: I'm just a single person And I can't change the world don't count anymore. Everyone of us has the might and tools

Thanks brother :) Yes I never really saw blockchains coming back then, it totally changed the game. And now Steemit.. it's actually just incremental technologies btw, which is pretty mindblowing how different things can change.

And yet we don't see the next big thing coming! mind=blown

My best work happens while still in pj's!

It's the best right?? I wish it's abit more socially acceptable to wear pjs outside xD

Great write up Kevin. I agree with everything you wrote. Technology, specifically computers and the internet, have given us the ability to change the world beyond belief from just our bedrooms. We live in an amazing age which is only going to get more interesting as time goes on.

Yeah man, I personally can't wait for stackable 3d-printers with 99.999% recyclable material lol..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60612.92
ETH 2607.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65