Retro Reviews - World of Warcraft: The Burning Crusade

in #review7 years ago

1.jpg

Today I'm going to be reviewing the first ever expansion for World of Warcraft. The Burning Crusade released in 2007 and sold 3.2 million copies in its first month, making it the fastest selling PC game ever. This game was also made imfamous by destroying my grade point average in the seventh grade.

2.png

New Races:
Introducing the Draenei & Blood elves. These new races allowed for the first time both horde & alliance to play as all of the classes. Draenei would be able to become shamans and Blood elves would become paladins. Each race comes equipped with their own unique racial ability.

3.jpg
4.jpg

Welcome to the Outland:
With a new expansion meant players can travel new maps that they have never seen before. Enter the dark portal, once going through the portal you would travel to the Outlands. A desolate area where war is waging and your faction needs your help! Illidan Stormrage is the main boss of this expansion, he has taken it upon himself to take control of outlands. Without your help his evil army will continue to pass through the dark portal taking over the good world.

5.jpg

A new level cap!
Up until this point the maximum level cap for World of Warcraft was 60. The Burning Crusades release allowed players to achieve level 70!

6.png

Awards:
Visual Effects Society Award 2008
Expansion Pack of The Year: Game Zone
IGN's Best Expansion Pack
Top 50 games of 2007: Eurogamer
PC Game of the Month: Game Informer

7.png

I would personally rate the Burning Crusade 5/5 stars!

Sort:  

This was a fantastic expansion. I loved the Heroic dungeons and the attunement process for receiving heroic keys. you knew anyone who had a key to run the heroic had done it many times on regular so they weren't a complete noob. Unlike in Wrath of the Lich King where I saved up crafting mats while I leveled, blacksmithed a ton of gear right when I hit 80 and was able to jump almost straight in to heroic dungeons. Man some of those early runs were terrible since I had no idea what I was doing or where I was going.. not good for the tank to be a noob.

I enjoyed wotlk more than bc but I did have a lot of fun in BC. I think wow worked out quite a few bugs in BC that made it so wotlk could be so superb. omg I forgot about attunements! They eventually completely dropped them.

Ya Wrath was my favorite expansion of all of them for sure.. But it was the beginning of the end in terms of dumbing down the game and making it super noob friendly. I get that appeal. To get the masses in the front door... It just slowly diminished the epic quality of the game though.

R. I. P. Good days of WoW

The overall quality of The Burning Crusade is simply astounding.

I remember the first day the portal opened and zoning into Hellfire Peninsula. It was crazy like a massive battle was all around me.. It was amazing. The whole leadup event to it was pretty cool too. But nothing compared to the lead up to the release of Naxx with the zombie plague. That's hands down the greatest in game event launch ever. The AQ gates opening is pretty close though.

hahaha indeed!!

This version was the first I played in spectacular WoW, brings me many memories, from instances to Zul'Aman, Dark Temple, Tempest castle, Karazhan some of which I remember, the appearance of the clothes was epic, very nice things, like for example the one of the Paladin a crownita above the head. Some things I remember right now were a long time ago.

To be honest, I'm making these World of Warcraft review posts to help fund a new laptop so I can play again. I still have my dell from when I last played (2011ish) and the i3 and intel 4000 series just can't handle the new graphics updates. It'll sit pretty at 35 fps then drop to 2 when I walk near orgrimmar lol.

i'd have to say say, BC had the best raids out of all of the xpacs. I got more into pvp later so raiding became a boredom thing for me.

hahahahaha, you are in all your right is very difficult to play with low fps, if they were 30 fps stable there would be no problem. I play until Wrath of the Lich King and to tell the truth is a very entertaining expasion with very good intancias and an acceptable PvP, the clothes of that version 3.3.5a although I remember is great the colericos sets of each character make of the game something pleasant.

After a while back I returned to the official server when I left pandaria, I liked dragons many great things but after so long I felt lost to really play for two months and I left Wow so much for the price, time and more things.

I just have to say. (since I see you're a horde)

By The Alliance !!

This version is great indeed, it was the first game I decided to try from Blizzard in general. And I can say that my experience is still incredible with WoW, I'm glad people still play this game.

Why would people quit? WoW is one of the best MMORPG games out there, so it's not surprising it has over 8 million monthly players. Moreover, it's great that services like wowvendor with wow gold and loot boxes exist, such offers actually take the experience from playing wow to a new level without the need to worry about impossible raids or dungeons.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66668.88
ETH 3521.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55