QUESNEY21(Day 10): Review #1: Weaning Tots - Kid Friendly Restaurant

in #review6 years ago (edited)

Entrance.jpg

The main entrance to the restaurant

As our little kiddos grow older, our weekends continue to fill up and this weekend is turning out to be filled to the brim. Anyway, today we were invited to celebrate my Hubby's ex-colleague's son 1st birthday party at Weaning Tots located in the MyTOWN Shopping Centre in Cheras. I was really surprised to find such an awesome kid-friendly restaurant in my little part of the world! It is a restaurant that recognises the need for parents with young children to be able to meet up with friends for a decent meal and at the same time enable play dates for the kiddos! Voilà! Two birds with one stone!

Honestly, since the arrival of Chapati and Murtabak we always struggle to find a place we could go as a family to meet with other families. A place that doesn't incur the wrath of other diners when our boys decide that they had enough of their parents trying to feed them food and start running wild, a place that we don't have to worry about something falling over and us having to pay compensation for it, a place that has enough room for the stroller, bags and everything else that you have when moving around with toddlers, a place that keeps them occupied and it's not youtube! A place that we could potentially sit and have a decent conversation with our friends!

After the entrance.jpg

General Dining Area

This is the general dining area for walk-in customers. Notice the white railing on the top right-hand side? Your kid could climb up there and then slide down a long curvy slide as you enjoy your meal or coffee! So cool!

Craft Area and Ball Pen.jpg

Craft Area , Ball Pen and Above Ground Station

Moving past the dining area you will come to a place where you could indulge in crafts like sand art, painting and colouring. You can actually choose and purchase the project supplies that are hanging on the rack for you to work on

Ball Pen.jpg

Ball Pen!

Then just beyond that, a place where most kids like to jump into...A BALL PEN! This ball pen was quite interesting as they had little pillows for the kids and a wall which had cut out recycled bottles which they arranged in such a way that the kids could also put the balls through the maze. One way to improve hand and eye coordination for the younger ones. Yay!

ball pen and slides.jpg

Check out the sweet slide!

Right above the ball pen is a station for the kids to climb up to that is part of a series of tunnels and slides built above the ground. My boys were having a blast exploring with the other children.

Chalkboard.jpg

Really big huh?

Just opposite the ball pen is a giant-sized chalkboard to satisfy a kids' favourite past time of scribbling on the walls! They also had huge chalks for the cute little chubby hands to hold and draw to their heart's content.

Open Party Area

So right after the ball pen, you will walk into the open party area. The space planning is superb and there is a great deal of space for you to really enjoy a party. On the right are the table and chairs for guests to sit and eat whilst on the left side is the play area where they have the more activities to occupy your child namely:-

  1. Tunnels to crawl through
  2. A little library with books to read
  3. One really huge tupperware of playdoh that the children could mould and get their hand dirty
  4. A table full of geometric sponge shapes to build

PANO_20180407_125955.jpg

IMG_20180407_130949.jpg

Jungle Theme for today and all the goodies!

I really like their attention to details for the party. There was jungle themed cutlery and even their drinks containers was a frog and an owl! Really so cute.

Cutlery.jpg

Drinks.jpg

The birthday table goodies were wonderful! There was so much that you could choose from. Jelly beans, marshmallows, chocolate eggs, gummy candies, raspberry preserve pudding (delicious!) and chocolate muffins to satisfy every sweet tooth kid present!

Birthday table 1.jpg

Party Packs for the children

Birthday table 2.jpg

The Birthday Cake

Birthday table 3.jpg

More candies and cupcakes!

To top it all, the food was simple but delicious. There was a selection of pasta with mushroom carbonara sauce, rice and rendang, fried chicken and roasted vegetables.

collage food.jpg

They even thought through enough to provide a wash area (children's size of course) to make sure that you are able to clean up if when a mess happens.

wash.jpg

Wash basins

Recently I have been tossing with the idea of organising a Mama Steemit meet up in Kuala Lumpur and I think I have found the perfect venue! I am excited at the prospect of meeting other fellow Mamas who have been contributing stories, anecdotes and lessons in their postings. It also offers an opportunity for us to get together and support each other in our journey of parenting.

So watch this space and see! Would you be interested in a Mama Meet Up? I would really love to hear from you!

me on train.jpg

signature_1 (1).gif

So what is QUESNEY21? @joannewong and I are challenging each other to create great content for the next 21 days. Starting 26th of March and ending on the 15th of April. We needed the discipline and motivation that comes from being accountable to each other. Tell us if this is interesting to you, do you think you could benefit from your own QUESNEY 21?

Check out the other postings for this challenge:
QUESNEY21 (Day9): 100 Degrees Steemit Introduction Session - 3rd April at Talentbank
QUESNEY21 (Day8): My Application to #thealliance
QUESNEY21 (Day7): Their Entrepreneurship Journey - Women In Business: Making An Impact
QUESNEY21(Day 6): (Simple Living Series #3:30-Day De-Cluttering Challenge Update)
QUESNEY21 (Day4): The Heart of A Child
QUESNEY21 (Day 3): An Analogy For Your Steemit Wallet

Do check out @joannewong postings too for this challenge!

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

SMbannersmall.png

Sort:  

This is a cool spot... kids will only entertain you for so long, then they start getting super restless ... haha.... I would have definitely appreciated a spot like this back when ....

Hey @kaerpediem yes I thought it was too. The kids literally knocked out in the car the minute we put them in their seats. Too tired from all the playing and running around

And that's the best way to end a day with kids... haha

OH MY GOODNESS!! SO FUN!! Looks like a wonderland for kiddos..and fun parents! I bet you all had a blast!

Yes, we did! Actually the kids enjoyed it a lot more. We were a little worried so we spent more time than necessary following after them and watching them just in case...

Looks like fun, hope I get to bring my little ones to places like this someday. For now, home it is 😂

@alimamasstory I am sure you will have a chance. I am hoping to be able to organise a Mama meet up for all of us in KL here. Join us will be fun! I haven't started organising it yet but if you are interested will definitely keep you updated!

Yea sure, do keep me posted. We'll see if we are able to make it then. Would be nice for all of us to meet up :) thanks Khim!

You have lovely photos, children, and an awesome challenge for creating content related to all of that for #SteemMamas. Love it. Love children. Keep up the good work. Thanks for sharing, hehe. You are awesome. I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold. You can call me Joey.

Hi Joey, thank you for dropping by my post. Yes, it is a challenge for me to work on creating good content. Actually it is for all content. It is lovely to meet you and I noticed that you do a lot of free writes. Hmm...have not done one before. Maybe will try my hand at it soon! You can call me Khim :)

Khim, free writing is like dancing on a keyboard. It is fun. Keep up the good work. Nice to meet you.

This place is Awesome!!! It reminds me of the play places at some of our restaurants like McDonalds but only 10 times better. I like the different stimulating activities for the young minds. What kid doesn’t love a chalk wall and a slide?!! I also love how spacious it is. I love how you can still see your kids from your eating table too. This was a nice post! If I were in your area I would definitely love to do a meet-up here! 😊

Thanks for sharing ~

Hey @crosheille thanks for dropping by my post. Yes, this place is huge and has a lot more activities than your average McDonalds. :) I am hoping to be able to organise a meet up with the mamas here in Kuala Lumpur. I think it will be an awesome time for the kids and a chill out for the Mums! You could do one for your area! :)

Sure, it was my pleasure :)

I think you all would have a great time. I haven’t found anyone that lives in my area that’s on Steemit yet. Maybe as time goes on I’ll find some ladies to meet up with ;)

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

That slide and ball pit reminds me of the time my parents used to take me to The Mall when i was young 😊

Hey @buzz.lightyear ! It was superb connecting with you last week. Wow, you went to the Mall too? When it was called the Mall? Hahaha me too! I used to stay around the Jalan Ipoh area and The Mall was kinda of like the nearest shopping area for us.

Ikr. Memories ☺️
I think the only thing still the same there is the top floor old kopitiam area.

Then again, I am not sure. It has been taken over by Sunway Group I think. It has been awhile since I last visited... 3 years ago perhaps.

Maybe I ought to pay it a visit later today. I am around the area.

I wouldn’t have known of this place if not because of your post. Looking forward to the Mama Steemit meetup.

wow. please share more kids friendly restaurant. We looking around for that too.. haha so far we found one in Chears which serves good food as well. will make a post on it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 60627.10
ETH 2662.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44