Book Review: Trainspotting by Irvine Welsh

in #review5 years ago

Trainspotting by Irvine Welsh

If you like black comedy, you'll love Trainspotting by Irvine Welsh. I read this book after I watched the movie adaptation, and yes, both made a lasting impression on me.

Though some parts of Trainspotting are funny in a dark and sometimes disturbing way, there are also heartbreaking scenes woven into the plot. I feel it balances the story quite well.

It's a novel about drugs, love, life and loss. Trainspotting is not for everyone. But if you're open-minded and can stomach most things, I'd definitely recommend this read.

My Score

My score for Trainspotting by Irvine Welsh:

8/10

I won't give it a solid 10 merely because it's not the best novel I've read. But it surely worked for me and I'd say it's in my top 5.

If you'd like to read more reviews on books, let me know. This is my first one and I'd love to know what you think.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63837.42
ETH 2539.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65