Flashback Reviews: Star Wars Side Projects Part IV (Star Wars Ewoks)

in #review8 years ago

I have finally reached the end of the terrible side projects (the next ones are all actually watchable). During this process, I have discovered a shocking fact:

I am a horrible father.



Why would that man allow his son to watch us? And why do we have capes but no pants?

I actually bought all of these side projects for my son. Why? Why did I expose him to such garbage? Was I trying to kill the little Star Wars angel that sits on his shoulder and keeps him company? Was I falling into the "misery loves company" trap and I subconsciously wanted him to suffer through the same things I did as a child?

Actually, no. This was not really my doing. He's a Star Wars fanatic and wanted to consume as much Star Wars as possible. I was merely the enabler. When we were at the comic book and toy convention, I should have put my foot down and said "No son! I will save you from watching this. I will not allow you to waste one moment of your precious childhood on this nonsense. I'm your dad and will protect you".

Instead I thought, "Kids sometimes like stupid things. I liked stupid things when I was young (including the Star Wars Holiday Special). Who am I to decide what he should and shouldn't like. Let him decide on his own."

Yeah that sounds a lot better. That sounds like a caring dad. I'm the good guy in this.

At least I was the good guy until I forced him to watch The Ewoks cartoon with me this week.



Alright Timmy. You are going to sit here and watch this with me because misery loves
company. But dad you just wrote about how you don't like that saying.

To be fair, it was only one 22 minute episode and "forced" is a pretty strong word. It was more like "begged". I didn't want to watch it alone. He hadn't watched any of it since the day we bought it. He found out awfully quick that it sucked and put it on the shelf to collect dust.

I'm so proud of him I could cry.

But we fought through it together. Earlier this week Timmy and I sat down to watch the first episode of the cartoon Star Wars: Ewoks.

It was as bad as it sounds.

No. It was worse.

The theme song alone is one of the worst things ever associated with Star Wars. Was it worse than Princess Leia singing on Life Day? Yes. Was it worse than the scene where Darth Vader seems to turn into Frankenstein? Yes. Was it worse than Jar Jar Binks? Yes. Was it worse than Lucas making Greedo shoot first?

Gosh no! Nothing is worse than that!

But it's a distant second. I apologize for what I am about to do, but you can listen to it for yourself. But be warned. Once you hear this, you cannot unhear it.

There are actually two theme songs. I don't have the heart to ask you to listen to both.

The show aired for two seasons (how?) in 1985 and 1986. It consisted of 35 approximately 22 minute long episodes. If you make it past the theme song and actually watch an episode, I don't think you will be very pleased. This is especially true if you are a Star Wars fan.

Here are the connections between the Star Wars movies and this cartoon:

  • It is set in the galaxy as Star Wars
  • It occurs during the same time period as the original trilogy (specifically before Return of the Jedi)
  • It takes place on the moon of Endor
  • There are Ewoks (Including Wickett, Chief Chirpa and master Logray)
  • In the very last episode the Empire discovers the moon of Endor

That is all.

There is nothing else at all that has to do with Star Wars in any way.



Do you see that "Star Wars" in the top left corner? If it weren't for that, I would have thought this was the monchichis, gummy bears or a Bear Bears ripoff.

In fact, they could have simply titled this show The Gummy Bears and it would not have had to change anything except the Ewoks' fur to some kind of gelatinous substance. Honestly, the plots seem more like episodes of My Little Pony than anything having to do with the Star Wars universe.

The plot centered on Wickett and his fellow Ewoks who have to thwart the villainous Tulgah Witch and a rival species called the Duloks. The Ewoks sing songs, wear cute little hats, have "ceremonies of the hood" and protect the "soul trees" from their enemies.



If they were protecting Don Cornelius and the Soul Train it would have been much cooler.

But alas. It wasn't. It is clear that the only purpose of this show was to sell Kenner toys. Like any vintage Star Wars toy, the figures that are in mint condition boxes can fetch over $300 each. Perhaps that is because so few of them were actually purchased.

In my previous reviews, I wrote that I did not want to split hairs over whether or not these side projects are "cannon". this one is an exception. It is a slam dunk. It is definitely not "cannon". Nothing that takes place in this cartoon should be seen as having an effect on anything else in the Star Wars universe.

Now the obvious question?

Should you see it? Will it add to the enjoyment of watching the 8 Star Wars movies?

Nope.

The only reason anyone would watch this is if they have a very young child who they want to introduce to Star Wars without any of that annoying excitement getting in the way.

After watching this again (like an idiot) I now think this may be the worst of the bunch. I could understand arguments for the others but at least they all have something to do with Star Wars.

Does anyone remember this cartoon? Does it make anyone feel nostalgic?

Image Credits 1, 2, 3, 4

Sort:  

I had a VHS tape of one of the episodes of this, as I got older it just sat there.

But when I was around 12 or 13 I liked to watch horror movies but a few times they would freak me out a bit too much so I would pop the ewoks video in to calm me down.

Got to say after watching that intro I dont remember it, was there another ewoks cartoon?

I think you had a brilliant strategy! I can't really do horror movies because I get so into movies when I watch them. But I bet as a kid this would be a great way to transition. There was also this intro.

still no bells, and the animation seems different than I remember, going to have to search my mother's attic

Good luck in your search. Report back if you figure it out. There were 2 live action movies as well. And the Droids cartoon.

Looking back at the George Lucas money grab is disappointing but I will admit I did watch the Star Wars Holiday show, I watched everything from Ewoks and Droids to the modern Lego Star Wars shows and Rebels and if Detours ever comes out I will watch that too. At least now Clone Wars and Rebels are solid Star Wars shows and not just 22 minute commercials for toys.

I was really bummed when the shelved Detours. I think Seth Green would have done a great job with it. This is the last of the bad ones. Some of the new cartoons are really good. I have seen nearly all of the lego ones with my kids but I'm leaving them out of this project. They are all really clever though.

I missed that one when I was younger... Lucky me! :D

Yeah this is definitely one that has no true Star Wars value. Thanks for checking out the post though!

Very funny to read about all of that. Thanks to you for writing about a movie not so great!

I've seen this advertised but never watched them as not a Star wars fan but live with others that are. I have to sit through and watch the films or hide my head behind mu laptop. How can you watch the same film over and over 20 times lol

I might be the wrong person to ask. I have seen the original trilogy at least 75 times. So my question would be how can you only watch them 20 times. ;)
I am such a dork...

Oh bless you, you need serious help and quick lol

I'm afraid there is no cure for severe geekiness. You can only treat the symptoms... with more Star Wars!

Good, I might be able to save you lol

You need to turn the TV off walk slowly away from it then go wash your eyes out.
I hope you like the post I wrote about you. Still smiling :)

LOL. I will give that a try.

Greedo shot first?
I dont understand

Me either lol.

Awesome post! Keep sharing and keep sharing more!

The only reason anyone would watch this is if they have a very young child who they want to introduce to Star Wars without any of that annoying excitement getting in the way.

Best review ever!

LOL. I guess I could have lead with that.

Haha, that's the TLDR!

I remember this, but by this time I was in middle school. So I guess I was too cool for it. I do remember watching the Droids cartoon for a little while.

I think anyone over the age of 6 was too cool for this. Droids at least had Boba Fett and IG-88.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 22. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.40 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 22 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60716.93
ETH 2594.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55