My First Book Review! *Dandelion Wine* by: Ray Bradbury

in #review7 years ago (edited)

For the first time ever, I'm giving a go at a book review! I'm a sucker for a story I can't put down, and the further I get down the path of an author, I have a new love for dissecting what others have written. If I can pull myself away I imagine watching them world build and create characters that they love more than I do! And when I'm done, I truly appreciate that, by golly, they managed above all else to finish what they started!

About a month ago I posted a video asking all the readers out there for help finding a new book to read. (You can find that here if you would like to see it.) I had so many great recommendations that it was hard to choose just one! But choose I did! I also wanted to use this as a resource for my first review. So, I went with @twinislandflames book of choice, Dandelion Wine by Ray Bradbury.

The Review Begins

First, I should start by saying that this was a fictional tale. It's based in a relatively small town in Illinois in the year 1928, and follows a twelve year old boy as he weaves his way through his summer vacation. The magic in this lies in the theme of mortality, and that this is the time in young Douglas' life when he realizes that he is mortal. That old people are not a different species of human, but they were actually young once too and have lived full lives.

My Reaction

As I started this, I was a little concerned about reading a story from a young boy's perspective. I have never been a young boy, so right off there could have been problems in relating to the character.

The beauty of this, is that at twelve, boys and girls still have so much in common, and puberty hasn't changed us too much yet. So as I read, I related to the kidness of this story and it was beautiful!

The author describes the feeling of putting on a new pair of tennis shoes and the feeling of not being able to stand still, and I was in it! I remembered! Later he talks about stepping barefoot in the summer grass, and I was running in my imagination through my parents backyard!

I mentioned before that Douglas realizes that the elderly are still people. Throughout the book, the author laces in members of the community that he comes into contact with, and takes moments to dive into each of their stories.

One of my favorites was an old man who recounts his days in war to all the young boys, and the profound way he describes what it was like surviving. Another was an unlikely love story that had me close to tears.

My Recommendation

If you love reading a book that pulls out emotions you haven't felt in over a decade, or let's you experience what old life can feel like before you are there, then I highly recommend it! By the end, I was so impressed that I only hoped that one day I could write as beautifully and fearlessly as this author!

Thanks so much for stopping by and sharing this with me. I had so much fun taking on this new challenge!

With much love,
Stacie D


If you have a book that you love please tell me all about it in the comments!

Sort:  

@twinislandflames introduced this book to me last year and it quickly became one of my favorites. It is an absolutely beautiful story. Good choice :)

It certainly is! I'm glad you liked it too!

yay, i am so glad you enjoyed this book! i don't quite recall how i even got introduced to it, but it is the "start of summer" tradition for me. nothing gets me ready for sunshine adventures like this book, it's incredible. i can nestle up with it and have it read in a couple of hours!

I just saw the resteem, thank you!

It is the perfect back to summer book! When I had a good solid amount of time to give to it, I was able to to read large chunks at a time. So I can see how you could do it in a day!

Great book review! And you have inspired me to read that book!

Thank you, thank you! I'm so glad! I forgot to mention that I found it in our local library, so you might be able to find it at yours too!

Thank you for that - I've been looking for new authors so I shall put this one my list. I recently went to the library and picked a book off a display - I'd never heard of the author before but I loved it and couldn't put it down. I love the unexpected ones :)

I love when that works out! I'm glad you found this helpful! And what book was it?

It was A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas - I immediately went back to the library and got the following 2 books and was pleased to find out that she is writing another one in that series :)

Nice! I'm going to look into it, I love a good series!

@freedomtowrite, I am glad I came across your post. I have to be honest. I do not like reading much, but my oldest daughter does. I have talked to her about writing book reviews for youth on Steemit. Your post structure is an excellant example for her and others who want to write book reviews.

Thank you so much @sumatranate! I hope she decides to write reviews, it would be amazing to have more voices promoting good work...or on the flip side, warning people haha

Great review, I haven't read much Ray Bradbury, but many friends enjoy his work.

Now I just need to find the time to read.

Any teasers about what might be next?

Finding the time, right? I like to read the most right before I go to sleep...all comfy cozy haha

I'm thinking in between the Duncton Chronicles that you recommended...if I can still borrow them lol, and The Moon is a Harsh Mistress by Robert A. Heinlein.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62991.12
ETH 2685.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55