A little help.....calling all readers!

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)


THIS IS A VIDEO

Hi guys! I'm asking for a little help from all the readers. I'm currently in between books, and I'm searching for the next great one! So please comment, and tell me your "must reads"...any books that had you laughing or crying or just left a great impression. I'm really excited to see what everyone loves!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

What genre do you gravitate towards? That will help me narrow down a suggestion :)

Thank you for your comment, I forgot to add that it's a video! To answer your question...recently I've been pulled towards WWII fiction and a lot of European authors, but I really appreciate any book that can make me laugh or cry 😁

He is not everyone's cup of tea, can be a little smutty at times, but in my opinion, an absolute genius! Tom Robbins - and my favorite - well maybe a tie for first - is Jitterbug Perfune.

Haha, as long as the smuttiness doesn't take over..sometimes I feel like that can kill a good story.

I'm so excited to look into all these authors...it's like a whole new world! Thank you for your suggestions!

It certainly does not take over :) I just never know where someone's tolerance is so I like to warn first :) Enjoy all the new suggestions!

Thank you for the heads up, I appreciate it!

The Moon is a Harsh Mistress by Robert A. Heinlein

ooh, yes! heinlein's books are must-reads!!

Ohhhhh, that sounds intriguing!

My favorite quote from the book is, "I am free, no matter what rules surround me. If I find them tolerable, I tolerate them; if I find them too obnoxious, I break them. I am free because I know that I alone am morally responsible for everything I do."

I believe I have all of Heinlein's books in hard cover and that one is my favourite.

i love the books of shydney sheldon @freedomtowrite

Thank you! I will research what he's written!

Yes! I hope you find some good reads!

Beautiful Outlaw by John Eldredge is a must read.

Great! Thank you! I'm at the library now...we'll see what I walk away with first! lol

I would love to see your reviews and see what you like as I am in the same predicament, I love to read spanish books (thrillers, science fiction) but I’d like to read english as well, waiting for your comment and Keep us posted 😁

Haha...hopefully you can get a good idea from all these suggestions too! I'm excited to do my first review...I'll try to do one for whichever book I pick first!

Excellent! I’ll be waiting anxiously!! 😁😁😁
Thanks!

As far as casual reading, I love all of Grace Livingston Hill's novels; Rainbow Cottage being a favorite. If you are into religious reading at all, I was left very much impacted by DC Talks' Jesus Freaks. Our copy went missing, though, so I just added it -along with Vol II and one of their other books- to my Amazon book list.

Nice, thank you! I'm slightly into faithful reading. Novels that I've tried have often times been very boring and predictable, and if they're more of a teaching style, I find that I'm in "discerning" mode the whole time...ya know, on-guard for false teachings. So it's a bit tricky.

I definitely get that. I tend to be the same way, and so I don't read religious materials very often.

Yeah, it can be a tough go. I looked at Jesus Freaks and I think it would be a really interesting read!

"dandelion wine" by ray bradbury - it's beautiful, nostalgic, and it can get me emotional at times. he wrote a sequel to it in 2006 called "farwell summer" that i've just started reading. it doesn't have that same pull that DW has, but i'm only a quarter of the way in.

Hey! I wanted to let you know that I read Dandelion Wine, and I wrote a review that I tagged you in. If you would like to read it, this is the link! Thanks again for recommending it!

awesome, i'll head over to read it - happy you enjoyed it! <3

That sounds like a book I can get into! Thank you! I hope the sequel turns out to be just as good as the first 😊

For a good laugh try Janet Evanovich, One for the Money - Start of series

I do like a good laugh!

Good afternoon!! I will get to learn more about you! Curious what you like to read. Looking at my bookshelf I see a few to recommend.
Mutant Message From Downunder by Marlo Morgan
The Beet Queen by Louise Erdrich
And a classic to me series about moles and their adventures! The Duncton Cronicles by William Horwood, who wrote Wind in the Willows. Let me know if you want me to deliver any! Hugs

Hey friend!! I will look into all of those! My curiosity is up on The Duncton Chronicles. I will surely get back to you!

I own all 6. Thick paperbacks all... Just perfect for a busy gal like you! Lol. Let me know!

Haha...just perfect unwinding at bedtime!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63122.96
ETH 2686.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57