Anoles - Brown and GreensteemCreated with Sketch.

in #reptiles5 years ago (edited)

20190506_185611.jpg

Anoles are common in Florida. It is easy to forget how amazing and beautiful these little lizards are.

20190506_185545.jpg

While birding today I watched and interacted with a variety of Anoles. Look at the before and after pictures of this beautiful Brown Anole. He was trying to impress me with his striking dewlap and ability to do push ups.

20190506_185726.jpg

This native Green Anole literally fell out of the tree next to me and started his climb back to the top.

20190506_185807.jpg

He was a striking bright green to match the new spring leaves he was hunting within.

20190506_185845.jpg

He looked a little beat up, it's not easy living in this habitat.

20190506_185931.jpg

I almost put my hand on this Brown as he was blending into the wood. Notice how much darker he is than the Brown in the firat photo?

20190506_190005.jpg

This Green Anole was surprisngly high in a tree, just about eye level with me. Thank you for birding with me today my little lizard friends.

All pictures taken by @rawruss with a Nikon D3400 w/ 70-300mm lens. Leapin' Lizards!

Sort:  

It is amazing what is running around if we just take a closer look. You managed to capture some great photographs. We have a family of lizards who have just had babies and I have banned the cat from the garden for the next month. the cat has already bought two babies inside, but he only has one tooth so these are just toys to him. I managed to rescue them and put them back.

I've been always fascinated by lizards. They are so fast, have different colors and are simply interesting to observe. I don't know if we have this kind of lizard here though. I like the one that was showing off :) A big boy! :)

Thank you for sharing and congratulations on your curie vote!

Looks like you got yourself some professional photo models 😁 It's not every day that you get to see and catch these wonderful creatures. I know they are so fast, are able to disappear in a split second. I saw one last hear while harvesting raspberries. Good thing I had my smartphone in my pocket. I reached for my phone very slowly and was able to take a few photos. That was different though, I don't know what species it was.
This Anole looks very cute, especially the first one. Lovely shots, congratulations!

Hi rawruss,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Congratulations @rawruss! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemitBoard to support the german speaking community meetups
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

hi @rawruss
you spent your day in the company of little cute friends !! But in the first photo, is that orange thing a jugular sack used by males in courtship? And there was also the female around there?
The green one, with those bright colors, looks like a chameleon! beautiful pictures
congratulations and thanks for sharing with us

Your shots were nice. You got the right angle and I think it is good enough to showcase the beauty of the lizard. Speaking of the lizard, there are only some who appreciate it, maybe because most of the people think it is creepy but they fail to realize how important it is. Without them, the ecosystem will be somehow disturbed and it would affect us as well.

These creatures are all but grateful to you because you are sharing to the world how beautiful and important they are.

Good job!

Anoles looks like the kind that we have in our homes here in India, crawling our walls for free, they live in wall holes and can be seen out on walls crawling in night, though they are bit yellow in colors. I will wait for one to show up and click it.

Anole's color is pretty

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97