Travel series continues - Temple of Rats

in #religion7 years ago

Dedicated to Karni Mata this Hindu temple is based at Deshnoke, some 30 kms from Bikaner.

IMG_20170730_142146.jpg
The temple is famous for the approximately 25,000 black rats that live, and are revered in, the temple. These holy rats are called kabbas, and many people travel great distances to pay their respects. The temple draws visitors from across the country for blessings, as well as curious tourists from around the world.

History says Karni Mata’s stepson got drowned in a pond in Kapil Sarovar in Kolayat Tehsil while he was attempting to drink from it. Mata then implored Yama (the god of death), to revive him. First refusing, Yama eventually relented, permitting stepson and all of Karni mata's male children to be reincarnated as rats.

IMG_20170730_142447.jpg
Out of all of the thousands of rats in the temple, there are a few white rats, which are considered to be especially holy. They are believed to be the manifestations of Karni Mata herself and her four sons. Last time there was lot of crowd on one sided and unaware of the fact we missed sighting one. Sighting a white rat is considered as special blessing and you’ll find people putting extensive efforts to bring them forth.

IMG_20170730_142152.jpg

Please Continue to show your support by upvoting and reposting my posts

Also request you to please extend your support to my steepshot channel http://steemit.com/@notsorandom

Missed my Rajasthan trip update?
Part 1: https://steemit.com/adventure/@thenomadictales/day-1-delhi-mandawa-bikaner-520-kms-3c20b2517b253

Part 2: https://steemit.com/adventure/@thenomadictales/day-2-bikaner-to-pushkar-via-ajmer-highway-260kms-67417e82dca7c

Travelling is a Lifestyle. One of my favorites from my trip last weekend https://steemit.com/adventure/@thenomadictales/travelling-is-a-lifestyle-motorcycling-is-just-a-way-of-living-it

Sort:  

India is huge my friend. So one part of it can be burning at 55degress while on other edge our forces are guarding the border at minus 35 degrees.

We have over 1000 languages and yes we all try our best to understand other. Also when I travel I realized it's more than just words. People are helpful and value travellers so sometimes they understand the unsaid and come up to help you

I wonder how you explain to the helpful people:
“I need an ointment for my sore butt because i ride a motorcycle for days”...

Joking. Just in a silly mood today.

If i ever come visit India - huge, versatile and magnificent country - will you give some advice?

Best regards and safe Journey!
alex

Sore butts are a momento for riders 😛

Wonderfully narrated Sanchit, well, you missed spotting the white ones. When I went there I heard there is just one white rat ;) ... But, yeah, the feeling is a bit uneasy to start with but then you gradually overcome it. Nice onion kachoris too on offer outside the temple. Whole of Rajasthan has many stories and this one holds a special place too.

Truly. Always been in love with mountains and never thought I would enjoy Rajasthan in first place but it completely changed my perspective.

#photography
I am going away but time does not allow it, what should I do

Great story, man.
Interesting life you have these days.

Just curious:
Is it true that different parts of India speak different languages?
Like in the north people speak different from the south and so on...

But i also heard that the language of the nation is one for all - Hindi (Hindu), sorry my spelling.

So, how do you all communicate?

Much respect for your adventures!
Best regards,
alex

Best regards

I've heard that there are mice as big as a cat. Isn't it scary to have so many of them around :O

Even thinking of rats gives me yuckk moment but was lucky that it was afternoon and most of rats were sleeping.

PS: they consider it lucky if a mice touches or crosses odr your feet.

Haha. Some blessing that would be.

Ha Ha, I didn't catch as big as cat but yeah there were tons of them everywhere and at my time it did not seem anyone was sleeping as it was their breakfast time. Check how they are feasting in the middle left corner of the pic, a bit difficult to spotimage.png

I heard about this temple, I want to go there.

Worth visiting. Avoid weekends and Navratras as they have huge crowd visiting those times.

I heard about this temple but I didn't know about the history of that temple. Good blog..

Heard of the rat story...but not aware of the White one....Good God info!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59114.57
ETH 2309.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49