Is there really such a thing as a "peaceful religion"?

in #religion6 years ago

For some context, I identify as a follower of Jesus Christ. The reason why I make such a specific confession statement is because I know a lot of people claim to be Christian, but they have not surrendered their lives to Jesus Christ as Lord.

Lordships requires a daily surrender. We cannot call a higher power Lord and still expect to be in control of our own lives. I believe that there is a major difference between a cultural Christian identity and a decision to enter into a lordship relationship with Jesus Christ.

abbey-1160492_640.jpg

I don't believe that there are peaceful religions.

This may shock a lot of people, but I do not believe that we can find peace in religion. I really struggle with any religion that claims to be peaceful. Here are a few reasons why I believe this way.

  • Religions typically explain what someone is allowed to do or not allowed to do. Instead of making us perfect, religion (or in Judeo-Christian circles, "The Law") shows us how far away we are from God or whatever other deity someone believes.
  • Historically speaking, religion has been used to manipulate and control people. I believe that religion serves a great purpose in the lives of many people, but it has also been used by greedy and power-hungry leaders to gain wealth, fame, and control.
  • Religions have been and continue to be used to declare war on people of different faiths. Examples include the Crusades, the Inquisition, and modern-day extremism.
  • I find it challenging to say that a religion is peaceful when its followers are not. This is not a problem of a particular religion. This is a problem for all humankind. Collectively and individually are historic record does not exemplify peace but rather war, death, rage, oppression, abuse, etc. Both religious and non-religious would be declared guilty if we stood before a judge regarding our "peaceful" nature.

The goal of religion is to point us to God or a higher being, but I have seen over and over that this worthy goal falls short almost all of the time.

I pursue a relationship, not a religion.

I do believe in the one true God. I know that is not a politically correct statement, but it is my personal belief. I believe that God is just and holy. I also believe that He is loving and kind. Instead of trusting in the laws of religion, I desire to pursue a right relationship with Him.

Here is the hard part. For many of us, we have been taught that if we can be good enough (be peaceful enough) then God will accept us. But I have royally screwed up (more than once). I mess up every day. If I am completely honest, in and of myself, I am a complete wreck. How can I be right with God?

So here is where my pursuit of a relationship comes in. Since I am such a mess, then making this relationship right becomes the responsibility of God. It is not something that I can do from my own strength or goodness. God's holiness does not allow Him to be around sin, but His love compelled Him to make a way for sinners to be right with Him (at peace with Him).

As we approach Resurrection Sunday (commonly referred to as Easter), I am reminded of the sacrifice that has allowed me to be right with God. I believe that Jesus was perfect and that God received His death as payment for the sins of people who choose to follow Him. That is how I have been made right (found peace) with God. When I choose to follow God's plan, He declared me to be right with Him, not because of the goodness of what I have done, but because of the goodness of His plane.

I have reached the point where I cannot simply call Jesus a good guy, a good prophet, or a good teacher. He made claims that were far too scandalous. If He is not Lord, then He was either a lunatic or a liar.

Are there any peaceful religions? I have a hard time saying "yes" for the reasons explained above. Has Jesus brought peace into my life? Most definitely yes.

Final Thoughts

Thanks for letting me share my thoughts on this matter. I really believe that the pursuit of religion is not the end goal. The end goal should be having a right relationship with God, which then leads to a right relationship with others.

I want to hear from you. Feel free to answer any or all of the following questions.

  1. Do you believe that religion is peaceful?
  2. Are you more concerned about following the rules of religion or being in a right relationship with God?
  3. If you are not actively religious, did the unpeaceful nature of religion push you away?

@SumatraNate


Image Source: https://pixabay.com/en/abbey-glass-religion-architecture-1160492/

Sort:  

dalam kasus ini saya punya pemikiran yang berbeda dengan anda @sumatranate, bagi saya adalah :

  1. sumber kedamaian, mengapa demikian karena jiwa kita akan sangat tenang apa bila kita punya tujuan hakiki dalam hidup (saya Muslim Ahlussunnah Waljamaah)
    2.antara hubungan dengan tuhan adan aturan agama:
    bagi saya itu adalah 2 hal yang tidak dapat dipisahkan, dalam agama saya (islam) aturan agama mencakup dengan,
    a,hubungan dengan tuhan
    b, hubungan dengan sesama makhluk
    sehingga bagi yang punya hubungan baik dengan tuhan maka dia telah berada dalam aturan agama, misalnya dalam aturan agama dilarang membunuh, saat dia membunuh dia melanggar aturan agama dan membuat tuhan (Allah) marah, dan saat dia tidak membunuh dia telah menjalankan agamanya serta membuat Allah senang kepadanya
    3.untuk pertanyaan ke 3 memang sebuah realita, saat seseorang tidak taat dalam agamanya maka dia tidak merasa memiliki apa yang dia yakini, sehingga begitu mudahnya dia pegi meninggalkan keyakinannya,
    terima kasih @sumatranate, setidaknya anda telah mengeluarkan isi hati anda, dengan demikian saya bisa berbagi pemikiran saya, dan kita sepakat tidak menjadikan oknum-oknum dalam agama kita sebagai perbandingan masing-masing agama kita,
    salam sukses selalu

@steemitcountry, saya senang anda membaca postingku walaupun isi hatiku dan keyakinanku beda degan anda. Saya harap menjadi wakil Tuhan yang baik, bukan karena saya seseorang yang baik, tetapi karena Beliau baik dan mempunyia rencance baik kepada orang-orang yang percayai kepada rencancaNya.

postingan anda sangat menarik @sumatrante, yang pertama saya yakin apa yang anda ungkapkan hanya sekedar ungkapan perasaan. karena saya yakin anda pasti menyakini antara aturan agama dan hubungan dengan Allah adalah dua sisi mata uang yang saling terhubung satu sama lain,
tentang ada nya perang, adanya ekstrimis modern kita tidak bisa menyalahkan agama dengan menuduh agama tidak memberi kedamaian, kita tau agama hanya lah keyakinan dan aturan-aturan, saat seseorang salah menafsirkan aturan-aturan yang ada dalam agama yang dia yakini maka terjadilah kekacauan, yang salah agama atau pemahamannya,,,????
masih bisa kah kita mengatakan agama sumber kehancuran,,?saya rasa tidak.,

Di Indonesia, orang-orang harus memilih satu agama dari pilihan resmi, kan? Dan karena ada Pancasila, agama resmi itu harus mengakui bahwa hanya ada satu Allah - Allah yang Maha Esa.

Di AS dan di tempat lain di dunia ini, banyal agama tidak harus mengakui satu Allah. Ada yang percaya kepada

  • banyak dewa-dewi
  • alam semesta
  • Si Iblis
  • dll selain Tuhan

Saya pribadi percaya hanya ada satu Allah, tapi keyakinan "agama" lain tidak sesesuai dengan keyakinan saya. Memang pemahaman kita sering salah, tapi contoh-contoh disebut yang dipanggil "agama," memang itu salah juga.

Walaupun @steemitnatural dan saya tidak ada pendapat yang sama, saya masih menghormati anda. Terima kasih banyak karena sering berinteraksi dengan postingku.

Very well articulated! When people argue that religion has always caused wars, I agree with them, but then point out that those wars were created in the name of Christianity only. True Christians are Christ followers, and He never created wars!

Agree. I believe that there is a big difference between a cultural identity (name only) and a true follower. Thanks for adding to the conversation. I appreciate it.

You are welcome. Thanks for creating something worthy of a comment or two! 😊

Wowwww...I must admit that your post is really extraordinary.

I would like to underline your point.

  1. Do you believe that religion is peaceful?

Religion is peaceful that I truly believe, what i realize is not religion make people do bad thing, but the people who leave in that religion do not obey what is the religion says about, and the selfishness of them as well. bad this is when people do something bad (like suicide bomb, they claim in the name of one of religion)

  1. Are you more concerned about following the rules of religion or being in a right relationship with God?

In Islam we cannot put separately between following rules of God and build good relationship with God. the essential of relationship with God is following the God rules that is in our Islam. but remember terrorist is not the soldier of the God, mostly they ignore the rules of the God (I cannot go to far for this one because it is also part of politic conspiracy, not even close to any religion things)

  1. If you are not actively religious, did the unpeaceful nature of religion push you away?

Not at all, because what I feel religion encourage me to be closer to the God with peace. punishment is only to whom doing bad thing to others, even though the people who has different religion.

I wish you find peace no matter what you believe in your life. and may the God bless you and your family.

Regards

Thanks for answering my questions. I always appreciate how you support me in this way.

I also wish you peace for your family as well. I am a follower of Isa Al Masih. I choose to follow Him, not because my family is Christian, but because I know that He gives me peace and takes away my sin.

May God bless you as you seek His truth.

Amen! This is excellent! Right relationship with God through right believing is where I want to be! It’s where I am by His Grace!

This is my favorite time of year, remembering the finished work of Christ! Last year, I went to Jerusalem and walked the Via de la Rosa and stood where He stood trial in my place and saw the place where He was whipped. It was a powerful experience to remember what He did for me.

Btw, this is @coachjj from my other account ;)

It would be awesome to walk there in Jerusalem like He did! What an experience that must have been for you!

I do that all the time with my 2 accounts too. I'm thinking of using my other one just for Resteeming and nothing else.

It was one of the best experiences of my life! I highly recommend it.
E9579A82-1294-460C-A7F7-488C287A906F.jpeg

Thanks for sharing about your trip last year. What a wondering opportunity!

I really like this line

Right relationship with God through right believing

I believe that the object of our faith is just as important as the amount of faith that we claim to have.

Hahahhahaa I did not know you had another account!!!!! Lololololol
Found this article through a resteem by @dmcamera and the gang's all here lol

You can't have your cake and eat it too. Religions go to war in the name of their god, but have enough followers preach about peace and harmony that they don't feel accountable.

Religion as a whole, particularly Christianity and its cousin religions of Judaism and Muslim (they all believe in the same god but argue and wage war over which prophet is the right one and other petty human things), has been a plague on human society for thousands of years. Stunting the growth and development of our species every since it was used to control the population and keep the rich and powerful in that wealth and power.
You are accountable for the worst atrocities of the organisation you support. Whether that is a religion, government or any institution. Any religion is a cult that has its followers brainwashed with fear and easy answers while it seeks to eliminate the competition with war or "peaceful" acts that demand you convert in order to receive aid.
Humanity would be better off without religion. As an Antitheist, I'm happy to see that this world is slowly beginning to open it's eyes to the horrors religion has inflicted on our species.

You don't need a deity to know the difference between right and wrong and treat any human, of any race, gender or age, with respect and understanding. Stop defending and justifying the acts of war, racism, sexism and paedophilia that Christianity has committed and start having faith in the human race without the dominance of ruling class claiming they are doing the will of a higher power. You are the most amazing thing in this world, not a god, you are something greater. You are alive in an incredibly wondrous existence and you have this life to learn and experience all you can, and pass on what you've discovered to the next generation.

Your god does not deserve you.

https://busy.org/@kieranstone/pisces-star-shipwreck-religions-fading-light

I appreciate you adding to our conversation. There have been three distinct viewpoints expressed in the comments. I hope I was not trying to have my cake and eat it too.

I agree with you that a lot of bad things have been done (and continue to be done in the name of religion). But I think that your point about whatever organization we support is interesting.

You are accountable for the worst atrocities of the organisation you support.

I believe that we are all accountable for our individual atrocities. And an important question for me is how do I redeem those moments? I personally do not feel I have the ability to do so, thus my desire to know God.

I think the biggest difference we have in the article you linked (very well written by the way) is that you see people starting by the light/fire and moving away because it is inauthentic. My journey was different, I was out in the darkness and the cold and I saw a glimmer of light and as I came closer I realized it was exactly what I needed.

The interesting thing is is that I agree with you that ...

  • some people get close to the light because other people have
  • some people close their eyes so that they are not confronted with the light

Where we might differ is that I believe some people allow the Light (in my case God) to show us the depravity of our lives and bring healing.

I know we don't agree but I appreciate the civil and honest conversation we have had. Thanks.

Can I ask a personal question? Are you a first generation anti-theist or has atheism been a part of your family heritage for a while? I only ask because it helps me better understand where you are coming from.

I also appreciate your civilised reply. Having an opposing view to someones religion is not often welcomed and is usually met with hostility.

To answer your question: I was baptised, went to catholic schools (and therefore church and communion) until I was a teenager. My parents were not particularly religious and are now probably atheist ( I won't speak for them). As I was growing up and was exposed to more of the world I questioned everything. Christianity/Catholicism had too many contradictions when it came to the physical world I lived in and I did seek out other religions. One that appealed to me was Wiccan as it spoke of respect for others and nature. After sampling that religion I saw that it too was just an easy answer for our existence.

Thanks for taking the time to read my article. I say that people start by the light because for the majority of people, they are born into a family of religious faith and are shown that that is the only way from an early age, hence baptism. Religion is a light in the darkness and can provide comfort for anyone, that is true. It can be exactly what someone needs to turn their life around and become a better person to themselves and others. I'm not denying that.
My opinion is, and something to at least consider, is that all these changes towards the better are done entirely within yourself, without divine intervention. A relationship with god, from my point of view, is a relationship with the positivity in your own mind. You find something that was within you all along. An empathy for others and a motivation for constructive endeavours. Conversations with god are conversations with your subconscious mind that drive you to achieve goals and improve your view of your self worth and the worth of those you love.

This is something I realised with the Wiccan religion. Instead of prayers they perform spells. Using plants, colours and oils believed to have various energies to bring about a positive change in their lives from the universe. One example I did was a money spell. I was a teenager and wanted more cash in my life, like a lot of people. I performed this spell, truly believing it would work, and within a couple of months, I had more money! I reflected on the whole experience and noticed that the reason I had more money was because I got a job. The reason I got a job was because I was motivated to get more money. The reason I was motivated was because I did something that made me believe this was going to happen. I was subconsciously thinking about needing more money and sought out the means to achieve this, by looking for work.
Seeking guidance from god is seeking the part of yourself that is capable of achieving the outcome you desire. My belief is that the part played by religion is no longer a necessary step in this process for humanity. We are finding more faith in ourselves.

Thanks for telling me more about your story. It helps me understand your point of view better. I believe that two people can believe completely differently and still show honor and mutual respect. That is my hope for us.

My desire to find reconciliation in this world has driven my pursuit of God. As I mentioned in the original article, I do not believe that humans have the capacity to reconcile the bad things that we have done. This impacts our relationships with others as well and continues to snowball into other aspects of our lives.

You bring up an important point. We all have faith in something. You mentioned faith in ourselves. The object of our faith and its ability to guide us is just as important as the amount of faith with have. I can not rationally place myself as the object of my faith based on what I know about myself and my nature.

Again, it has been a pleasure to share with you and hear from you. Thanks for stopping by. I look forward to the next time our paths cross.

You have peace that passes all understanding and it comes out in every word of your writing. Thank you for being a light, and shining that light. 😊

I agree with you! I think i do not need any religion, i do not need to go to church and listen to preaching. The opposite of the different religions has caused many wars. In fact, the root of every war is in the religious contradictions. God is with us everywhere, but most of all, God in us. Read my post about easter: https://steemit.com/life/@kalemandra/easter-is-coming-my-thoughts-about-this-holiday

I find that people who have truly surrendered to God are at peace more than those who have pursued religious traditions only. I do attend weekly worship with other believers. For me personally, I find it encouraging and a time of accountability. I do not think of the church as a place you go but as the community of believers that I am supposed to be a part of.

Thanks for adding to the conversation.

No system is peacefully
Only a pure human heart is able to be
But we see what happens if there is 10000 of years such a mess on earth...be smart listen to your heart. Good stuff is in everything....always an balance game of handeling....!!! ;-) hugs to ya

Thanks for replying to my questions. I do not believe the same as you. I do not believe that the human heart is pure. I do believe that God can declare it to be pure because of the resurrection of Jesus. Even though we disagree I am glad that we can share with each other on Steemit.

thats interesting. great and thanks for your feedback :-D can i ask you why the humans heart (i mean the heart, not the mind or actions...the heart!!!) isnt pure?
in yoga for example humans have the sushumna with 7 central chakras, 3 granthis are blockade the free flow. the pure flow of love is the heart. if the connection is blocked, humans are not able to use the heart (still the heart ist the heart and its the loving point), if the connection is cool, everything is possible.
i see more the problem in the humans ego-mind.
the human is thinking he or she is loving but they never give or get real love.
i met only 1 or 2 with an open heart in 36 years....

my grandfather was a churchman, i read almost a lot of old religions.... lets philosoph about the heart and love. i love this subject... ;-) hugs

ok, saya ada sedikit tambahan, mari kita berasumsi,,
dua orang perempuan membeli bahan baju yang sama di sebuah toko yang sama, kemudian mereka menjahit dengan model pilihan masing-masing, saat mereka memakainya pada hari yang yang telah mereka janjikan ada orang yang berkata, baju kamu jelek dan baju kamu (teman satu lagi) bagus, dimana kalian beli ?
dalam kasus ini siapa yang pantas disalahkan,,??tukang toko atau tukang jahit,?

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Outlook good

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61940.19
ETH 2433.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50